We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny & smelly hotel room - terrible experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of City Junior Tijuana Otay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added City Junior Tijuana Otay to your Saves list
City Junior Tijuana Otay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd. Lazaro Cardenas #16002 | Esq. Prol. Av. Universidad, Tijuana 22427, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Tijuana
Long Beach, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tiny & smelly hotel room - terrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We had a 6:30am flight from Tijuana airport, so we were looking for a cheap hotel for my teenage kids & I to spend the night before the flight. I chose this hotel because it seemed like a good deal, looked new, and they have a 3 bed configuration (with a bunkbed) that seemed to work for us.

Unfurtunately it was a terrible experience - the room is tiny & cramped, and even though it is a relatively new hotel, it's already falling apart - there was a really BAD SMELL in the room - like the bathroom plumbing was broken, and the room was hot.

In addition, there is a really cheap feeling overall... Got there late & left early (4:30 am), so didn't request a room change. I should have done it...

Never again will I stay there!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlen C, Guest Relations Manager at City Junior Tijuana Otay, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest

First of all I want to offer you an apology for any inconvenience during your stay in reference with the incident with the room as this helps us to identify our areas of opportunity and work on them to improve the quality of our services; we reported that we have implemented corrective action in relation to your comment.
Waiting us the chance to have your preference and serve you as you deserve.
We are at your service.
GREETINGS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
4
5
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I had a group stay here on a recent service trip to Tijuana. We were looking for someplace affordable and safe, and that was the criteria. This place exceeded my expectations. The facade is fairly nice. The breakfast was decent. The customer service was spot on. And the beds, twins, were simply but comfortable. The air conditioner worked great. You get the point. To me, given the price you pay, you can't expect five star service. If you go in expecting something simple, clean, and reliable, I think you'll be happy with the place. That was my experience at least!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ControlCalidad, Guest Relations Manager at City Junior Tijuana Otay, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Good afternoon Patrick.

Thanks for contact us we are thanks for your comments and its plased to know that the Hotel City Junior Tijuana did with your expectatives of comfort and service and make you very comfortable

Looking foward for your next visit soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a relatively new hotel but it's already falling appart. Fixtures are lousy, furniture is odd. There's a really cheap feeling overall. It's very close to the airport though... I can't imagine staying here for some other reason than being 5 minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ControlCalidad, Guest Relations Manager at City Junior Tijuana Otay, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Estimate guest:
It is gratifaying to say hello and also thanks for you choosing us to our hotel City Junior Tijuana Otay will consider your comments.

We say goodbye to you, reiterating our commiment to continue improve.

THANKS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardena, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Frequently stay here for business purposes. Rooms are small, clean and reasonable. Gets the job done for the business traveler. I would not recomend it for a vacation.

Room Tip: 4/2012 resturante construction underway. The noise on the ground floor can be heard throughout the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalidadyServicio, Guest Relations Manager at City Junior Tijuana Otay, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
It is our pleasure to host you in City Junior Tijuana. We are very glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay and that our service meets your needs when in business trips. If there is anything else that you consider will make your stay more pleasant please do let us know. We hope to host you again soon either in Mexico city or in any of our 64 properties around Mexico.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Junior Tijuana Otay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Junior Tijuana Otay

Address: Blvd. Lazaro Cardenas #16002 | Esq. Prol. Av. Universidad, Tijuana 22427, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Tijuana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Tijuana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Junior Tijuana Otay 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your City Junior Tijuana Otay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Junior Tijuana Otay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.