We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“be back soon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana to your Saves list
Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Jose Maria Velazco 1409 A | Zona Urbana Rio, Tijuana 22320 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Tijuana
Riverside, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“be back soon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Came here for the 4th of July 2014 every time I come here I always enjoy being here friendly service the restaurant great food and their rooms are clean. And they are convenience to restaurants nightclubs and a taxi across the street if you need one. But I can say they do need a pool they need to buy the property next door and that hotel would be complete.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel d, E-Commerce at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Receive a warm welcome from everyone working at the Hotel Real DEL RIO. We are glad we covered your accommodation needs during your visit. Thank you very much for your positive feedback and we hope to be your preferred choice at your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    45
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
14
27
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We traveled to Tijuana for medical tourism with Dr. Campos Leon (by far, the BEST plastic surgeon.) This hotel was recommended to us by my surgeon, as it is just two blocks from the clinic.

The service here was exceptional. Because I had surgery, we didn't leave the hotel very much, so we ate just about every meal there and spent most of our days in the room. We had excellent service from Kathy and Pedro in the restaurant. They were very accomodating to our requests and always very quick.

We don't speak any Spanish but there was always a hotel employee that was able to communicate with us in English.

I did read previous reviews, so we brought our own towels to use. The beds are very firm and the pillows are pretty small, but other than that we had no complaints about our room. The bathroom was great, the shower is a walk in shower and is large enough to move around. They do provide 2 bottles of water in the room every day, as well.

There was never a time we felt uncomfortable or unsafe in the area or in the hotel. We ventured out and walked a few blocks at times, during daylight of course. As a previous review mentions, there are always taxis across the street to take you to other destinations.

If you are traveling to Tijuana for medical tourism, I highly recommended Hotel Real del Rio. They made our experience very accessible and easy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel d, E-Commerce at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
In this way receive a warm welcome from everyone working at the Hotel Real DEL RIO. We are glad that cover your accommodation needs during your visit. Thank you very much for your positive feedback and we hope to be your preferred choice at your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipomo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Reasonably priced, very clean & comfortable and close to the medical district. Will stay here again when next I need to go down. Cabs right across from the main entrance to take you where ever you want to go.

Room Tip: Don't think there is a swimming pool or spa, but I may be wrong. We were not interested in eithe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel d, E-Commerce at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Greetings from everyone working at the Hotel Real DEL RIO. We are glad to have cover your needs during your visit. Thank you for your positive feedback and we hope to be your preferred choice at your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Hotel charges 19% in addition to room base rate. You can only pay in full through their website with a credit card. If you book using a third party, you will need to pay at check-in (cash or credit). Popular medical tourism hotel close to many medical offices.

Room Tip: Third party booking may not get the best room.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel d, E-Commerce at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Greetings from everyone at Hotel Real DEL RIO. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to be your preferred choice at your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This hotel is a hidden gem located in the Zone Rio area. Service was excellent, the rooms were first rate and I loved the bar. The unexpected thing about this hotel is the food is really good which I would never expect from a hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel d, E-Commerce at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
By this means receive a warm greeting from everyone working in Hotel Real DEL RIO. We are delighted that we covered your accommodation needs. Thank you very much for your feedback and hope to be your preferred choice at your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I loved this hotel. It was a find on priceline about $60 bucks a night for a double. It was modern, clean and well-located. It was a quick cab ride to the nightlife on the Avenida de la Revolucion. We went jogging in the morning in the area and everything was great. Free wi-fi in all the rooms. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor or above to get a good view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel d, E-Commerce at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
By this means receive a warm greeting from everyone working in Hotel Real DEL RIO. We are delighted that we covered your accommodation needs. Thank you very much for your feedback and hope to be your preferred choice at your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The hotel is nice and modern. To find it, it was a bit tricky, but I'm sure if you call them, they can guide you. The breakfast was very yummy and reasonably price. The only thing I would suggest is getting softer towels. They were a bit too harsh... Other than that, it was a comfortable stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel d, E-Commerce at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Sorry you had a hard time getting to the Hotel, but as some might say “Getting there is half the fun"

We appreciate that you took the time to share your opinion on clarifying the details of your visit and for giving your comments of your stay and will consider your opinion for improving the future service of our Hotel. We hope to be your preferred choice at your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tijuana hotels
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Tijuana
Hyatt Place Tijuana
#1 of 45 in Tijuana
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
6.5 mi away
Aqua Rio Hotel
Aqua Rio Hotel
#5 of 45 in Tijuana
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lucerna Tijuana
Lucerna Tijuana
#2 of 45 in Tijuana
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Palacio Azteca Hotel
Palacio Azteca Hotel
#10 of 45 in Tijuana
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marriott Tijuana
Marriott Tijuana
#6 of 45 in Tijuana
4.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda del Rio
Hacienda del Rio
#16 of 45 in Tijuana
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana

Address: Av. Jose Maria Velazco 1409 A | Zona Urbana Rio, Tijuana 22320, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Tijuana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Tijuana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.