We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite In Monterrey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Ancira

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Ancira to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Ancira
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ocampo 443 Ote. Centro, Monterrey, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 91 Hotels in Monterrey
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Favorite In Monterrey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is the twelfth time I have stayed at the Ancira while travelling on business in Monterrey. Comfortable rooms, helpful staff, all in a safe and very clean environment. The Morellos is almost right outside the door, great shopping. I have to mention the breakfast buffet. Simply wonderful, lots of variety and healthy choices. This hotel seems like my home whenever I am there.

Room Tip: Any of the deluxe kings wil be a good choice. If you don't like the room the staff will cheerful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    32
    17
    8
    9
See reviews for
11
22
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
693 reviews 693 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
451 helpful votes 451 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Great location , still has elegant 1970's flavor, staff very nice and attentive, safe environment and nice small- medium rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leon gto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

the hotel is clean and soo beautiful, i love it speacially during decenber the decoration takes you to another place. The receptionists are kind and patient. During 2 years we have visit Monterrey and this is our favorite one

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

A long weekend spent in Monterrey was augmented and facilitated by the helpful staff. Nice price. Excellent facilities and clean quiet room. Hotel restaurant was wonderful. Perfect location for Macro Plaza and other sites.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with window facing pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Stayed there a couple of times and couldn't get any deluxe rooms with running hot water or heating/cooling. Had to sleep with the window open. Water took over 15 minutes before the hot water started flowing and the tub drained poorly.

Receptionist kept saying all the rooms are booked and I can't switch to another room. Or that they will fix it but never did anything about it.

Avoid this hotel at all costs. They have the worst people to help you. That's why they keep reducing the rates... people don't come back.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. No!! Really... save your money and find a better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, NJ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I recently had a chance to revisit the Gran Ancira. I had stayed there multiple times a few years ago (back in 1999-2003). The hotel was a wonderful place to stay back then, and it hasn't changed much since. The rooms are comfortable, although I would recommend springing the little extra cost for the executive floor (5th floor). The rooms are much larger, and the free continental breakfast in the executive lounge makes it almost a bargain. They also have a cocktail hour in the evening, but since I didn't visit it in the evening, I cannot speak for what they serve.

My room was large with a large 36" or 40" HDTV, couch, wingback chair, desk, desk chair and a king size bed. The bathroom included two free bottles of water, which was replenished each morning by housekeeping. The room was clean and well kept. To be honest, the decor was a little dated. Then again, this hotel was built in 1904, what should I expect? Modern furniture would look out of place.

The desk had a wired internet connection. It was decent, but not great. It worked well enough for browsing the Internet, retrieving emails and using Skype. But don't try and use any type of streaming service like Slingbox or Netflix.....the connection was just too slow. The business lounge on the fifth floor had wireless, if you needed to connect your iPad or laptop. My room saw the wifi signal, but it was sporadic at best.

I visited the restaurant downstairs for breakfast one morning. They have the typical european style buffet, with a wide variety of hot or cold choices. It was good, I think I paid about 250 pesos for the breakfast.

The service was great, from check-in to check out. Each morning I asked for a wakeup call. Each day it came right on time...then 5 minutes later a front desk staff memeber would call to ensure that I was awake.

I took taxi from the airport to the hotel. It cost me 290 pesos, I think that is about $23.00 USD as of today. There is a taxi counter in the airport just as you come out of immigration. It is on your right as you come out of the sliding glass doors from customs. You go to the counter and choose a taxi company. You pay the lady there, and they take credit cards. Gone is the hustle and clamoring for fares that I used to see in Monterrey's airport.

Overall, my stay was a good one at the Gran Ancira. There are newer hotels, but none as classy as the Ancira. One last thing, you might have read about some of the crime that has overtaken Monterrey. It is getting better, not great, but better than it was. That being said, it is best to not wander the city on foot. If you need to go anywhere, arrange with the front desk to get you a taxi. Also, there is a 7-11 across the small street from the Ancira. If you need water, snacks, whatever, it is close enough to walk.

Room Tip: Pay the small amount extra for a room on the fifth (Executive) floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

The hotel is really beautiful and the hotel restaurant serves great food.
Bedroom was good (not as good as the hotel but good).
It's 20 minutes away from the airport.
Service is very good.
Monterrey is a very dangerous place so I never left the hotel to walk around.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Ancira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Ancira

Address: Ocampo 443 Ote. Centro, Monterrey, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Nuevo Leon > Monterrey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 91 Hotels in Monterrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gran Hotel Ancira 3.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Gran Hotel Ancira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Ancira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.