We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but Just OK” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Azul Motel/Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Felipe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Costa Azul Motel/Hotel
Save
You added Costa Azul Motel/Hotel to your Saves list
Mar de Cortez, San Felipe, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in San Felipe
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Location but Just OK”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

I agree with the other reviews that it would be difficult to beat the location of this hotel. It is right in the center of everything. I would say that this is its primary attraction.
On the down side, however, the pool was dirty and so was the rug in our room (old, set in stains).
Everything else (bathroom, beds, and furniture) were simple but functional and clean. The airconditioning worked well (an absolute must when you visit during July or August!).
My overall advice - stay here if you need a place to crash that has a central location but not if you're looking for a place to spend a lot of time enjoying the amenities.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Pool
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    13
    12
    23
See reviews for
12
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

this hotel is located in the best place for any one wanting to enjoy san felipe to the fullest. it is right smack by shops/restaurants/ clubs. one of the best menudos i have ever had is about a block away for all you party go-ers needing a pick me up the morning after a good time. the rooms are decent sized and this is the 3rd time i have stayed here and i did notice some rennovation made since the last time i was here about 1 1/2 to 2 years ago.

  • Liked — decent conditions, not great, right by the shops and beach
  • Disliked — they could work on the towels and beds a bit
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2008

Basic, but clean rooms, air conditioning,access to the beach,and their own parking lot, I'd stay there again. Only issue is the phones didn't call out to the U.S., so we had to go to a phone booth.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Phones didn't call out
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Desert
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

Convenient and Fun! It's not the Ritz, but the rooms are clean, the pool is very nice and you can't beat the location. I've stayed in this hotel many times and will continue to stay there when available. I have 4 kids from 17 to 4 years of age and each of us enjoys the stay. The beach, food and shopping are all walking distance. And late evening the teen babysits and clubs are walkie talkie distance.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — wrist bands
  • Stayed August 2004, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2007

My experience at this hotel was somewhat okay. Rooms have really old furniture and the matress not that great. dont be surprised if you wake up with back ache. They really should work on new furniture, sheets & towels. During long weekends you have to book 3 to 4 night even if you plan on staying just 1 night.The hotel looks okay from the outside. The pool was okay . However the rooms were kinda gross. Our bathroom had white towels that looked almost gray of so old that they were. Staff looks fishy. I would suggest leave valubles in your car instead of room.

Location is great next door to boardwalk. If you need toilet paper or towels be prepared to walk to front desk they will not go out of their way.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, NV
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2007

We love the Costa Azul - it was our second time here. The first was in Sept or Oct 05. Can't beat the location. It's right on the beach. You can park your car (within the grounds) and walk just about everywhere. Good when you have had a few margaritas - By the way, a glass of wine is more expensive in town than a margarita.
The hotel is "worn" but clean - and bright. Mattress was great in our room (we got the same one as the first time). No elevators - as "young seniors" we appreciate the exercise!
There is security. Staff is friendly.
Next time (and there will be a next time - same room) - I'll take a coffee pot.
The TV doesn't have remote - but there were 5 stations and 2 were in English.
If you want 5 stars - try the Four Seasons in Santa Barbara, CA

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2006

This is , after all, an older motel in Mexico. However, it is clean and bright. It has hot water and clean linen. Most of the lights work as did the TV (although there are only two channels and they are but in Spanish). The furniture is early Goodwill but adequate. The air conditioning is great. It is right on the beach and the annual Shrimp festival is literally at the back of the motel. This was a very noisy event that went late into the night. We were on the pool side of the motel and there was no noise from the fair in our room. It has a nice pool and helpful staff which is nice because this is a three story building without an elevator.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Don't expect 4 star facility
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring beach or water shoes
  • Stayed November 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa Azul Motel/Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Azul Motel/Hotel

Address: Mar de Cortez, San Felipe, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > San Felipe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in San Felipe
Number of rooms: 334
Also Known As:
Costa Azul Motel/ Hotel San Felipe
Costa Azul Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Azul Motel/Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.