We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best restaurants in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Granero

El Granero
Calzada del Valle 333 Ote | Col. del Valle, Monterrey 66220, Mexico
12573950
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 517 Restaurants in Monterrey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Mexican, International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
McAllen, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

By far the best service in town... its staff and chef will do anything within their hands to make your experience at "El Granero" a unique one. The menu is very very extensive and whether your choice is seafood, a nice cut, pasta, tacos or oriental food, all of them are great. My personal favorites are sweetbreads, baby squids or filled portobello as appetizer. As main course the prime rib is superb... simply the best! If you feel like something lighter, the maguro tataki is amazing. For dessert, the jubilee cherries or the tinned orange peels with cheese are my favorite options. El Granero also has a very good wine selection. Its location is among the best in town, but the place could use a remodeling. Prices might be a little bit high but it is definitely worth it!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    18
    16
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
México
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Very expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I was there last week and found it extremely expensive. Food is not bad; prices are!!! Service is slow. The place may be noisy. It used to be much better...

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Solid choice in Monterrey (San Pedro)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I am an American with a home in Monterrey, spending about 75% of my time there. So I have visited many of the trendy restaurants in the area. El Granero is a very nice option for both visitors and locals to find just what they are looking for. Good food at a nice price. It is an older place that could use a remodel, but that doesn't hurt the food quality or the service. I happened to order a prime rib last Saturday night and the meat was a little tough. The rest of my family totally enjoyed each of their plates, so overall I was very satisfied. Besides, where can you get this level of dining for 4 people for under $200 USD?

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong,Hong Kong
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“It was fantastic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

In the course of one year since my last visit, El Granero Grill has declined. The service is suffering and the quality of the food has also declined. The first time I was there 2 years ago, the food was GREAT. The restaurant needs a makeover, a little attention, from its owner. The waiters are very aggressive for tips. Last year, after choosing to leave a 10% tip, the waiter aggressively told me I had made a mistake in the calculation and that the tip was wrong. Well, the altercation between my husband and the waiter was loud but I added the 5% to avoid problems because the waiter was very menacing.

This year, the service was 'nice' again (we were guests of local friends) but the food was underpar.

Fix this place! The location is nice, the dishes are well put together and the ambiance is also good. Live pianist, great wine selection, and fantastic desserts. Also, the bathrooms are the nicest in Monterrey!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, MX
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“In desperate need of a make over”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

This place looks, feels and smells like it hasn't been remodeled since 1970. Last time we went there my wife ordered Prime Rib and when she asked for horseradish, she got a stale mayonnaise instead. Avoid this place, it's expensive as hell, and there are plenty of better places to spend our money on a good meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Granero also viewed

Monterrey, Nuevo Leon
Monterrey, Nuevo Leon
 
Monterrey, Nuevo Leon
Monterrey, Nuevo Leon
 

Been to El Granero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Granero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.