We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PRETTY COOL TOWN AND HOTEL” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel California to your Saves list
Hotel California
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Benito Juarez e/ Morelos y Marquez de Leon | Col. Centro, Todos Santos 23305, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Todos Santos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“PRETTY COOL TOWN AND HOTEL”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We rented a car and took a ride up to Todos Santos, a small town about an hour north of Cabo San Lucas. Urban legend has it that the Hotel California is the one in the Eagles song....not sure if that's true but it was cool to see. Mostly a emporium now, and visitors are not allowed in the actual hotel area, but you get the overall feel for the hotel. The town was quaint and a shopper's paradise...find a great tequila or just purchase some souveniers! Glad we went....very friendly store keepers everywhere!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    88
    35
    10
    9
See reviews for
39
128
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Visited last week while staying in San Jose, drove our rental car up the coast, took about an hr and a half. The little town of Todos Santos was really neat and authentic compared to Cabo. They call it the "magical city", and it really was fun. The main thing to do in town is visit The Hotel California. It is a nice smaller boutique type hotel, we had the most fun visiting the local shops and drinking the famous Jalepeno Margarita at the Hotel California Bar. Definitely something fun to do if you are in the area!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Catch of the day was excellent fish with mango sauce. Ceviche with some kind of spice that killing taste of it. nobody in our group want to eat it.
Taquitos , and Quesadilla were OK.

For that nice place the food should be much better.

Some how all Mexican food in US taste better

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

While we did not stay at the hotel we did visit the bar for an afternoon cocktail and the restaurant for breakfast. On both occasions the service was excellent with great food and drinks. I highly recommend stopping by for a break from the heat as you wander the shops of Todos Santos.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We go to cabo every year and our first stop is hotel California. It's a beautiful drive with the coast line on one side and mountains on the other. We love HC very laid back and great food , drinks, service, ect. We all ways get the penthouse and have dinner on the deck and watch the sun set over the water (about as good as it gets). It's a must go kind of place!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stopped here for dinner. I had the mole chicken - excellent. One of the best moles I've ever had - very bright flavors. Everything was very good. The margaritas were good too and the atmosphere - well, what can you say! It surely earned it's reputation... very cool place.

Room Tip: Only stopped for dinner - did not stay... was afraid we could never check out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

A group of us dined out on the patio one evening. I could not understand why this place proves so popular. The place looks tired, the decor is hideous, the drinks grossly overpriced, the food below average. When it arrived the bill was simply staggering. The staff seemed reluctant to bring bill to me at all. Perhaps they were embarrassed? If you must visit in homage I recommend that you steer clear of the rip off margaritas.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: Benito Juarez e/ Morelos y Marquez de Leon | Col. Centro, Todos Santos 23305, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Todos Santos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the original Hotel California.... We invite you to experience the mystique of this world-renowned hotel located in the charming colonial town of Todos Santos. Just a 45 minute drive from Cabo San Lucas along the newly paved coastal Highway 19, the hotel is now easily accessible...Rated #7 emerging destination in the world - Tripadvisor 2010. Hotel California is a HOTEL not a B&B... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Todos Santos
California Todos Santos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.