We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ,Bad & Ugly” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Califia Hotel

Califia Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rosarito
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Califia Hotel
Save
You added Califia Hotel to your Saves list
Km 35.5, Rosarito, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Rosarito
california
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good ,Bad & Ugly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

Traveled to Rosarito for a wedding. The Hotel itself is beautiful with a great historic background. The view was magnificent and the staff was obliging but the rooms themselves need a huge overhaul. I don't think they have the manpower or the $ to refurbish these rooms. The beds are depleted,showers,floors,paint and just overall room decor is abhorrent. The clocks are superglued to your nightstand and the phones have been taken out completely. Because it was the week-end of the bicycle run the charge was $105,when in reality it should have been $25. The big clencher is you have to drive through Tijiuana to get there. TJ is one of the most corrupt cities in the world. Of course we got stopped on the way back and I thought my husband was going to end up in jail for argueing with a corrupt officer. We got out with the extorted fee of $40. It's funny how the mexicans come up here and want free medical and free education but when the Americans go to their country we end up being extorted for $ or just plain treated badly. All in all we will never travel to Mexico or any other latin american country again. Once you leave the US you have no rights. I'll travel to our northern neighbor ,Canada or fly to New Zealand before I ever step foot in the bowels of Mexico. Too bad for the cesspool of TJ or I would have liked to go back and visit Rosarito at another hotel that was cleaner and a little more stylish. Steve & Adina,Temecula, CA

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — travel,needs refurbishing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    3
    7
    10
See reviews for
4
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

Rooms are clean. Restaurant has great vew, attractive, clean and reasonable prices. We loved the grounds. This year, after the remodeling, it is still with no phones or A/Cs, but the linnen is in good condition. We must remember we are not in Cancun, this is Baja and as such Califa Hotel is better than Rosarito Beach Hotel price-wise. Location is between the tourist-active towns of Rosarito Beach (where there are many clubs and restaurants) and Newport Beach where you can buy Lobster dinners for good prices. Also, right next to Fox Studios where you can tour home of the film The Titanic, among others. I am aready planning to go next month. This will be my hotel of choice!

  • Liked — VIEW, nice grounds, cleanliness, PRICES. Close to Lobster town and Rosarito Beach night clubs and restaurants, close to Fox Studios
  • Disliked — no A/C no phones
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2006

We had a great weekend at Calafia. We spent two nights there for a wedding and everything was perfect. The view is wonderful, the room we got was more than then ok. The food, service and the restaurant it self was more than we expected. We recomend the place specially for a wedding

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhambra, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding. It was horrible! There arent any phones or AC units! It was hotter than hell in those rooms. Not just that but the bathroom doorways were super small so you were getting banged up while just trying to get inside! They only provide you with 2 bottles of water. There aren't any ice machines or vending machines! BUT i will say the rooms were clean. Check out wasnt untill 12noon but at 9am we packed up our cars and went to eat at the buffet. We NEVER checked out because we were going to go back to the rooms to chill. While we were eating the cleaning lady was in our rooms! When we came back we told her we didnt check out and we still had our hotel keys! She said that she noticed there wasnt any luggage in the rooms so she started to clean. We even had a DO NOT DISTURB sign up!!!! I will never go there again. That room was not worth $100!!!!

  • Liked — it was on the beach
  • Disliked — it was not worth $100
  • Tips/Secrets — bring a cooler full of sodas and water!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2006

My family had a 2 night stay for a wedding at the Califia. Overall, it is my opinion that the hotel must make major improvements in the quality of the rooms, cleanliness, and the total appearance of the hotel grounds. I would not return, even if they offered free accommodations, food and unlimited bar privileges.

The view from our room was very nice but that’s where the attraction ends. The floor was gritty to point where we did not walk barefoot. There was no phone in the room, no lamps, just 2 ceiling lights and no air-conditioning. My bath towel had so many holes in it that it looked like a huge piece of Swiss cheese. When we first checked in there were no wash cloths. And just to be on the safe side, my family shared a pair of flip-flops for the shower. The room smelled OK but we had to swat about 40 gnats that where all over the place. The TV worked but had only a few channels. The soap dish in the bathroom was hanging halfway off of the wall and the toilet was loose to point that it rocked back and forth. One morning at 7:45 am, I couldn’t find a cup of coffee in the dining room, not to mention breakfast or a piece of fruit.

However, all was not lost. The food was not bad but I dread to see what goes on behind the kitchen doors…..”don’t ask, don’t tell.” The wedding was very nice. The ceremony, setting, reception and extraordinary sun-set were fine but not enough to mitigate the substandard quality of the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2006

The courtain didnt close all the way, 2 of the 3 light were out we had to go to the lobby and ask for some bulbs,but guess what...nobody was there for like 10 minutes, the TV didn't had a good reception,NO PHONE!, The floor was dirty as hell,I did not recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2006

Only the most terrible time ever the rooms where smelly the drain in the shower dose not have a trap so smells like a sewer in the room to the point that we ask not to run our credit card but it was to late and they do not do refunds even do we have not taken the room we looked at 6 different rooms all where in the same condition such bad condition that the place makes motel 6 looks like a five star cattle.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Califia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Califia Hotel

Address: Km 35.5, Rosarito, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Rosarito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Rosarito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Califia Hotel Rosarito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Califia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.