We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to improve” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Tijuana Zona Rio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Tijuana Zona Rio to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Tijuana Zona Rio
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de los Heroes 18818 | Zona Rio, Tijuana 22320, Mexico (Formerly Fiesta Inn Tijuana)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Tijuana
Mexicali, Mexico
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Needs to improve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Being here several times last year, everything fine, but I came back and found that the facilities and rooms are dirty and smelly. Stayed in a suite and everything inside was old and dusty.

Location and service are excellent but needs to improve asap on the cleanliness. Must say that the breakfast buffet was way better than before, with more options to choose from and great service.

This used to be a very good hotel but needs to improve, in the meantime will look for another place to stay in Tijuana.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that do not face to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José Enrique C, Manager at Holiday Inn Tijuana Zona Rio, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Mr. Fernandez,

We appreciate the time it you took to send us your comments about the experience during your last stay with us and I avail the opportunity to ask for an apologize for the inconvenience we are taking corrective action and we expect you give us the chance to serve you again in future.

Sincerely

José Enrique Colmenares Alcocer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    14
    8
    5
See reviews for
7
6
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maputo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

When we arrived at the hotel without a reservation, we were told, sorry, all booked. When we asked for help finding an alternate hotel, they gave us the Internet code to let us search on line in their lobby. When we found another hotel, they not only gave us directions, they printed us a map to the competing hotel! What did they lose by helping us out? Nothing. What did they gain? Great customer relations, and this positive review of a hotel we didn't even have the pleasure of staying in (yet)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José Enrique C, Manager at Holiday Inn Tijuana Zona Rio, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Mr. Rockhurst

We appreciate your comments and we hope to the opportunity to serve you at your next visit to Tijuana


Sincerely

José Enrique Colmenares Alcocer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I gave this hotel a two star based on its location as well as how great the staff were at this hotel but that's about where it stops. The hotel is located pretty close to the US Border (San Ysidro). Its about an 80 peso cab ride to the border and $15 to the airport. The hotel itself is ok, but the room was disgusting!!! The carpet had not been vacuumed in God knows how long. There were toe nails all over the carpet. The toilets had not been cleaned well. My little boy woke up with some sort of bites (hope they weren't bed bugs). We booked on priceline and got this pretty cheap so I am glad I didn't pay full price for this room. I have stayed at the Marriott in Tijuana which is much nicer. I will be sure to book there next time.

Room Tip: Hotel has a breakfast buffet from 6am to 9am. Request rooms away from elevator as it can be very lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Tijuana Zona Rio, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Julian V,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

I'm platinum member and my upgrade was the noisest room in the hotel, 3rd floor last corner face the avenues? What a upgrade!
The hotel is far from everything. You need a car or cab to get to restaurants in zona Rio area. Close to the airport 10 minutes.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José Enrique C, Manager at Holiday Inn Tijuana Zona Rio, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Mr. OCZ, we appreciate the time it you took to send us the comments about your experience on you last stay in our hotel, we are taking corrective actions in the case and we hope to serve you in your next visit to Tijuana

Sincerely

José Enrique Colmenares Alcocer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel is easy to find (although a little tricky to get to) and has secure parking and really good meals. The rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable. The service was top notch and we would stay there agin.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I live in San Diego and I have stayed at this Holiday Inn 4 times. It's clean, the rooms are nice. The service is good. They have WiFi which is very important to me because it's the only way I can make calls down there. I can't understand the reviews complaining about the noise from the street, because I never noticed any noise that was excessive. I wish I was staying there on the night of the "BIMBO" convention mentioned in a previous review. :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desert Hot Springs, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My friend and I spent only one night (Christmas Eve); the staff was in Christmas mode and very attentive, they went out of their way to tend to us. However, I have to say that their buffet breakfast was good and varied but a bit overpriced ($18.00.) We checked out their amenities and they looked clean and well taken care of. The Spa was nice & hot; it felt good after traveling by car for a while, it rested us and helped us be in good shape for the Christmas Eve party. We got a quote for $60.00 for two beds, and they wind up charging us $70; well we did not make an internet reservation, so their local price was fair and it appeared to be government approved. Over all we were happy and comfortable.

Room Tip: Make your reservation via internet, it's less costly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Tijuana Zona Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Tijuana Zona Rio

Address: Paseo de los Heroes 18818 | Zona Rio, Tijuana 22320, Mexico (Formerly Fiesta Inn Tijuana)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Tijuana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Tijuana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Tijuana Zona Rio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Tijuana Zona Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiesta Inn Tijuana Hotel Tijuana
Fiesta Hotel Tijuana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Tijuana Zona Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.