We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All about the views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Los Cerritos Beach, Km 65, Todos Santos 23300, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Todos Santos B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“All about the views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The views and the rooms are AMAZING and they are definitely the best things about the place. We read many reviews so we were prepared to stop at a grocery store to have supplies on hand. We knew we were isolated with a chance of losing water and power (we lost water a couple of times, never lost power). And we knew some things, like the hot tubs, would not be functioning.

What we didn't know is that the one functioning hot tub would be directly below our room. We happened to be there at the same time as people who liked to sit most of the day and night in the hot tub and blast country music that made our room sound like a country western bar. It was a cruel kind of torture knowing that we could hear amazing ocean sounds ... but we only hear loud country music with constant shouts of "Get it Guuurl!" The people that checked in to the room below us, checked out early because they couldn't handle the music with no respect of the other guests. I believe an earlier review said that some things happened in Mexico that needed to stay in Mexico ... unfortunately we were included in those happenings because our room was a direct pipeline from the hot tub (maybe aided by the wind)??? Maybe a policy about loud music could be implemented unless your group rents out all of the rooms?

The views and rooms saved our vacation. Ironically, we spent the last 2 nights in Cabo at a "spring-breaker" type of resort and we finally got a quiet room! :)

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerritosBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We're extremely sorry that you had this experience. We are very saddened when we hear that our guests had a less than enjoyable time at our resort, and we will do our best to make sure this doesn't happen again.

We would like to let you know that we do have a policy in place that guests need to be quiet after 10 pm, but it would appear that it was not enforced during your stay. We will work to be better at enforcing this policy, and we hope that you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    45
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
14
74
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had an amazing experience and Would have given the hotel an excellent rating however the lack of maintenance affords you less of an experience than what it could be.
There are several hot tubs affording fantastic views but out of five tubs currently two are working and one of those two is private. Air conditioning is offered but again only a couple of rooms function correctly. Not so much a problem in early spring, you can just sleep with your room open to the pounding ocean waves and enjoy the cool breeze, however Mosquitoes make the opening the doors much less desirable as you will become the main course. Staff currently is great and although not able to make the financial decisions required to maintain, they are more than willing to give you the best experience possible.
We came as two couples wondering just what we would do for a week in seclusion. Day one we met 4 couples traveling from Canada together staying just as long as we were. Amazing, fun, crazy, partying is what we did. Drank too much, stayed up too late, did things that must stay in Mexico but had the most fun.
If you are looking for a mansion on a cliff on the best beach in Cabo and are willing to treat the place as if it was your home and all that goes with that, then go you will not be disappointed. If you want everything to be just right and to be pampered then don't go here because you might just reserve my spot.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerritosBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We're very glad to hear that you had a good time at our resort, we love hearing that from our guests. It is unfortunate that you stayed at a time when everything wasn't working perfectly, but we are working on fixing all the issues that you encountered.

When you next stay with us, we hope you have an even better time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The place sits on a beautiful location and the property is magnificent. The problem is a total lack of maintenance. The air conditioning system barely works, electricity and running water come and go like the wind. After spending a full day without running water and electricity we complained and the staff's answer was to give us candles. My advice is to stay some place else in the area and come visit. See the terrible state of the facility and avoid having a miserable vacation.

Room Tip: Great views from every room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerritosBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We're very sorry to hear that things went poorly for you while at our resort.

Since we are off the grid, we occasionally have issues with power and water, especially when we are fully booked at all three resorts (which we were for the last month or so). That doesn't excuse the issues, but we wanted to give some reasoning behind why this happened.

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, we will use your feedback to continue to improve our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

Had a great time. Even though there is no restaurant or staff to wait on you there are cool places to eat in walking distant. Views from hotel were great. Good spot to surf if you are just learning. Would be nice if they eventually paved part of the road to get to the hotel though. Pool needs to be heated. they kind of skimp on basic things

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerritosBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thanks for taking the time to write a review! We really appreciate getting feedback from our guests.

The weather in Mexico tends to be on the warmer side, and gets very hot in the spring and summer, so we found it most comfortable to keep the pools unheated to create a nicer balance of warm and cool.

We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Loved staying at Hacienda Cerritos. We felt very much at home and very lucky to have had such an amazing experience. We lived so comfortably for four nights and wished it had been longer. I could not wait to get up in the morning and so used my phone's alarm to make sure I'd not miss the sun rises.

Even though all the rooms are taken, you hardly see anybody. Our suite, the north facing bungalow 4, had a refrigerator with large counter area with plenty of utensils. The two shared kitchens had a stove, toaster and blender with fresh coffee for you to help yourself in the morning. Effectively, it feels like you are at home except it's a beautiful old world style Mexican mansion with amazing architecture, furnishings and exceptional views.

We have stayed at another hotel nearby, a half hour south, the Pueblo Pacifica Bonito Resort. This was all inclusive and so we never left the hotel grounds. Coming to the Hacienda Cerritos is much more relaxing for us as we do not like being waited on hand and foot. You will need to bring supplies and a stop at the Walmart plaza en route doesn't take too much time. You can get quality Tequila etc. at La Europa also. We had lunch at the Hotel California in Todos Santos and dinner at Hierbabuena. A pizza locally too. Other than that we cooked "at home."

There are 30 steps in the sun and 34 steps covered up from the beach to the Hacienda. Makes for a very easy stroll down to the beach and restaurants with a foot shower at the top of the steps at the Hacienda grand entrance. In fact you could be barefoot your whole holiday if you didn't want to go in to town. You have to check out Hotel California though and you will be allowed to leave! Beautiful jewelry and other local art. Arrive at Hierbabuena before 6:30pm otherwise you will have to wait for their amazing farm to table fayre.

I see others wary of the roads in to the area. It is compressed sand and you will need to drive slowly. For this reason, after reading reviews, we got a full size car. A compact is fine as long as you do not have much luggage. You can see the Hacienda from the Highway 19 and as you travel either of the road they are marked with directions to the Cerritos Surf Colony and Haccienda Cerritos.

Thank you Carlos for a wonderful stay. We felt very safe with your ever presence with all the curious visitors to the hotel. The bar is open to the public and I believe you can have day use of the pools and sun loungers also. We had no need of these public areas though as our suite had it's own pool and hot tub.

This is paradise on the pacific. Pure decadence with a wholly naturalistic flair. Whales and waves, condors overhead and red snappers below. Lovely people too. A must visit!

Room Tip: Stayed on the north side, bungalow 4 with amazing sunsets with sunshine all day long!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerritosBeach, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your incredible review! It means the world to us that our guests have a wonderful time, and we're very glad that you wanted to share your experience with the world! We'll make sure to pass along your thanks to Carlos.

We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

Wikipedia defines a "Boutique hotel" as hotels which have typically between 10 and 100 rooms... and often contain luxury facilities in unique or intimate settings with full service accommodations. This hotel has the right amount of rooms and a unique setting, and while the architecture/bones of the structure are wonderful, the furnishings, equipment (what works or exists), towels and bedding are nowhere near luxe and what I would describe as zero service accommodations. Imagine The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel relocated to Baja.

Despite the many, many shortcomings of this hotel, we fell in love with Pescadero (especially the Sunday market at Baja Beans, Hierbabuena and Carlitos restaurants) and Todos Santos (wonderful shopping) after several previous trips to Cabo where we never explored these towns.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerritosBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2015
We're very sad to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at our resort. That said, thank you for taking the time to write up a review, and at least you enjoyed the surrounding area.

We will use what you've said to continue to work on and improve our resort. Thank you for your feedback, and we hope that you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

A group of us rented out the entire hotel for a week in January. We had read the reviews and weren't sure what to expect. First, the pictures do not do the place justice...much grander in person. Yes, there were cosmetic issues. Yes, there were issues with A/C, However, these did not deter from the great experience. Since we rented all the rooms the hotel was closed off to the public. We hired a fantastic chef, Quetza Martinez, and had all our meals onsite. The bartender couldn't have been nicer and the manager was quick to meet all our needs.

The hotel is a perfect place for whale watching and if you love to surf, this is the place. A nearby hotel offered daily yoga. Downside is that the pool wasn't heated.

The potential of this hotel is enormous but as is it is still great.

Room Tip: Every room had a unique feature. We stayed in the south penthouse and had a shower on our balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerritosBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review! We really appreciate any and all feedback we receive.

We are constantly working to improve on all the issues our guests bring up to us, so that, hopefully, when you next stay at our resort, it is even better than the first time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel

Address: Los Cerritos Beach, Km 65, Todos Santos 23300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Todos Santos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Cerritos is an exclusive luxury boutique hotel. Located on a private bluff, this peaceful and private destination is sure to make your visit magical. This is the ultimate Mexican getaway. We are just 40 miles north of Cabo San Lucas and just down the road from the historic artist colony of Todos Santos. Cerritos Beach (world renown for exceptional surfing) is the perfect family vacation or solo hiatus paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.