We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and affordable hotel in the heart of Tijuana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ticuan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ticuan to your Saves list
Hotel Ticuan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 8va #8190 | Zona Centro, Tijuana 22000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Tijuana
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely and affordable hotel in the heart of Tijuana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

What a pleasant surprise! This is a great hotel in downtown Tijuana. Rooms were clean and well appointed. I stayed in a suite which had an amazing jacuzzi tub and very comfy bed. I did not eat at the restaurant though it looked lovely. You can also order room service and there is free parking. Amazing value for the price. It's right in the Zona Centro where all the bars and clubs are located if that's your thing...but if it's not it can be a bit loud at night as the music and festivities can be heard in the room...didn't bother me since I did a little partying myself! Would definitely recommend to anyone who needs a nice, convenient and affordable place to stay in Tijuana.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    33
    8
    6
    6
See reviews for
12
34
37
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark, Wi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Been staying here since its opening. Still the same clean room and good service. Excellent beer prices in the bar. Its still new like the day it opened.Everybody is helpfull and most of the staff speaks English.

Room Tip: Stay on the east side ( south side) of the hotel. The noise from Las Pulgas is a little loud on week...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karratha
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Our first time to Tijuana from Australia and what a surprise this hotel is. Definately 4 star. The room is excellent, very clean and fitted out very nice. We have 2 double beds which are very comfortable.
The staff are friendly and helpful, nothing has been too much to ask. A highlight is definately the restaurant where the food tastes great, servings are huge if thats your thing and the service is excellent. Price is also fantastic, garlic shrimp and a couple of beers for less than $20 certainly does it for me.
As we do not speak spanish we were worried communication would be a problem but most of the staff speak english and if those you are speaking to don't then some one who does is not far away.
As we were not here for a holiday we did not get to see the sights so cannot comment on the location in this regard. There is a money changer 30m away if you wish to change for Pesos. I would recommend this as tips to the staff would be appreciated in the local currency and believe me unlike in some other hotels you will not mind tipping as the service is great. I do not know if changing money from aussie dollars would be a problem as we are carrying USD but I would assume as they are accredited then this should be ok. Please chevk before you arrive if this is the what you would like to do.
Our only complaint and this did not spoil our stay was that there is not a fridge in the room. A fridge would be appreciated but as ice is available it was not a big deal.
If we are ever back in this part of the world again we will be staying here and would encourage anyone coming to Tijuana to give this place a go, You will not be disappointed

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Boyfriend and I stayed here over the weekend. Was not expecting such a great place for what we paid. The room was beautiful, luxurious, SO clean, had a vanity area, the bed was ridiculously comfortable-- I can go on forever!

We were so happy with El Ticuan we already booked another visit next month!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I have stayed at the Ticuan at least three times before, and will continue to stay there when I come over on work from the US. The hotel is a short 5 minute drive by taxi ($5) once you cross over the border.

Upon arrival, I have always been greeted with a smile. Not everyone at the front counter speaks english, but if they sense that you do not speak Spanish, an english speaking receptionist will come up to you. I did feel uncomfortable at first when my driver's license and my credit card were copied, but after checking my bank statements, I saw no extra charges.

I have always stayed in a single room with a King bed. The rooms are spacious, with a small table to eat a meal, and two chairs. There is also one comfortable chair.

I have always ordered room service when I was there, and the quality and quantity of food is very good, with prices far cheaper than the US. The plates always arrived with cling film over it, for protection. It would be good if hot tea or coffee was served in a china mug, instead of a styrofoam cup - it really does not fit the the professionally presented food that arrives with it.

A word of caution to all you souvenir hunters....when checking out, they make you wait a couple of minutes to count the towels and other items in your room before you leave. I have always noticed that this well expedited, and have had no problem with it.

I definitely like this place, and would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Tijuana is a fun place to go and I am a frequent visitor. Whenever I stay overnight in Tijuana, I stay at Hotel Ticuan. The hotel is very clean and nice, the food is quite good and the staff is very friendly. I park in San Ysidro and walk across the border. The hotel is located in Zona Centro and is about 10 minutes from the border by taxi. At current exchange rates a basic room costs about $72. What a bargain!!

Room Tip: The hotel is adjacent to Las Pulgas, a popular Tijuana dance club. On Saturday nights the party goes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Beautiful hotel!! Amazing cafe, staff spoke fluent English and were very polite. Rooms were better than most motels I have stayed at in the past. I was there for a surgery and the nurses took wonderful care of me.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ticuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ticuan

Address: Calle 8va #8190 | Zona Centro, Tijuana 22000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Tijuana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Tijuana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ticuan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NEWEST HOTEL in Tijuana, Baja California, Mexico! Built on the Historic Revolucion Avenue in downtown(Centro), Hotel Ticuan brings luxury and 5 Star Service and offers great food at our NEW Restaurant "Albaca". At Hotel Ticuan you can count on FREE WI-FI or FREE use of our business center! We also have FREE 24HR parking with security! Join us for ALL sporting events were we have 8 LED 55INCH TV"S!!! SEE YOU HERE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ticuan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ticuan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.