We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in heart of Tijuana” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino to your Saves list
Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Oriente 9211 | Zona del Rio, Tijuana 22320, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Tijuana
Yorba Linda
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Oasis in heart of Tijuana”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Very clean rooms with first class service. We were in Tijuana for business and were able to relax and recharge in the evenings. The lively casino was available for those of us who wanted the stimulation, as well as areas of quiet for others. The rooms were a welcome sight in the evenings.
An island of comfort in a sea of confusion and distraction.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    26
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
14
18
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

only bad thing was that they were fully booked and we arrived early after my husband had gastric sleeve surgery so we ate at the buffet while waiting for a room to be cleaned and our bathroom commode needed a new valve to flush properly. these were minor issues considering they gave us complimentary drinks and casino coupons to use during our stay. The room was very spacious and clean and Tony was so great and knowledgeable at the front door and even took us shopping on the golf cart to the market nearby. the restaurant staff knew my husband was on a special diet and were very courteous to our needs. The steak tampiquena was so delicious I ordered it twice and room service was good.

Room Tip: I wish they had a pool but other than that our stay was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed here in the past, it is nice, clean, but a bit Pricey for the Area.
The Food in the Restaurant was real good, with one of the Best Hambergers
I ever Had. It is not far to the Shopping areas, on Revalution Bl, But also Great Shopping
Behind Revolution in the Business district, and prices will be better, it is the Upper to Middle Class section, and has old churches and a Nice Old style Park with Entertainment.


Ritchie H.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I took a second honeymoon here. It was a wonderful stay. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Food was great and our room was beautiful. I was excepting loud noise but we stayed on,the 4th floor and we were able to sleep. Overall I would give them 10s.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

What a disappointment! Once you open the doors to the lobby you are greeted by the cigarette smoky air that is rushing to escape. That should have been an indication for me to turn around and find a better hotel, but the room could not be cancelled. When I inquired about the smoke I was informed the casino is smoke free. That was true only for the casino next to the open resturant, but there is also an adjacent casino room for smokers. Unfortunately they doors are never closed so all the smoke lingers throughout the entire open area. So if you are a smoker, you'll love it.

Note: a $50.00 deposit is also required for any incidental which is not disclosed until checking-in.

The rooms are adequate and in need of renovations. Not compairable to the pictures shown, but that is to be expected. You can see that in the décor, dingy grout in the shower, and the soiled carpet in the room and hallways. Don’t expect a good night sleep. The constant ringing and chimes from the slot machines and occasional uproars from customers can be heard in the room. If that is not enough the constant traffic noise of cars passing by on all the enterchanges can be heard.
The food was very disappointing. The filet mignon with steam vegetable was very bland and not cooked properly. Cheese is put into everything, the potatoes, soup, sandwiches, eggs. Service was slow and some of the staff members just ignore you when trying to ask for help. The breakfast was “supposed” to be included, inquire during check-in otherwise.....

Upon check-out we were given another surprise, we were charged for making local phone calls. Only the first one is free, the rest you have to pay for. That was not what we were told from the hotel operator and nowhere is that disclosed to you, not even in the hotel handbook.
Also note that the tag on the bottle water stating the bottle water is complimentary is deceiving, only the hotel labeled water is, not the one with the tag stating complimentary.

This establishment does not get a good endorsement and I’d suggest looking/researching other places.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms, noise from the slots ring throughout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owensboro
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

service , food ,rooms,wifi,staff one of the best i have come across in the hotel industry
Will stay again very friendly staff and the General Manager .



“Wonderful Experience”


Pueblo Amigo Hotel was the perfect place to for me and friens to stay while visiting in Tijuana. The hotel is extremely close to the border crossing which made it very easy to find after entering the country. The staff was extremely accommodating and provided us with excellent service during our three-day stay. If you are in Tijuana...
more

Room Tip: all rooms great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

My sister and I stayed here because of the airport being closed due to fog. The service was really good, the front desk accommodated us with a room even though it was still early. The room was not very good, the beds were comfortable but the carpet was old and needed cleaning and the decor was really dated. It was okay to stay in just to get some much needed sleep after being up all night trying to fly out, and I really liked the way the rooms were all faced towards the middle of the hotel where the action was. They had a really fun bar area and a nice buffet. I guess I would stay there if ever I get fogged in again, which I hope never to repeat!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino

Address: Via Oriente 9211 | Zona del Rio, Tijuana 22320, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Tijuana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Tijuana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pueblo Amigo Plaza Hotel & Casino is ideally situated in the exclusive Zona Río, part of the most important commercial and financial area in the city of Tijuana. It is the closest hotel to the U.S. border and is within minutes of strategic points such as Tijuana's International Airport and the city of San Diego.Hotel Pueblo Amigo boasts the famous "El Patio Restaurant" its daily breakfast buffet is traditional and well renown by locals. The prpperty offers unique in-house entertainment featuring a Sports Center, Casino and gaming rooms. High Technology is also available with WiFi In-Rooms and most public areas. We are happy to provide many other amenities including: a bilingual staff, private parking, round-the-clock security, Meeting and Banquet Rooms and a free shuttle to the U.S. border. Near the Hotel, there are two of the main hottest spots for dancing and enjoying the music of the moment, Alebrijes and Pasha! the best antros as of today, only at Pueblo Amigo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza And Casino
Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza Tijuana
Pueblo Amigo Hotel
Pueblo Amigo Tijuana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pueblo Amigo Plaza & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.