We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, But Don't Go Off Season” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Felipe Marina Resort & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Felipe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
San Felipe Marina Resort & Spa
Save
You added San Felipe Marina Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Km 4.5 San Felipe, San Felipe 21850, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in San Felipe
Northern CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Clean, But Don't Go Off Season”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here one night while visiting San Felipe. The room was clean and extremely spacious. The staff was also friendly and helpful. However, they clearly were not expecting many guest when we visited in December 2012, because the water and room were very cold. We called about the water because we noticed it early in the evening, and it turns out that they had not turned on the water heating device for the area of rooms we were staying in. So, we had to hold off on our showers until the hot water started flowing. We didn't really notice how cold the room was until the middle of the night when we both woke up shivering from the cold, however there was not way for us to adjust the temperature ourselves.

Overall, the stay was adequate, and if not for the cold room and water, I believe the hotel was priced fairly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    11
    5
    13
    15
See reviews for
15
11
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Typical Time Share gone bad.

It was my fault for making a late reservation for our Baja 1000 race team (Chase Crew). That being said, this place was lame.

These are owned units that are rented out when not otherwise occupied. The rates are extremely over priced.

Half of the light bulbs are missing or do not work. Not all electrical plugs worked. There was no hot water in the shower. You cannot adjust temperature in the rooms. There are not enough towels.

There was plenty of parking because it was not even 10% booked. The other crews staying there had the same look on their face... You too? Yeah we booked late too and all other places were taken.

The guard shack was only manned once in three days. There was a guy walking around the parking lot but not after midnight. Nothing was ripped off mainly because it was a ghost town. There is the empty shell of what should have been a high rise part of the resort. Typical take investors money and then never finish the project... Then service and bookings fall off... etc etc..

I can't comment on the food as we ate elsewhere.

Only stay here if it's the absolute last resort...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

They do not take credit card AT ALL, so you must pay not only your stay upfront in cash, but every consumption you do. That means carrying a lot of cash even in the swimming pool. The rooms have no safe box, thus you must carry all the time all your cash.

At $140 USD per night you would expect to have at least a remote for the tv in your room. I had to ask for 1 and they didnt have any left !!!!!

The restaurant has the worst service. The food is not so bad but the service denotes a full lack of expertise. About 30 mins if wait just to get the appetizers.

Definetely not worth for the money.

Apparently nice rooms, but too hard mattress and no noise isolation between rooms.

If you want to go to town for lunch, it is a 15 mins car ride.

It was a nice project back in 1991 when it was built, but they are not up to try to have a high quality resort as they claim to be.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holtville, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Hotel is old and dirty. No hot water. Dirty rooms (bed, bathrooms, floors). Only 4 tv channels (3 English). TV control did not work. Pool dirty. No restaurant. Key to room did not work when ask to be changed it took long. I asked for new sheets, did not get them. Had to ask twice for to have access to phone line. Bar good, staff ok.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

No restaurant on premises open. As of October 21, 2011 the restaurant is only open Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays for limited hours. So on weekdays, unless one knows what to bring to use the kitchenette (food, coffee, filters, etc) one has to drive a long ways into town to buy supplies or to a bar and restaurant. No bar on premises or anywhere within walking distance either. They say they have 24 hour security but when we came in at 8pm on Monday 10/31/11 the gate was open and throughout our 2-night stay we never saw a guard at the gate. No wireless internet in room – a guest has to go to the lobby or pool area to get a connection. Then the electrical switches are off the wall. Very poorly constructed hotel. No exhaust fan in bathroom. In the honeymoon suite, the bathroom is open by the ceiling so one can hear everything…specially bodily noises . There is a coffee maker but NO coffee or filters. Fancy containers on the wall but No shower gel. Room floors were dirty – long black hairs on the floor --disgusting! No hand towels. We asked for them in the lobby, all they could give us (at night) were mini wash cloths. The rest of the stay we did not see any hand towels. Cutlery – only 2 knives, 2 forks, not a complete set. Sliding doors at the honeymoon suite are very flimsy, very difficult to open and close. Very low quality sliding doors. The AC comes on for long periods, it works well, buy at first we could not figure out how to turn it off because it is locked. Then we used a knife and were able to turn it off. It was too cold in the room. No paper towels in kitchen. Curtains are broken. The ends, by the sliding door are broken. Jacuzzi was empty, it had zero water. Indoor pool is not heated. Dirty floor on the shower – my husband has grey hair, I have blond hair – there were LONG black hairs on the floor everywhere. The machine to accept credit cards does not work; you have to pay cash only for your hotel stay. NO SIGNS INDICATING WHERE LOBBY IS. As you drive in there are no signs to tell you where to check in. The lobby is very difficult to find because it is NOT at the entrance (as one would expect), it is located in the middle of the complex. All white plastic, cheap. We didn’t use the pool. Did not feel it was clean. No table and chair on the balcony of the room. So we really could not enjoy the pool area -- very few lounge chairs (3) by the pool and maybe 5 or 6 chairs. From the bed, on the second floor, one cannot see the beach because the balcony does not have see-thru rails, it is a solid wall. There were only 2 large towels in the room. The receiver indicates room #27, when we were in room #31. They have a strange number to call the front desk, not zero, but it is not found anywhere. The front desk girl had told us to call #244 (or something like that) as she left from helping us carry the luggage but, of course I assumed it would be written somewhere so I didn’t think to write it down. I dialed many numbers with no success. Finally although I didn’t think that the button on the phone (labeled FRONT DESK) would work -- surprisingly it did and I got thru. Hotel is very poorly built, bad construction choices. Floor tiles small with large grout. Large grout in the shower, this will cause huge problems in the future because the water will filter down in-between the tiles and cause a leak. Only 4 channels on TV, but a few we could not hear, no volume on a few, the others you could hear a HUM sound in the background. Mirrors in the room are placed too low. My husband is 6’3” and he had to stoop down every time in the bathroom if he needed to comb his hair.

Room Tip: go to another hotel. We asked for a tour at a hotel nearby Playas del Paraiso (big parts of it stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tierrasanta
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Old amenities! Ive been going there for the last 8 yrs even bought a time share so not happy darn and its paid off! update your frign cheapass electric stove! Palease put in a bigger fridge something that fits a six pack of beers! Im not stayn there anymore you guys never update sheet! SAme old stuff from the start everything is falling apart! The staff is great but every yr i was going someone new would be there mmmmmmm.... what does that tell you? CRAP! So sad the place looks like so much potential! dont stay unless they slash the pricess in half! lol! my wife and two daughters will not stay there thats for sure and we stay for FREE! ok i pay a 325 yrly cleaning fee that goes up 25 every yr! it started at 125 now its 375! Sure ill be back.lol!

Room Tip: #Everythingting is So outdated... palaease update your toasters! Not happy everything looks so old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalinga, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

we were there memorial day weekend rm #41 very hot air cond/not working well windows were not tinted there were white curtins sun was shining thru early morning and hot will not stay there again

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Felipe Marina Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Felipe Marina Resort & Spa

Address: Km 4.5 San Felipe, San Felipe 21850, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > San Felipe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in San Felipe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the San Felipe Marina Resort and Spa, the favorite place for families to spend their vacations in northern Baja. The resort is situated on its own wide, sandy, beach three miles south of the center of San Felipe. We are at the heart of the Baja Diamante Estate and next to the boat marina where you can launch and moor your yacht. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
San Felipe Marina Resort And Spa
San Felipe Marina Hotel San Felipe
Marina Resort San Felipe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Felipe Marina Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.