We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value & Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana to your Saves list
Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Jose Maria Velazco 1409 A | Zona Urbana Rio, Tijuana 22320 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Tijuana
Harlingen, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Value & Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I loved this hotel. It was a find on priceline about $60 bucks a night for a double. It was modern, clean and well-located. It was a quick cab ride to the nightlife on the Avenida de la Revolucion. We went jogging in the morning in the area and everything was great. Free wi-fi in all the rooms. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor or above to get a good view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel d, E-Commerce at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
By this means receive a warm greeting from everyone working in Hotel Real DEL RIO. We are delighted that we covered your accommodation needs. Thank you very much for your feedback and hope to be your preferred choice at your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    37
    10
    8
    6
See reviews for
8
26
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The hotel is nice and modern. To find it, it was a bit tricky, but I'm sure if you call them, they can guide you. The breakfast was very yummy and reasonably price. The only thing I would suggest is getting softer towels. They were a bit too harsh... Other than that, it was a comfortable stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel d, E-Commerce at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Sorry you had a hard time getting to the Hotel, but as some might say “Getting there is half the fun"

We appreciate that you took the time to share your opinion on clarifying the details of your visit and for giving your comments of your stay and will consider your opinion for improving the future service of our Hotel. We hope to be your preferred choice at your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I am a frequent traveler to Tijuana. This time I needed to find the nicest hotel possible at around 75 dollars a night as I was needing 2-3 rooms. Hotel Real del Rio's website showed some pretty nice modern bedrooms and they boasted a policy in place to maintain the hotels integrity. Through their website I got a pretty decent rate using my AAA discount. My son got a bloody nose and got some blood on the sheets. When I went to pay my bill at the end of our 4 night stay (3 rooms) I was charged 500 pesos (about $40 USD) for laundry service on the sheets! Something about them not having onsite laundry service. If it weren't for this outrageous charge at the end of my stay, I would have said the hotel was a really good price for the room we stayed in. I'm not staying here again - how can i guarantee no stains on the bedding with a 3 year old? Pros: Free WIFI, Free Parking, Convenient Location, Clean Room, AAA rate gives you a decent rate
Cons: No in room Fridge available at all, 3 adult max per room (even for a 2 bed room), not enough storage if on extended stay, small dingy raspy towels, no wash clothes, loud AC, not enough light in room, they will CHARGE for any type of stain on bedding, no pool

Room Tip: use AAA discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel d, E-Commerce at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
We appreciate that you took the time to share your opinion on Clarifying the details of your visit and for giving your comments of your stay and will consider your opinion for improving the future service of our Hotel. We hope to be your preferred choice at your next visit.
Complying with international standards of quality and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed here on January 4th. The hotel has a restaurant and bar. Tried all of the services the hotel had to offer and was very satisfactory. The bar is great, plays alot of techno but fairly empty and quiet for a Saturday night. I would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel d, E-Commerce at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
By this means receive a warm greeting from everyone working in Hotel Real DEL RIO. We are delighted that we covered your accommodation needs. Thank you very much for your feedback and hope to be your preferred choice at your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I went to Tijuana for one week's trip and lives several different hotels. I booked this hotel online before I went there, it's very close to the boarder between America and Mexico. I paid $68 of a single room with a king size bed, it's a nice room with a nice desk, good WIFI, safe box. It worth the money I paid.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel d, Comercio Electronico at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Google Translation
Agradecemos que se tomaron el tiempo para compartir su opinión. Por este medio recibe un cordial saludo de todos los que trabajan en Hotel Real DEL RIO. Aclarando los detalles de su visita, fue atendido por nuestro encargado de recepción y se Muchas gracias por dar sus comentarios de su visita y teniendo en cuenta su opinion para mejorar el servicio futuro. Esperamos ser su opción preferida en su próxima visita.
Cumpliendo con los estándares internacionales de calidad y servicio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Let me start this review by saying that I hardly ever write bad reviews. I am top contributor in TripAdvisor I work for Expedia, I travel a lot and as a Mexican with regret I can say this is one of the worst hotels Ive ever stayed in.

First the PROs:
- Free WiFi
- Free Parking

now the CONS (I will elaborate more on some points):
a) Service is BAD, and I mean, BAD, dont even try to ask for fresh towels
b) To put it in a few words, this hotel is hooker/prostitute friendly
c) Overpriced, specially by having amazing hotels like Camino Real 1 block away
d) Rooms are old, carpets are stained and there's no suite amenities (fridge, microwave)
e) Facilities like A/C are OLD and noisy.

Now let me elaborate:

a) Service is BAD, and I mean, BAD:
After a long day visiting "La Ruta del Vino" a wine tour, we came back and took a late shower, towels are like sandpaper but anyways. We woke up late (we had a wedding that day) and called house keeping for some towels, which we were denied to, they didnt have any (yeah right) and they were waiting for them to come from outsourced laundry... housekeeping lady was RUDE, and simply denied to help my wife, at that time I called front desk and argue with the guy in order to get towels, its the first time in my life I BEG for towels. after 15 to 20 minutes a rude bellboy comes, and gives me ONE towel, which my wife used.. end of the story I had to wait until evening to shower and use a fresh towel, of course my room was never cleaned and housekeeping only showed a day later.

b) To put it in a few words, this hotel is hooker/prostitute friendly
We saw 3 prostitutes arrive to the lounge bar to "visit" other guests, this I find extremely inappropriate for a "decent" hotel

c) d) and e) are self explanatory, this hotel is simply something I would NEVER use again and would NEVER recommend,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I came to Tijuana by myself to have some dental work done. ALL of my friends and family were worried about me (except my hubby who knows that I am adventurous). This hotel was chosen because of its price and proximity to my dentist. It is located in the Zona Rio and is close to restaurants, cinemas, banks and clubs. The very modern décor carries through from the hotel rooms to the lobby décor - it's not my particular taste but for those who like modern styling, this hotel is perfect. My room was a little dark with the blackout curtains closed but task lighting is adequate. There were a few stains on the carpet but not enough to prevent me from enjoying my stay. For some reason, washcloths were not provided but this wasn't a problem since I travel with my own loofa. They have Wi-Fi and provide the password to incoming guests. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Although I had the continental breakfast coupon, I needed a special meal because my teeth were sensitive. The waiter in the restaurant worked with the chef to create a soft (yet delicious) breakfast for less than $7.00 U.S.! The only suggestions I would have would be to include washcloths, professionally steam clean the carpets and add more ceiling light fixtures. I have more work that needs to be done and the Real del Rio will be my hotel of choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana

Address: Av. Jose Maria Velazco 1409 A | Zona Urbana Rio, Tijuana 22320 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Tijuana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Tijuana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.