We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow huge room,huge huge bed and open fire” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mision Monterrey Historico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mision Monterrey Historico to your Saves list
Hotel Mision Monterrey Historico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Padre Mier 201 Pte | esq. Garibaldi, col. Centro, Monterrey 64000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 93 Hotels in Monterrey
Bawdsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wow huge room,huge huge bed and open fire”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

What a great place,used this as a base for exploring Monterrey and surrounding.The name gives the style of the place away and that is of a Spanish mission,room was absolutely huge and the bed massive even by US standards .Only had breakfast here and that was fine,so many dining options available.Our favourite was on a little pier where the fish plant is on the end,great for breakfast.Wide open view of the bay and you could watch the sea otters playing in the kelp.
Great hotel great value for money we would certainly use again

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    21
    15
    19
    8
See reviews for
18
14
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

For the price paid ($61 including tax), this was a terrific choice for my friend and me on our trip this week to Monterrey. The hotel is older, yes, but it was very clean and very comfortable. If you are looking for an upscale, luxury hotel, then pay the $100-$200 for that type of accommodation.

This hotel was advertised as having coffee makers in the rooms; however, our room didn't have one when we checked in. After calling the front desk, one was brought to us immediately, and a coffee packet was delivered to us daily. The staff was extremely friendly, accommodating and professional. We arrived ahead of the 3:00 pm check-in time, and they happily held our luggage for is while we ran around town.

Our room was on the 8th floor, and we had no problem with the elevators during our four day visit. We also had no problems with any noise from the adjacent rooms. The shower in our room was FABULOUS -- tons of water that came out nice and hot. The beds were comfortable enough and the air conditioning worked beautifully.

The location of the hotel was also ideal, with a number of restaurants, a pharmacy, lots of stores, and two banks nearby. We didn't try the hotel restaurant, so I cannot comment on that.

We started our trip at the iStay Hotel a block away. That place was like a high-rise Motel 6 with zero personality, no amenities and a higher price; we were so happy once we moved to the Misión.

On a side note, we found downtown Monterrey itself to be delightful and very safe. I had visited the area a couple times in 2010 and 2011 during the worst period of drug-related violence, and I can assure you that things are very, very different now. At no time did we feel unsafe. Monterrey has changed very much, thank God.

I'd also recommend making and paying for your room from the internet -- we used Travelocity -- because the hotel cannot offer the same prices offered online. If you pay them directly, the price is about $80 per night compared to $61 online. Their WIFI is great, so we just signed on from the lobby and paid for our rooms, and they received the reservations immediately.

All in all, we were very pleased with the hotel and with the city. I was very sad to have to leave last night!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel is well located, close to shopping and restaurants, only 5 minutes from the main Plaza and 15 minutes (walk) for Santa Lucía's River. Excellent service for good price. Great place to stay and relax for some time, free parking

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

i love going to Monterrey since my girlfriend lives over there and i travel every month and i always stay at this hotel Mision Monterrey great service and secure and great location in Monterrey you have alot of places to choose to eat and 7-11 and Oxxo's also alot of bank, also they have big rooms and nice LCD tvs!!!! i love this hotel and great priceeee

Room Tip: there is a great little taco stand by the Mac Donalds and is in the corner of Hidalgo and Cuathemoc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonning
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

This is a hotel that ''does what it says on the tin''. Well located, on Padre Mier, only 5 minutes from the main Plaza, and close to shopping and restaurants. It's not luxury, but it's comfortable. Rooms are more than adequate, with shutters and blinds to keep out traffic noise. Good, free parking. Adequate WiFi internet [also free]. Good breakfast - without jalapeno peppers n the scrambled eggs! And the staff were very helpful - to a foreigner who spoke limited Spanish.
Altogether, very well worthwhile.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

I followed the reviews from travelers before me, and found what they said is far from true. The hotel is dark and old, it seems like the owners were very proud of the property during the 80¨s and never went back to keep it updated. The only updated appliance in my room was a flatscreen, other than that, everything is old and worn out. I stayed on floor 7th, you can sleep there if there is not another option, but definitively is not the best hotel for that price in the city. The neighborhood is unfriendly after 9 pm. The only chance I can immagine of someone claiming this hotel as the best one in Mty is if you are just coming out after several years on jail or if you spent the last 10 years on an uninhabited island as the Lost tv series.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

I recommend Hotel Mision Monterrey as I received a very kind and quick service from every employee at this hotel. The hotel is well maintained. The food at the restaurant is very delicious at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterrey hotels
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterrey Norte
Comfort Inn Monterrey Norte
#28 of 93 in Monterrey
3.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
0.1 mi away
iStay Hotel Monterrey Historico
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Parque Fundidora
Holiday Inn Parque Fundidora
#12 of 93 in Monterrey
3.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Safi Royal Luxury Towers
Safi Royal Luxury Towers
#11 of 93 in Monterrey
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
5.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Monterrey Norte
6.3 mi away
Quality Inn Monterrey La Fe
Quality Inn Monterrey La Fe
#7 of 93 in Monterrey
4.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mision Monterrey Historico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mision Monterrey Historico

Address: Padre Mier 201 Pte | esq. Garibaldi, col. Centro, Monterrey 64000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Nuevo Leon > Monterrey
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 93 Hotels in Monterrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mision Monterrey Historico 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel in Monterrey features 133 rooms including 21 suites, with services and amenities of first class. Also offers 8 meeting rooms with capacity from 10 to 180 people, plus the infrastructure required for the realization of events and conventions. Hotel Mision Monterrey Historico supports you in the organization and gives you everything you need to meet your expectations.In our facilities you will find restaurant, tobacco shop, safety box, laundry and dry cleaning. Among the main attractions in Monterrey is the Paseo Santa Lucia and major museums, which highlights one of the most renowned contemporary art: MARCO, which contains important collections of world-renowned artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Mision Monterrey Historico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mision Monterrey Historico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.