We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IT was just okay...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda del Rio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hacienda del Rio to your Saves list
Hacienda del Rio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd Rodolfo Sanchez Taboada 1606 | Zona Rio, Tijuana 22420, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Tijuana
PHX
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“IT was just okay...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The staff were very kind and helpful, but I found the room to be dark, as I was using the room as a place to recovery after a procedure I had done while in TJ. Since it's more like a Motel, with the windows facing right out to the walkway, I was unable to have the curtains drawn. Bedspreads were dated, and there was no English speaking TV channels just a sporadic old rerun every so often that played over and over...The restaurant on site is nice, but the "free breakfast" consist of two pieces of white bread toasted with a packet of grape jelly, and a very small paper thin triangle of watermelon, cantaloupe and papaya, maybe 1oz in total weight, plus a cup of coffee...I have had a continental breakfast in almost every major city in the world and this one wins hands down as the worst. The noise is another thing that one must deal with. I learned that if I had my air conditioner on full blast it helps drown out some of it. But be ready to wake early as the guest start leaving and slamming doors very early. I found the beds to be fine, not great but one that I was able to finally get to sleep on after the near by establishments closed...They do offer a compliantly van transportation so that's a plus...All in all, it was just a okay stay....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
8
2
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama Province, Panama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

I been here over a month in business and have tried all the major hotels here. If you like to save and good internet look no further. Now they offer a free continental breakfast but its only friut and toast and unless your in a diet i suggest you order real bk. Other than that its very central free transportation from hotels to malls which is good. Great for business minded people.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Motel 6 and below. Beds are so so, not nearly as confortable as they should be; staff not very friendly, actually kind of stand-offish; NOISE, OMG! Morning is mandatory wake up with the traffice, cleaning carts and staff yelling right in front of the windows.

SORRY, THIS PLACE SUCKS...IT'S A NEVER GO BACK FOR ME.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed here this past Saturday. I live close by this city, but because I didn't wanted to go across the border all drunk I decided to stay at this hotel. I have to say that is very well located and is basic. Here it goes for the bad part: 1.- They rent the pool for birthday parties! yes and you have to imagine how the small parking lot gets. Drunks everywhere, im sorry to say this but you will not be able to sleep with the kind of people that stay here. Children and moms yelling at them all around the hotel. Low low quality when it comes to a hotel. I definitely will not recommend this hotel to no one and as for me will prefer to stay in the car. I HAVE STAYED IN OTHER HOTELS IN THE AREA AND HAVE ALL GOOD THINGS TO SAY ABOUT ALL OF THEM, BUT THIS ONE IS ONE THAT YOU HAVE TO STAY AWAY. A GUY APROACHED ME ASKING IF I WANTED A GIRL FOR A NIGHT.( I WAS TRAVELING WITH MY FAMILY!)

Room Tip: none that I can give but to stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Hacienda del Rio is the hotel I stayed at before my Plastic Surgery with Dr Victor Gutierrez. This hotel is conveniently located to my doctors' office. The room that I stayed in had two double beds, strong Wi-Fi and a nice TV with several channels to choose from. The room and the bathroom was very clean. Although I was there in June, the temperature drops at night, so I had to turn on the Heater and it warmed the room quickly. Enjoyed my stay and would not mind staying here when I return.

Room Tip: The second floor at the back of the hotel has less street noise. Remember Tijuana is a fun town that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

This is our second stay at the hotel. On this trip learned more tricks: 1. Ask for a refrigerator in advance to put new room so it's cold. 2. If the Wi-Fi signal is weak in your room, call Reception to have a router put in your room. 3. Test your AC unit before you accept the room. We had one with a very loud fan, in the second room the vent to the outside air could not be set. Keep in contact with reception to get these things resolved. Reception is very responsive to your requests.
All in all, we are coming back next month because this hotel is still excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The del Rio is located in Zona Rio, quite near La Lucerna, a first class hotel. The del Rio is, as another reviewer pointed out, really a motel, not a hotel. The room was clean with 2 full-size beds. They are not queen, so 2 people is a bit much for one bed.

They offer a complimentary continental breakfast (great fruit, toast but NOT coffee). The other offerings are somewhat higher priced than deserved. Since the hotel handles business travelers, the wait in the morning to check out from the restaurant can be long. If you want to charge the meal to your room you must establish a credit card on file. That point was not mentioned when I checked in.

While the room was quiet, our neighbors on a Friday night were not. I complained to the manager, although he did not speak English, so a clerk had to translate. They reassured me that the offending guests would not be provided accommodations in the future. Having stayed in Tijuana before we were familiar with car alarms at all hours. Perhaps the locals are not used to these devices, as they have only been available for 30 years.

We stayed here because it was $30 less than La Lucerna. The room was quite adequate and we comforted ourselves in the knowledge that every 3 days we got a free room at the del Rio in savings over the top hotel.

If you are have a car, the del Rio has a fenced property with security guards. Probably the minimum level of protection you want for your car.

Room Tip: Since this is motel style, go to the 2nd floor. The front of the hotel is on a busy street. We wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Rio

Address: Blvd Rodolfo Sanchez Taboada 1606 | Zona Rio, Tijuana 22420, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Tijuana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Tijuana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda del Rio 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hacienda del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Rio Tijuana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda del Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.