We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location,Good place to say.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nelson

Hotel Nelson
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tijuana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Nelson
Save
You added Hotel Nelson to your Saves list
Av. Revolucion 721, Tijuana, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Tijuana
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location,Good place to say.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I've stayed here several times starting in the mid 80's. It's clean and safe but it's no 'resort' the rooms are clean and comfortable but offer little more than that. I have always liked the bar it's a dimly lit laid back local place with cheap drinks and friendly staff it's a perfect place to start your night.
The North side of the hotel is a walk way with some very good restaurants and shops.
Of course if you want the wild nightlife of T.J. you need only to step out of the hotel and walk South on Revolution Blvd and you will find some of the wildest bars around.
I think this is excellent place for somebody looking for a place to shower and recover while partying in Tijuana.

Room Tip: Higher floors will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
1
2
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mount Gambier, Australia
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Had lunch here on our day trip to Tijuana, Mexico & it was really good. Service is fast & the waiters & waitress try real hard to bridge the communication gap. Beers are cheap & all good fun.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicali, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

This is a cheap hotel. you can't expect what offers a resort. about $38 dlls per night, the room & bath are clean, TV has only a few channels with good reception, there's a $10 dlls fee for extra guest, wich is weird. but here comes the nightmare, sundays in the backyard, there are bands and singers that will easily destroy your ears if you are in lowers floors (1st & 2nd).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

When I travel, I talk to locals and usually hire someone or tip someone to give me the rundown on the best value for my money; this is how I found the Nelson. The hotel is very old and slightly run down. However, it is clean, safe, and the staff is very helpful. I have read the bad reviews and the comments about tipping off the cops etc. Here is some obvious advice that goes for any foreign country; especially mexico: you are a guest in their country and just because you live in the USA and make considerably more money, and live a nicer lifestyle, does not give you the right to act like a fool and/or act like the people around you are beneath you or not worth your time. Respect the people and their country and you will be treated exactly the same. If you run around drunk out of your mind and acting like an idiot, you in turn will be treated as such. When I go to Tijuana, I go alone, walk the streets day and night alone, and have never, ever, been treated badly or felt unsafe. Yes, you will be approached constantly by vendors asking you to come into their shop, yes you will be approached and asked for money over and over again. Just politely say "no gracias" and continue walking. Dont be rude or give a dirty look etc. just be NICE to the people that are trying to make a living the best way they can.

Ok, now for the Nelson: the location is fantastic! You will be in the heart of the action of Tijuana. Easy walking distance to anything you could want, from leather goods, great street food, dental care, pharmacys, etc. to prostitutes and gentlemans clubs. There are grocery stores, clothing stores with high dollar items available at half what you would pay in the USA (im not talking knock offs either), and array of trinket/gift shops. There is a restaurant, barbershop and a bar in the hotel. The bar is great and is owned by an american. It is frequented by locals and tourists alike. The owner, and his brother who lives in the usa and comes down to bartend on the weekends mostly, will take great care of you and will give you the lowdown on what you are looking for and where to find. The rooms are minimal, but is clean and the bed is comfortable. A/C works great. You will get two towels, two small soaps, a roll of toilet paper when you check in. The price for myself was $36 a night but your mileage will vary depending upon how you carry yourself I would guess from reading others that paid more. Also, if you get to know the bars owner and his brother they will vouch for you and save you another $10 or so if they like you and your not a jerk. The tv has 3 or 4 american channels that are showtime or something like that. There is a deadbolt and a chain lock for the door as well. There is free wifi but only accessible if you are in the lobby area (ask the front desk for the login code). In the hotel you will not feel unsafe, for that matter you shouldnt feel unsafe outside the hotel as long as you are respectful and treat others how you want to be treated. If you are looking for a high end hotel this is NOT the place for you! However, if you want to be in the heart of the action, mingle with the locals, and really experience Tijuana, this is the place for you.

Tips: Go to the little cafe directly across the courtyard from the motel with outdoor seating. Enjosy a beer and carne asada tacos while people watching. The waitstaff are also helpful with information and will take you to the best places you may be looking for (TIP them for their time!!! $10 for a 1/2 hour of their time will definitely mean a lot to them and you will be surpised how fast your in favor with the locals. I dont mean that you are a mark for people trying to get money from you, I mean your helping them and in turn they will look out for you; mutual respect. Also, head over to the revolution district and look for the outdoor taco stands with all the locals surrounding it. The food is awesome, Right next to the stand is a stand with fresh oysters and clams as well if you like fresh raw seafood.

If you have any questions or need some advice feel free to message me. Have fun in Mexico!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the quietest area of the hotel if noise is an issue. Noise of the outside (not inside) could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

a very nice hotel, great area, no luxury, great juke box in the bar, all 70 music, if thats your thing, have stayed many times, and will stay again, pg.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellensburg, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

I've stayed at the Hotel Nelson twice and will return. Nothing fancy, mind you, but clean, good beds and a great value. I liked it's central location next to the arch, it's lively music in the area and choice of restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
currently Bucharest
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

yes we stayed there for 1 night only,.
The Tijuana police were raided by the federal"s - federal police, and they took all thier guns away from them , like little spoiled children, they were not honest, responsible enough, to keep their weapons!
Probably a direct result of complaints of attempted killins,..

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelson

Address: Av. Revolucion 721, Tijuana, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Tijuana
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Tijuana
Number of rooms: 92
Also Known As:
Nelson Hotel Tijuana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nelson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.