We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite In Monterrey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira to your Saves list
Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ocampo 443, Monterrey 64000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 95 Hotels in Monterrey
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Favorite In Monterrey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is the twelfth time I have stayed at the Ancira while travelling on business in Monterrey. Comfortable rooms, helpful staff, all in a safe and very clean environment. The Morellos is almost right outside the door, great shopping. I have to mention the breakfast buffet. Simply wonderful, lots of variety and healthy choices. This hotel seems like my home whenever I am there.

Room Tip: Any of the deluxe kings wil be a good choice. If you don't like the room the staff will cheerful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McSmith978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
USA
Level Contributor
1,007 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 541 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Great location , still has elegant 1970's flavor, staff very nice and attentive, safe environment and nice small- medium rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bryanmantezoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leon gto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

the hotel is clean and soo beautiful, i love it speacially during decenber the decoration takes you to another place. The receptionists are kind and patient. During 2 years we have visit Monterrey and this is our favorite one

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

A long weekend spent in Monterrey was augmented and facilitated by the helpful staff. Nice price. Excellent facilities and clean quiet room. Hotel restaurant was wonderful. Perfect location for Macro Plaza and other sites.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with window facing pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willaim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Stayed there a couple of times and couldn't get any deluxe rooms with running hot water or heating/cooling. Had to sleep with the window open. Water took over 15 minutes before the hot water started flowing and the tub drained poorly.

Receptionist kept saying all the rooms are booked and I can't switch to another room. Or that they will fix it but never did anything about it.

Avoid this hotel at all costs. They have the worst people to help you. That's why they keep reducing the rates... people don't come back.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. No!! Really... save your money and find a better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lawmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterrey hotels

Fairfield, NJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I recently had a chance to revisit the Gran Ancira. I had stayed there multiple times a few years ago (back in 1999-2003). The hotel was a wonderful place to stay back then, and it hasn't changed much since. The rooms are comfortable, although I would recommend springing the little extra cost for the executive floor (5th floor). The rooms are much larger, and the free continental breakfast in the executive lounge makes it almost a bargain. They also have a cocktail hour in the evening, but since I didn't visit it in the evening, I cannot speak for what they serve.

My room was large with a large 36" or 40" HDTV, couch, wingback chair, desk, desk chair and a king size bed. The bathroom included two free bottles of water, which was replenished each morning by housekeeping. The room was clean and well kept. To be honest, the decor was a little dated. Then again, this hotel was built in 1904, what should I expect? Modern furniture would look out of place.

The desk had a wired internet connection. It was decent, but not great. It worked well enough for browsing the Internet, retrieving emails and using Skype. But don't try and use any type of streaming service like Slingbox or Netflix.....the connection was just too slow. The business lounge on the fifth floor had wireless, if you needed to connect your iPad or laptop. My room saw the wifi signal, but it was sporadic at best.

I visited the restaurant downstairs for breakfast one morning. They have the typical european style buffet, with a wide variety of hot or cold choices. It was good, I think I paid about 250 pesos for the breakfast.

The service was great, from check-in to check out. Each morning I asked for a wakeup call. Each day it came right on time...then 5 minutes later a front desk staff memeber would call to ensure that I was awake.

I took taxi from the airport to the hotel. It cost me 290 pesos, I think that is about $23.00 USD as of today. There is a taxi counter in the airport just as you come out of immigration. It is on your right as you come out of the sliding glass doors from customs. You go to the counter and choose a taxi company. You pay the lady there, and they take credit cards. Gone is the hustle and clamoring for fares that I used to see in Monterrey's airport.

Overall, my stay was a good one at the Gran Ancira. There are newer hotels, but none as classy as the Ancira. One last thing, you might have read about some of the crime that has overtaken Monterrey. It is getting better, not great, but better than it was. That being said, it is best to not wander the city on foot. If you need to go anywhere, arrange with the front desk to get you a taxi. Also, there is a 7-11 across the small street from the Ancira. If you need water, snacks, whatever, it is close enough to walk.

Room Tip: Pay the small amount extra for a room on the fifth (Executive) floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RGoltsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

The hotel is really beautiful and the hotel restaurant serves great food.
Bedroom was good (not as good as the hotel but good).
It's 20 minutes away from the airport.
Service is very good.
Monterrey is a very dangerous place so I never left the hotel to walk around.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aurea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterrey hotels
0.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Monterrey
Fiesta Americana Monterrey
#2 of 95 in Monterrey
4.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Monterrey
Crowne Plaza Monterrey
#21 of 95 in Monterrey
3.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Safi Royal Luxury Towers
Safi Royal Luxury Towers
#9 of 95 in Monterrey
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mision Monterrey Centro Historico
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Parque Fundidora
Holiday Inn Parque Fundidora
#10 of 95 in Monterrey
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
0.3 mi away
iStay Hotel Monterrey Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira

Address: Ocampo 443, Monterrey 64000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Nuevo Leon > Monterrey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 95 Hotels in Monterrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gamma is a new hotel concept that gives you the best of both worlds – the charm of a small local hotel and the backing of the trusted Fiesta Inn national chain. Feel the warmth of our service, the uniqueness of our spaces, and enjoy the thrill of being in a destination that celebrates the best that Mexico's northern region has to offer. Cherish many unforgettable moments at Gamma by Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira. The hotel, recognized as a National Historic and Cultural Treasure, has been an icon for more than 100 years. Artists, political and intellectual figures, and other notable personalities have inhabited its rooms throughout its existence. It is located in the Historic Downtown District, near Cintermex and the city's most important tourist destinations. The hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, a Business Center, pool, restaurant, bar, and fully equipped meeting rooms for work groups and special events. Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira is an Eco-friendly hotel, so it is a 100% smoke free hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing