We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed with cold, stark room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Tota

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa Tota to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casa Tota
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Calle Alvaro Obregon | across from the Casa de Cultura, Todos Santos 23300, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 Todos Santos B&B and Inns
Wickenburg, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed with cold, stark room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We remember seeing this brand new "cool" hotel last year while here so were anxious to try it this year. The restaurant is wonderful and the poolside courtyard very inviting. There the ambiance
Ends. Inside, the tiny cement room felt like a jail cell. Zero soul. No color. There was not even a chair to sit on in this place! It's awesome what Mexico does with cement architecture, but Casa Toda seems half baked. The price is lower than many of the other downtown establishments, and staff sweet, but we felt claustrophobic in this cubicle. We checked out a day early and found a much better hotel just outside of town--much more spacious, soulful, quieter, and totally attentive to details.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    18
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
41
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel's motto is Proudly Modest and they mean it. The owner is delightful, helpful and hard-working. He clearly will do what it takes to make a success of his clean, stylish enterprise. The rooms are modern in a poured and shaped concrete sort of way, although those that face the road are loud--something he says he's working to fix. The two roof tops are great, as is the bar. Breakfast is tasty but the wait staff needs a tad more training.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were going to be in Todos Santos for 5 nights, but could only get a room at the Todos Santos Inn for 4 of them. After considering an overnight stay in Cabo, we read some reviews of Casa Tota and opted to spend a night there instead. It was definitely a stroke of good fortune. Not only were we able to start the Todos Santos part of our vacation early, but we spent our first night in a modern-but-charming hotel. While not as lushly appointed as the Todos Santos Inn, Casa Tota is classy and comfortable. The staff were helpful and courteous and Wifi was readily available to allow for checking in on "the real world". Overall a very good value in a perfect location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We chose Todos Santos to relax for a week and looked at the reviews for hotels. Some other places looked like they might be better, but something drew us to Casa Tota.
Location: The location is on the north side of Todos and higher up, so it has great views from the roof deck.

Room: The room is very modern and rustic at the same time. The shower and vanity were great and the bed was comfortable. We had a TV, but didn't turn it on once. The first few days, we hid our passports, phones, and cash, but the hotel is very safe (actually, all of Todos feels very safe). The pool is right outside everyone's door with great landscaping and some great artwork. The design of everything was amazing. A lot of attention to detail. Daily cleanings with two bottles of water each day left for us. One downside is that some of the cleaner they use is a little strong in case you get back just after they clean.

Staff: The staff is amazing and friendly. Claudia at the front desk is extremely helpful in giving you tips and telling you what activities there are. They are not pushing you to do activities that they get a kickback for. They just want to make sure you have a good time.

Bar/Restaurant: The food is very good and the bar is amazing. Again, some amazing artwork, metal work, and stained glass. You just want to sit and have a coffee and watch the day go by. The guacamole is made to order and they gave us a plate to take to the roof deck to watch the sunset.

After seeing all of the other hotels we could have chosen, I am glad we stayed here. The next best one in my opinion is Guayacara. The dinner, roof deck at sunset, and drinks were exceptional there too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastsound, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We booked hotel Casa Tota for our honeymoon and it was wonderful. The rooms are great, the pool is refreshing, the roof top area is perfect for a nice cigar and some Don Julio 1928 Anejo tequila. The staff were all fabulous. We had an accident our first evening there (my wife slipped on the stairs hitting her face on the cement) and Ramon was great at handling the situation. I do suggest wearing sandals since the white cement is very slippery with bare feet though. We enjoyed the meals we ate there and the advice of staff memebers on where to eat. The atmosphere is like staying with friends in a cool modern low key villa in a cool low key town. cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: The JR suites have a great Romeo & Juliet over the road, but they also have some road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed at Guayacara, which was lovely, but ended up eating here everyday and will definitely stay here next time. Amazing breakfast. Very sweet staff. Attentive and very welcoming. Loved the ambiance. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tofino, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is a fantastic hotel in Todos Santos. Whomever designed this place has great taste and a fantastic sense of style.

The boutique hotel is classy, clean, modern, minimalist, and comfortable with friendly staff. It has a jacuzzi (just let them know when you plan to use it so they can hear it up for you in advance), a beautiful pool and courtyard area with deck chairs, terraced rooftop sundecks with lounge chairs and couches and shade umbrellas, plants, tasteful decor, high ceilings and great rain showers in the rooms, comfortable beds, friendly and helpful staff, and a great restaurant (best guacamole and breakfast burritos in town), and they cater to vegetarians.

I'm not sure why this is classified under B&B on Trip Advisor? This is misleading, as breakfast is not included. I hope someone changes this on Tripadvisor, I'd call it a boutique hotel as it only has 15 rooms. It should be listed under hotels (which would most likely bring them more business since they don't show up in the hotel listings).

The rooms are cleaned everyday.

There is aircon in the rooms, but not necessary in December, the ceiling fan is enough.

Overall a great hotel!

We booked this hotel for 14 nights, and drove to the beaches everyday from here.

They even provide a beach kit (big beach towels and umbrella) you can take to the beach.


  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Casa Tota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Tota

Address: Calle Alvaro Obregon | across from the Casa de Cultura, Todos Santos 23300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Todos Santos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa Tota 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Tota is a proudly modest, full service 15 room hotel, restaurant and cantina providing outstanding value in downtown Todos Santos. Our intimate poolside courtyard, rooftop lounge and mezzanine level jacuzzi with pour-your-own-honor bar, central location, expert adventure booking, fresh hand crafted mexican food, strong cocktails and uber-friendly service all add up to a great vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Casa Tota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Tota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.