We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location , Location , Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Los Cerritos Beach, Km 65, Todos Santos 23300, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Todos Santos B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Location , Location , Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Jutting out over the Pacific on a huge rock formation is what was going to be a private residence - now turned in to a 5 Star boutique hotel with 10 suites and Imean realy large suites. All rooms are formed around a court yard with fountains and flowers . Our suite was unit 1 and had a large livingroom with built in cabinets that housed a frig and sink plus a coffee maker and microwave. The bedroom is huge and had a really comfortable kKing bed . The bathroom is the size of most peoples living room and has a beautiful tiled sunken tub that could hold hold 2-4 people. Same for the shower and double sinks all of imported tile. The main kitchen where you and the other guests can cook what ever you want is also huge . in addition there are common areas with chairs and sofas and a huge dining room that will seat 12. Some of the suites have semi-private pools and hot tubs right outside the suite . Large pool with swim up bar and it is a great place to what the surfers and also the migrating whales . My wife and I like it so much that we have re booked to go back im May and look forward to staying there as often as possiable . Enjoy - atruly a great place .

Room Tip: Suite 1 was our favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    45
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
14
74
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
calgary
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

This hotel is one of the most visually beautiful places I've seen. The biggest problem are the public tours. People are toured then left at the bar. It seemed if you buy drinks you could use the pool. Kids were left running through the whole place one even walked into my room as there are no locks on some doors. I am not sure any amout of research could identify this major problem and is not a recipe for romance in my mind. At full price this would be a deal breaker for me. The views are spectacular, decor in the hacienda is just beautiful. We would go back in a minute for the $489.00 5 night deal. But wouldn't consider full price until tours are fully guided to the door. Or stopped altogether.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerritosBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your review of our resort, we greatly appreciate your feedback regarding the tours. While we want other 'future' guests to get to see the beauty of our location, we do understand that you would like to experience the tranquility and seclusion the Hacienda provides. With our new management, we are working on making the necessary changes to assure that every travelers expectation is fully accommodated. On behalf of The Hacienda Cerritos Resort Management, we hope to see you in the future relaxing by the pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Hacienda Cerritos is a very nice property but it is lacking in maintenance. The oven worked, but the display did not work so you had no control on the temperature. The common area fridge upstair did not work, I had 1 door and 3 windows that would not lock, parts of the exterior on the tower were falling off, and the rooms were not stocked properly. Initially no hair dryer, not enough or no dishes, glasses, silverware, and cups in the room. Internet was available 2 out of the 7 days we stayed. We also had no hot water pressure in the tub, so baths were not possible.

They moved us to another room after 4 nights and we had no problems with securing our room after that point. The also took our old room out of service to address the issues with the unsecured windows, they did fix the unsecured door the night before we were moved. In our new room, the shower pressure was very low.

Whale watching from the pool are was great, one day we saw over 30 breaches in a 2 hour period.

To sum the stay up, very nice property, needs maintenance. If they spent $30,000 to $50,000 to fix up, provided meals or made it an all inclusive with good meals, this could be a 4-5 star property. If I were to pay the standard price of $379 per night, it is not a place i would recommend unless it was an all inclusive, for the location, "FANTASTIC", and the condition of the property, a good rate would be $200 per night. I am glad we were able to secure vouchers that provided 4 night at $389, so the total for 7 nights was less than $800, left a day early since we had to get home. I think they are trying to fix things up, but for the property being open for 2 years and the condition, it was a little disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

The only negative reviews I've seen of this place, are people who did zero research before taking their family on vacation. This is a huge Hacienda in a remote location (although less remote now with the new surf colony hotel and pool) that is stunning and a real treat. There are only 11 rooms and each one of more amazing than the next. Huge beds, huge rooms, two bars, five hot tubs, three pools, showers the size of my bedroom at home! this place is amazing and anyone would be happy to be there, is they wanted to get away and relax. If you need shopping and waiters and restaraunts, then stick to the tourisy places. This is for people of descerning taste and appreciation for solitude and romance. I've been here three times and can't wait to go back. The best way to enjoy it is to either go with a group, rent several rooms or the whole place and split the hire for a cook, super cheap and having fresh coffee and fruit and breakfast each moring is wonderful. All you do is go to Costco in CAbo when you leave the airport. Hacienda Cerritos is a luxury get-away. It's not a Sandals.

Room Tip: Bunglaows best for families and suties best for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doylestown, pa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Different kind of place- if you are up for an adventure this is your vacation. Finding the turn off and going down the dirt road are both interesting experiences- definitely recommend doing this in the daylight as the sign nor the road are lit. Giant, beautiful mansion with pool and big rooms but there were no other guests when we were there and during the day there was just a sign on the front desk saying, for emergencies call Rigo. If you like going to the store and buying food to cook then this is your place. There is a bar at the pool but the bartender was not there most of the time. You can walk down the beach to the Cerritos Beach Club which does serve breakfast, lunch and dinner though so you do have this option which is close by. The whole place just seemed half done though and not secure.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerritosBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
On behalf of The Hacienda Cerritos Resort we would like to sincerely apologize for the delayed response to your review of your stay with us. The issues stated are being addressed immediately and we are in the process of repairing the matters in which are a concern. We want to make sure that every guest has the highest accommodations and leaves feeling completely satisfied. Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable input, as it does help us make necessary improvements. Please contact us to discuss a future visit, as we are confident that your next stay would exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Yes it's got some issues to work through if it wants to be a full-service luxury hotel. But Hacienda Cerritos is completely unique in location and style. It's like staying at a billionaire's vacation home. The house is magnificent, the beach is incredible, everyone is friendly, the whales are jumping. I could spend every day of my life here and die very happy.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

BUYER BEWARE! The owner of this hotel seems to be listing his resort on every deal site he can possibly find. I have now see the hotel on sharingspree.com, eversave.com and livingsocial.com. I first purchased through sharingspree.com (who was fabulous to work with throughout this whole ordeal!). I made my reservations, luckier than most people who purchased and who were unable to get a hold of anyone to make reservations since he'd sold so many vouchers on so many sites. I then purchased airfare and booked a rental car, only to check my email one day and have a mass email sent to all those who purchased through sharingspree.com. The email informed us that our vouchers would not be honored. I spent several days trying to call and email the Hacienda only to get the same mass email in response. They seemed to have no concern for people or the predicament they put others in. Please do your research before traveling here! I suspect the owners listed on so many deal sites to get a bunch of money upfront to complete the building of the properties.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerritosBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
I want to express our sincere disappointment with your very unfortunate circumstances with booking through Sharing Spree. You are not alone feeling scammed. The experience we have had with Sharing Spree has led to a FALSE reputation for our company, as well as money loss. Unfortunately, Sharing Spree did not follow through with their promised funding for many businesses. If they had provided funds we would be and have been more than happy to honor them.

Please read the detailed message I have sent you privately and view the links attached reporting their failure to fund. There are local news broadcasts and many related articles.

Again we are genuinely apologetic. We recommend you file a claim against them. If we can assist you in any way please contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel

Address: Los Cerritos Beach, Km 65, Todos Santos 23300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Todos Santos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Cerritos is an exclusive luxury boutique hotel. Located on a private bluff, this peaceful and private destination is sure to make your visit magical. This is the ultimate Mexican getaway. We are just 40 miles north of Cabo San Lucas and just down the road from the historic artist colony of Todos Santos. Cerritos Beach (world renown for exceptional surfing) is the perfect family vacation or solo hiatus paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.