We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Legacy with Modern Amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira to your Saves list
Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ocampo 443, Monterrey 64000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 93 Hotels in Monterrey
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Historic Legacy with Modern Amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This hotel has a little museum in the lobby. The rooms were clean and the chirping birds in the lobby were a pleasant surprise. I was disappointed that the gym did not open until 7:00 a.m. and it was not possible to get breakfast for an early departure. The computers were accessible early in the morning and late at night so I was able to print my boarding pass.

Room Tip: I had not rooms to compare with my own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    37
    19
    9
    12
See reviews for
11
26
11
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I used to be a frequent guest at this hotel 1n the 1990s, early 2000s and I always enjoyed my stay at the hotel. The property was built in 1912 evoking memories of days gone by, a USS Titanic contemporary. Because of my connections I was always upgraded during my earlier stays but did not have any connections to think of on my most recent stay. The room was somewhat small but functional and I kept getting thrown off the free Wi-Fi. I was also on an inside room on the second floor which has a generator right outside the window. The noise woke me up as if it were from the engine room of the Titanic. For a city so close to the US border as Monterrey, there are simply not enough US TV stations. The hotel has a glorious past but needs some upgrading and they need to do something about that noise. I will not be running back to this hotel anytime soon.

Room Tip: Get a room on the Executive fifth floor. This way you stand a chance of not hearing the generator n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I was there, recommended by a friend. The good thing of the hotel is its history, and all the old time stories. But now it's getting obsolete. There are leaks in many rooms, a lot of humidity (and smells a lot when you go into the room). The pool was not working (I choose this one because of the pool, and I couldn't use it). But the rest is nice. The service is nice. The people is smiley and very good service. The food is very good., and it´s in a good place, next to the macroplaza and morelos.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is one of the most beautiful hotels in Mexico. It is centrally located to everything what is needed whether you are on a business trip or for vacation. I stayed there already 8 times and compared to other hotels in Monterrey I have experienced too, this one is my favourite. The staff is friendly no matter at which time you arrive for check-in. Centrally located, you get whatever you need around the hotel (I especially recommend 7elven around the corner opened 24 hours).

Room Tip: Book a deluxe on the 5th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is the twelfth time I have stayed at the Ancira while travelling on business in Monterrey. Comfortable rooms, helpful staff, all in a safe and very clean environment. The Morellos is almost right outside the door, great shopping. I have to mention the breakfast buffet. Simply wonderful, lots of variety and healthy choices. This hotel seems like my home whenever I am there.

Room Tip: Any of the deluxe kings wil be a good choice. If you don't like the room the staff will cheerful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
770 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 523 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Great location , still has elegant 1970's flavor, staff very nice and attentive, safe environment and nice small- medium rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leon gto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

the hotel is clean and soo beautiful, i love it speacially during decenber the decoration takes you to another place. The receptionists are kind and patient. During 2 years we have visit Monterrey and this is our favorite one

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterrey hotels
0.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Monterrey
Fiesta Americana Monterrey
#2 of 93 in Monterrey
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Monterrey
Crowne Plaza Monterrey
#22 of 93 in Monterrey
3.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mision Monterrey Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Safi Royal Luxury Towers
Safi Royal Luxury Towers
#14 of 93 in Monterrey
4.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Antarisuite Cintermex
Hotel Antarisuite Cintermex
#26 of 93 in Monterrey
3.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sheraton Ambassador
Sheraton Ambassador
#36 of 93 in Monterrey
3.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira

Address: Ocampo 443, Monterrey 64000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Nuevo Leon > Monterrey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 93 Hotels in Monterrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gamma is a new hotel concept that gives you the best of both worlds – the charm of a small local hotel and the backing of the trusted Fiesta Inn national chain. Feel the warmth of our service, the uniqueness of our spaces, and enjoy the thrill of being in a destination that celebrates the best that Mexico's northern region has to offer. Cherish many unforgettable moments at Gamma by Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira. The hotel, recognized as a National Historic and Cultural Treasure, has been an icon for more than 100 years. Artists, political and intellectual figures, and other notable personalities have inhabited its rooms throughout its existence. It is located in the Historic Downtown District, near Cintermex and the city's most important tourist destinations. The hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, a Business Center, pool, restaurant, bar, and fully equipped meeting rooms for work groups and special events. Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira is an Eco-friendly hotel, so it is a 100% smoke free hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.