We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Ambassador

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Ambassador to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Ambassador
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hidalgo 310 Oriente | Zona Centro, Monterrey 64000, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% Off Room Rate
Ranked #20 of 78 hotels in Monterrey
Frisco, TX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Loved the location downtown. We were there for a wedding (not at the hotel) and although we arrived very late, we were greeted very warmly. Our Starwood Preferred got us an upgrade without asking for it. It was a huge corner room. There were no robes and there was a cost for the bottled water, but the valet parking was very reasonable. The breakfast buffet was amazing and the character of this older hotel was a ok with us!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    33
    15
    14
    8
See reviews for
10
12
15
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed here to attend a wedding held in the hotel.
Location is very good, and the hotel is clearly one of those great but old hotels.
Rooms are in need of renovation, in special bathrooms.
Overall, price per value is actually a good hotel to stay if you go to Monterrey.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I've stayed at the Sheridan Ambassador annually for 8+ years. It is a solid hotel and it kept clean overall. Staff does a great job accommodating and even with communication, I speak little Spanish. I've seen slight room improvements over the years such as tv upgrades however the beds, furnishings, carpet, etc have not changed. They are clean yet out of date.
The spa and gym are great and the pool area is typically peaceful to relax.
This hotel is literally steps from the macro plaza and is in a location where walking works out great to get around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have been travelling to Monterrey for over twelve years and this hotel is my favorite by far. It has the feeling of the grand old hotels with beautiful leaded glass as you enter. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is conveniently located downtown close to many restaurants, pubs and shopping. Great value. The only hotel I would stay in when in Monterrey.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Not my type of hotel. I got a suite and the furniture was very aged. The lighting was basically ornate desk lamps. I'm sure it's comforatable if you're over 65 but not for me. I didn't like the fact that there was no mini bar and i had to pay for water and internet either.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

The Sheraton Ambassador in Monterrey, Mexico, is great. It is an elegant hotel in a nice downtown location and the food is excellent and reasonably priced. I defenitely go back in my next business trip.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Picked the hotel to spend a weekend in downtown Monterrey, terrible Idea. The service was terrible. where do I begin......Valet Parking took a long time to give us the card. Receptionist was a guy that never said Hi or smiled once in fact we didn't see a smile from anybody in the hotel.

The Room was only ok, Im a SPG member, never received a different treatment during our stay, in fact they even charge me 70 Pesos for Parking.

Was to trying to spend a nice weekend very bad Idea to stay here, please stay away, there are many other hotels in the area, please pick another one.

Hector N.

Room Tip: none, sixth floor was ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Ambassador

Address: Hidalgo 310 Oriente | Zona Centro, Monterrey 64000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Nuevo Leon > Monterrey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Ambassador 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Monterrey, the Sheraton Ambassador Hotel offers a prime location for today's business traveler. Our friendly staff will put you at ease, recommending local restaurants and activities. You can even take care of a car rental onsite. 229 oversized guest rooms and suites with comfortable beds and bathrooms have everything you need to make your stay more enjoyable. Stay active with a health club as well as tennis and racquetball courts. Relax in our beautiful outdoor pool or solarium. Gather with friends or colleagues for dinner at our restaurant or a drink at our bar. All rooms now feature wireless High Speed Internet Access at a fee, HD LCD TVs, and The Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed. Stay connected to friends and family with Link-at-Sheraton Experienced with Microsoft®, a connectivity hub in the heart of the lobby. 11 meeting rooms are available for meetings and conventions, offering a combined 10,200 square feet of space. Our Grand "Embajadores" is ready to welcome up to 750 people for whatever type of event you are planning. The Sheraton Ambassador Hotel is a great place for your next meeting or convention, offering stylish comfort and total convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Media 8, Inc., Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Ambassador Hotel Monterrey
Sheraton Hotel Monterrey
Sheraton Monterrey
Monterrey Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Ambassador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.