We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of heaven, cant wait to go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Pedrito Surf Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Todos Santos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
San Pedrito Surf Hotel
Todos Santos, Mexico (Formerly Casa Cyrene)   |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A slice of heaven, cant wait to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed over Xmas 2013 in Casita 5. We drove in at night, and would have been completely lost if not for the very good directions provided via email by Laura. We were greeted by a very friendly dog who wanted to spend the night -- as dog lovers, this was a good sign. The next morning we woke up to thumping surf, great fellow travelers, and an amazing, pristine beach. I am a novice surfer and did not go out to San Pedritos that day, but went to Cerritos and had a great time.

As other reviews have noted, this is not the typical Cabo all inclusive experience. We had a car and we had brought up food from the Cabo Walmart, the fridge and small kitchen was more than adequate for cooking up eggs and tortillas. Water was provided, and while the rooms were 'rustic', they were clean and well maintained. Showers had hot water, even if the water pressure was not resort-like.

We loved getting up, making coffee and sitting on the patio in the morning, taking in the amazing view and soaking up the sunlight (we're from Seattle, we take all the sunlight we can get at this time of year). Coming back from a day at the beach and chilling out with the other guests was another highlight. We met some great people, not only at the hotel but on the beach. This place was perfect to unplug.

Cerritos turned out to be the ideal activity beach for us, as the kids could boogie board in the shallows and I could (try to) surf a little further out. The water was actually warmer than at Cabo. People on the water were super nice, whether tourist or local, and off the water, everyone was very patient with my bad Spanish. I did get out to surf San Pedrito one day, but didn't watch where I was and ended up on the rocks. It's definitely a break to aspire to -- I loved just walking out from the room and paddling out!

Jaime, who runs Pescadero Surf Camp, manages SPSH. He and his son Ryan were wonderful hosts, even though I wrecked one of his boards (sorry, Jaime!). They were kind and gracious and really went out of their way to make sure we had a great time. Jaime invited us to stop by the PSC any time for free wifi and the facilities, which include a very inviting looking pool and BYOB sunken bar, but we were too busy enjoying the beach!

This was one of the best vacations we have taken, the place and the people combined to make a wonderful vacation. Everyone kept saying "we'll see you next year" -- I'm already looking forward to it!

A couple of notes:
(1) Driving out at night was tricky. Get good directions if you plan on arriving at night, those were a lifesaver.
(2) Next time, we're going to bring flashlights for walking on the beach at night, and a lighter for the stoves.
(3) At night, the temperature drops by quite a bit. It was great to have a windbreaker and sweats.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
16
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

A friend and I biked up to Todos Santos from Cabo and found this jewel of a property. We stayed in a studio casita which was simple and lovely. We enjoyed cooking outside - and even slept on the beach one night. What a treat! Neither of us surf but we enjoyed this stay very much.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed during low season, it was great sleeping meters from the beach listening the wave break. Room was nicely decorated and furnished. No complaints at all, would recommend it anytime, good deal in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, CA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Very nice, clean, well-appointed rooms at a very fair price. The hotel is located on one of the nicest beaches in the area with a good cobblestone point to surf within walking distance. I will stay here again when in the area

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Montana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

NIce , well maintained, very clean, small hotel with tons of character. We traveled with our 2 young kids and had a great time. We highly recommend the San Pedrito Surf Hotel and would most definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in #1 which was more than enough space for our family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabo san lucas,bcs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

loooove that place definitely, my and my family(hubby and 2 kids) went for the first time in feb 2010 in our honey moon, we stayed for only one day and we get in love of the place since the very first moment we put our feets on the hotel, although we live in Cabo san lucas, we enjoy to scape of the reality and stressed lifes, last time we stayed there it was on christmas, andy always receive customers with a welcome sign and not lot of people does that...so that's a meaning for us...we recomend highly this place...it has it owns enchantment...hope you enjoyed too as we doo...cause definetely we are going to come back ;)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Nice trip, nice hotel, good staff, safe area, no surprises, the information on the hotel web site, and the e mail communication while booking, was excellent and accurate.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Pedrito Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pedrito Surf Hotel

Address: Todos Santos, Mexico (Formerly Casa Cyrene)
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Specialty lodging in Todos Santos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Pedrito Surf Hotel, formerly Casa Cyrene on playa San Pedrito, Ocean Front vacation rentals at the world famous San Pedrito surf break Located 40 minutes north of Los Cabos and 10 minutes from Todos Santos art community. The only ocean front hotel in the area! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Pedrito Surf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added San Pedrito Surf Hotel to your Saves list