We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Clean & recently remodeled” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Luis Lindavista

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Luis Lindavista to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel San Luis Lindavista
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave. Obregon y Rio Sinaloa No. 1 | Col. Guadalupe, Culiacan 80220, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 25 hotels in Culiacan
A TripAdvisor Member
“Clean & recently remodeled”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

This hotel was a great value for the price, service was excellent and room was very nice and very clean. Close to downtown Culiacan but away from all the noise. Great view!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
5
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I have stayed at this property 7 or 8 times since 2005. In between I have stayed at a different more modern chain in Culiacan. My last 2 trips I elected to stay at the San Luis due to the superior services they offer. Room service, restaurant, laundry service and large, comfortable rooms. The only issue I had over a 6 day stay was 1-2 times the TV cable service went haywire. Everything else was great. Some of the property is older since the entire hotel is actually 2 linked together.Quiet rooms and food is good, average price for Room Service cost.

Room Tip: Reserve in "La Torre" which is the newer area of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

The staff, while pleasant, was poorly trained and seemed to have no sense of customer service. Also the rooms are worn out and not what American travelers would expect. Everything the other reviews list seems to be true.

  • Liked — Central Location
  • Disliked — One star quality
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2007

We stayed at this hotel in November 2007 because we were unexpectedly too tired to drive any further that day and found this hotel in the AAA book as we were driving.

It is superbly located on a hill. We had a fabulous view of Culiacan from our 3rd floor room (room 330) which is a corner room with windows on two sides. The room was comfortable, large and quite upscale in decor. WiFi was complimentary and worked well. We had a good convenient and secure parking spot. If it hadn´t been for the service issues, we would have considered this a good travel experience with a few minor issues (such as the lack of a coffee maker in the room).

But, unfortunately, service/management issues spoiled the whole experience for us. The staff, while pleasant, was poorly trained and seemed to have no sense of customer service. For $150 (1500 pesos) per night we can do a lot better than this.

Services/Management Issues:

1. The main problem we had was that they had a policy (which is now changed due to our complaint) that if you wanted to be able to charge things to your room you had to fill out a special form WHICH THEY DIDN´T TELL US when we checked in with our credit card. Since we were so exhausted we ordered room service, they brought it and accepted our signature and tip. As we were enjoying it and the view, phone calls began from the front desk in rapid Spanish, asking us to pay up or go down and sign this form. To make a long story short, it was difficult at first to find out what they wanted from us but they kept bugging us (about 5 phonecalls and 2 banging on the door). My husband finally said, in Spanish, "Leave us alone, we´ll sort it out in the morning¨ Anyway, all of this was horrible and spoiled what should have been a relaxing evening in this lovely room.

2. They didn´t give us a break on the rack rate even though we arrived at 5 pm and, supposedly, the only rooms available were suites. When we used to stay at their sister hotel, the Santa Anita in Los Mochis, they always gave us a free upgrade if one was available when we checked in. Also, they only gave us one breakfast voucher and made us pay for the other one. This was very chintzy considering that it was the most basic of continental breakfasts (not even boiled eggs or hot cereal). The feeling was that they were "nickel and diming" us every chance they got.

3. We were barely finished our dinner when the room service staff banged on the door to get the dishes. Also, when they took away our dishes they took away the only two drinking glasses in the room. Since there was no coffee maker, we had only our water bottles. (We were not going to call the front desk and risk starting another flurry of banging on the door or phonecalls. Btw, there was no "Do not Disturb" sign to be found.)

4. When my husband checked out, the front desk clerk asked if the tv remote was in the room (i.e., did we steal it). I suppose I should be grateful they didn´t search our luggage and pockets.

On the good side, we had a good chance to practice our Spanish. I don´t think anyone spoke English. There´s nothing like having to argue to sharpen your linguistic skills. And the staff all seemed very nice and kind, just poorly trained. Also, the willingness with which the Manager gave us the name of the owner of the Baldachin chain suggested that there are policies that he himself would like to see changed.

  • Liked — Spectacular View
  • Disliked — Management and service
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2007

The Linda Vista Hotel was a pleasant suprise after a very long day of travel. I will stay there again.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — walk to restaurant
  • Stayed January 2005, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2003

pathetic service, constant mistakes,double charged,never again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanluis100, Manager at Hotel San Luis Lindavista, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
We now have a better service and have solved that problem in our sistem. our hotel is now remodeled, and it will be a pleasure to recive you to attend you as you deserve, at your orders sincerely the manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel San Luis Lindavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Luis Lindavista

Address: Ave. Obregon y Rio Sinaloa No. 1 | Col. Guadalupe, Culiacan 80220, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Culiacan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 hotels in Culiacan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Luis Lindavista 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel San Luis Lindavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Luis Lindavista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.