We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best part of our trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada La Poza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Posada La Poza to your Saves list
Posada La Poza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino a la Poza 282 | Col La Poza, Todos Santos 23300, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Todos Santos
Cobble Hill, Canada
1 review
“Best part of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Just spent eight nights in Baja Mexico and our two nights in Todos Santos were the best. Stayed at the Posado La Poza! Loved the tranquility and open ocean. Our walk on the beach felt like miles long and undisturbed. We had the best dinners at the restaurant both nights. Local seafood cooked to perfection and the most perfectly cooked meat I have ever tasted. To start both nights we enjoyed the most incredible soup which I am and will continue to try to replicate. I hope to return next year!

Room Tip: The garden room with a deck was great and the best rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    11
    4
    2
    7
See reviews for
33
160
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Wi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I were staying in Cabo for the last week of November 2012. We decided to do a day trip and drive up to Todos Santos, about an hour north of Cabo.

She had read of the great lunch spot called El Gusto' rooftop at the Posada La Poza hotel so were keeping an eye out for that. Soon after we arrived in Todos Santos, we spotted a sign for the restaurant we were looking for. It pointed west of town down an un-paved side street. We took the turn and followed the seemingly endless signs pointing this way and that way down ever narrowing dirt roads.
Finally we arrived at the hotel and parked. We were let in through the gate and led up to the rooftop dining area. It was extremely neat and clean and well furnished. Not what we expected in such a remote location! The view from the roof was breathtaking. The ocean and the hotel's gardens were beautiful.
We ordered a drink and looked at the menu. My wife selected the salad with fried scallops and I had a shrimp and pineapple dish that was like a Mexican version of an omelette. Both were very good and prepared perfectly.
We mentioned to the waiter that we really enjoyed the meal and the high quality of the restaurant. The next thing we knew, the owner, Lilly showed up and we had a nice chat. Sh told us the history of her and her husband's decision to leave Switzerland and move to Mexico to open this restaurant.
I have to say we were very impressed with the place and glad we came up.

Room Tip: We did not stay here but Lilly showed us one of the rooms. It was very nice and would be a great pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Colorado
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We drove 1.45 hours from Barriles to Todos Santos. Intersection with road to La Paz is one hour from Barriles. You need a map to find the windy road that takes you to the Pacific and this fantastic bit of work by a family from Switzerland. Juerg is the Chef and Lilly runs the place. Both of them started it in 2000 and it is a florist's dream. The grounds blend with the Pacific and the rooms are exquisite. This is Europe in Baja at its best. Tuna is magnificent! No Euros here. Bring plenty Pesos. But you will love it.

Room Tip: Rent a car. Don't try to do this without wheels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Rochelle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have just spent three glorious days at the Posada and found leaving a real wrench.Everything has been thought out in the smallest details to create a perfectly harmonious oasis of calm and serenity. the beautiful gardens blend seamlessly into the palm grove and lagoon .Our family room on the first floor had a sweeping vista of the grounds,the lagoon and to the ocean beyond. There are too many thoughtful small touches to name but providing binoculars for interested guests is a wonderful idea and I have rarely slept in a more comfortable bed! The service was in every way friendly and efficient and our hosts courteous,welcoming but always discreet. Lunch on the viewing deck was a delight as were the healthy breakfasts.Juerg and Libusche have created a unique spot which it is a priviledge to share for a short while.Thanks!

Room Tip: We were a family of adults.It's probably not ideal with young children or teens who would find i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeagle, CA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is far and away the BEST place to stay in Todos Santos! We have stayed at Todos santos Inn and Guaycura and this oceanfront gem is incredible. Acres of lush landscaping put in by the owners, Jurg and Lilly. They are Swiss so the feel of your stay is that of a small inn in Europe. Great pool, rooms and the food is wonderful. We just came back from a week there and want to return!

Room Tip: Upstairs gives you a better view. The "honeymoon" suite is a home away from home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Oregon, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We checked out all the hotels in the Todos Santos area, and this was the last. We knew instantly it was the right choice. Excellent rooms, friendly staff, superb food, nice salt water pool, beautiful landscaping, and wonderful propietors! They go the extra mile to make your stay one to remember. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Found by delightful serendipity, Posada La Poza, exceeded any expectations we might have developed had we been informed travelers. I highly recommend this inn as prime destination to any who value elegance, fine cuisine, fine art, a cultivated ambience, serene gardens, and the company of the most courteous and accommodating couple one could ever expect. Juerg & Libusche Weisendanger have crafted their unique boutique hotel as Hotel/Galeria/Restaurante. They fail to cite the Garden as an equally meritorious label.
Hotel: The hotel has few rooms, interspersed throughout the garden with four spacious rooms per building. Balconies or patios look into the garden and over the pool. Upon check in you are offered binoculars for bird watching, a choice of music CD's, and directions to the beach. Bird life is intriguing, as a lagoon between the hotel and beach features all local varieties of wading birds. Note that no hotels in Todos Santos are on the beach, but I believe P. La Poza to be closest. Swim in the pool, not the ocean. Rooms are bright, clean, and well appointed with Libusche's art.
Gallery: Libusche is an artist of the highest caliber, working as a painter, sculptor, and possibly other media besides gardening and interior design. Her pieces are subtle, and unfold through prolonged observation. As they are distributed throughout the rooms and the grounds, it is a most absorbing gallery experience.
Restaurant: Juerg is exceedingly gracious as host, and a fabulous chef. All meals, including the complimentary breakfast were prepared with exquisitely flavored homemade sauces and moles. There are several options as to where to dine, including the patio, the roof top overlooking the lagoon and ocean (most delightful in evening), and two interior dining options. If you drive from the north, you would be aware of the Mexican wine industry, Juerg will guide you to great vintages.
I hope you can make the trip, plan to relax awhile.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Posada La Poza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada La Poza

Address: Camino a la Poza 282 | Col La Poza, Todos Santos 23300, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Todos Santos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Posada La Poza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet boutique hotel, restaurant El Gusto! on site with full bar and whale deck, heated saltwater pool and saltwater spa, beautiful tropical and desert gardens, the only hotel on the beach, birdwatching, retreat and wedding destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Posada La Poza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada La Poza Hotel Todos Santos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada La Poza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.