We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with affordable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana to your Saves list
Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Jose Maria Velazco 1409 A | Zona Urbana Rio, Tijuana 22320 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Tijuana
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Great hotel with affordable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I went to Tijuana for one week's trip and lives several different hotels. I booked this hotel online before I went there, it's very close to the boarder between America and Mexico. I paid $68 of a single room with a king size bed, it's a nice room with a nice desk, good WIFI, safe box. It worth the money I paid.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel d, Comercio Electronico at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Google Translation
Agradecemos que se tomaron el tiempo para compartir su opinión. Por este medio recibe un cordial saludo de todos los que trabajan en Hotel Real DEL RIO. Aclarando los detalles de su visita, fue atendido por nuestro encargado de recepción y se Muchas gracias por dar sus comentarios de su visita y teniendo en cuenta su opinion para mejorar el servicio futuro. Esperamos ser su opción preferida en su próxima visita.
Cumpliendo con los estándares internacionales de calidad y servicio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    37
    10
    8
    6
See reviews for
8
26
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Let me start this review by saying that I hardly ever write bad reviews. I am top contributor in TripAdvisor I work for Expedia, I travel a lot and as a Mexican with regret I can say this is one of the worst hotels Ive ever stayed in.

First the PROs:
- Free WiFi
- Free Parking

now the CONS (I will elaborate more on some points):
a) Service is BAD, and I mean, BAD, dont even try to ask for fresh towels
b) To put it in a few words, this hotel is hooker/prostitute friendly
c) Overpriced, specially by having amazing hotels like Camino Real 1 block away
d) Rooms are old, carpets are stained and there's no suite amenities (fridge, microwave)
e) Facilities like A/C are OLD and noisy.

Now let me elaborate:

a) Service is BAD, and I mean, BAD:
After a long day visiting "La Ruta del Vino" a wine tour, we came back and took a late shower, towels are like sandpaper but anyways. We woke up late (we had a wedding that day) and called house keeping for some towels, which we were denied to, they didnt have any (yeah right) and they were waiting for them to come from outsourced laundry... housekeeping lady was RUDE, and simply denied to help my wife, at that time I called front desk and argue with the guy in order to get towels, its the first time in my life I BEG for towels. after 15 to 20 minutes a rude bellboy comes, and gives me ONE towel, which my wife used.. end of the story I had to wait until evening to shower and use a fresh towel, of course my room was never cleaned and housekeeping only showed a day later.

b) To put it in a few words, this hotel is hooker/prostitute friendly
We saw 3 prostitutes arrive to the lounge bar to "visit" other guests, this I find extremely inappropriate for a "decent" hotel

c) d) and e) are self explanatory, this hotel is simply something I would NEVER use again and would NEVER recommend,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I came to Tijuana by myself to have some dental work done. ALL of my friends and family were worried about me (except my hubby who knows that I am adventurous). This hotel was chosen because of its price and proximity to my dentist. It is located in the Zona Rio and is close to restaurants, cinemas, banks and clubs. The very modern décor carries through from the hotel rooms to the lobby décor - it's not my particular taste but for those who like modern styling, this hotel is perfect. My room was a little dark with the blackout curtains closed but task lighting is adequate. There were a few stains on the carpet but not enough to prevent me from enjoying my stay. For some reason, washcloths were not provided but this wasn't a problem since I travel with my own loofa. They have Wi-Fi and provide the password to incoming guests. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Although I had the continental breakfast coupon, I needed a special meal because my teeth were sensitive. The waiter in the restaurant worked with the chef to create a soft (yet delicious) breakfast for less than $7.00 U.S.! The only suggestions I would have would be to include washcloths, professionally steam clean the carpets and add more ceiling light fixtures. I have more work that needs to be done and the Real del Rio will be my hotel of choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed one night at this hotel. The check in was fast and it was obvious that they had security measures in place. Felt Safe at this location. The hotel looks average from the outside but the inside rooms are very clean and very nice looking. Its a bit tricky getting to the hotel because of the one way streets and lack of signs. The parking is free, and it has 24/7 security so its safe.
Very nice hotel, staff very nice. No complaints, just stayed one night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a very nice hotel.It is very close to Zona Rio which is the center where there is alot of restaurants and a theater there. Customer service is great and the staff is very friendly. The hotel is near everything, and the hotel is very clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel d, Comercio Electronico at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Google Translation
Recibe un cordial saludo de todos los que trabajan en Hotel Real DEL RIO, Muchas gracias por dar su opinión y esperamos ser su opción preferida en su próxima visita.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights
They charged 10dollars from a lady that used the towel and her make up was shown on it
We got a very bad service at the front desk charging extra money on breakfast which we have not been told before and the food was very poor.
Very unpleasant service all our staying .
The location is the best part otherwise not recommended

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel d, General Manager at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
The hotel offers as an added value continental breakfast, in some rates, the same as international travelers know what this breakfast contains, and to Customer we explain in the front desk the content and show it on restaurant, prompted BEFORE requesting the service and the waiter returns to explain this type and what this breakfast includes.

the charge for towels is never correct use, as we have at your disposal two full of bath towels and 1 hand.

guests that give a different use to dry your hands and/or body such as use of clean shoes, use of hair dye application, or use it as napkin to clean blood, damage to the material(towel) being impossible to recover for use with the following guests. and prevents to continue offering attractive rates for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

From the moment we walked in until we checked out we were very pleased. The hotel has a very modern look to it with oversize seating in the lobby. The room had 2 queen size beds, a nice view and everything was clean and comfortable. An incredible shower. We enjoyed a few hours on the terrace with only not having the washrooms there open being an annoyance. The restaurant was not badly priced and the food was ok and a bit greasy. The staff throughout the hotel could not do enough for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel d, e-Commerce at Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience.
By this means receive a cordial greeting, of all who work at HOTEL REAL DEL RIO, Thanking you for giving your point of view during your stay and taking them in to account, to improve Future service. We hope to be your preferred choice in your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana

Address: Av. Jose Maria Velazco 1409 A | Zona Urbana Rio, Tijuana 22320 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Tijuana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Tijuana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Real del Rio Tijuana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.