We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best meals in Todos...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casita Tapas - Wine & Sushi Bar

La Casita Tapas - Wine & Sushi Bar
Degollado y Colegio Militar | Col.Centro, Todos Santos 23300, Mexico
+52 612 145 0192
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 71 Restaurants in Todos Santos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“One of the best meals in Todos...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Do not come here if you are looking for traditional Mexican food. But fresh fish, sustainable farm fare and delicious desserts are offered any day of the week. Tapas and great sushi, with some of the best Margaritas and excellent wine choices. The staff is very friendly, accommodating and competent. The chef and owner is always around, make sure you are happy and will go out of his way to make sure you have a great experience.

Desserts are made fresh daily only using the freshest ingredients.

And the ambiance is the best in town... A must visit, for sushi, tapas, drinks, dessert.

Did I mention it's probably one of the best places in Todos.
Enjoy!

anke

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    43
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria BC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Still talking about this meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were encouraged to come to this restaurant by our rental-owner, Julie, who knows the chef. I would venture to say this is the best meal we have ever eaten and we are foodies!

The atmosphere is ideal - casual yet classy - intimate yet inviting. The service is phenomenal. We went twice during our 4 days in Todos Santos. We cannot comment on the menu because we never looked at it. We asked our server for 'Freestyle'. This meant we were at the chef's mercy. After a few basic questions: seafood vs meat and allergies... we were off. 6 courses of sheer foodie bliss!

Organic salad with a dressing we are still trying to figure out to empanadas served with a pesto that distracts my daily thoughts. A fish dish and scallops beyond compare - they were the size of bagels! The piece d' resistance --the Ahi Tuna !! (insert angelic bells here!) Then desert and drinks and we were in heaven. We never knew what was coming next (you just tell your server when you are done). All dishes are for sharing and we were more than full. All this for less than $100. We sent our compliments to Chef Sergio and he came out to thank us and talk food. We went back and did the same thing with the meat option!

No watered down drinks here! These lime margaritas were the best of the entire trip.

Go on a weekday but if you must go on the weekend - go early (5pm) or late (9pm) because it gets busy.

Oh boy, if you miss this place - you've missed the essence of Todos Santos completely.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Food and great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We love it! Great food, everything there is delicious! Ask for the specials to the Chef! Organic food and the coffee with vanilla is really good as well!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The food was shockingly great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

What a find! The decor is nice and clean, but gave no clue to the amazing quality of the food. I thought my steak was good until I tried my wife's crusted sea bass in tequila jaleno sauce. Some of the best seafood I have had ever, anywhere in the world. Really special. Prices are good and service was great. We talked to other travelers in the restaurant and they were also very, very happy with their meals. The staff was exceptionally welcoming and helpful. We can't wait to go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“You should try this one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

A little pricy like other Todos Restaurants but the food is something special. My wife and I shared three Tapas, Grilled Shrimp w/mango, grilled shrimp w/coconut and Brazilian steak. It was so good we did a return engagement

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casita Tapas - Wine & Sushi Bar also viewed

Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
 
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
 

Been to La Casita Tapas - Wine & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casita Tapas - Wine & Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.