We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapppointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Akai Sakana Sushi

Akai Sakana Sushi
Pueblo Plaza, Rosarito, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 65 restaurants in Rosarito
Restaurant details
los angeles
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Disapppointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The tempura was very soggy. The place had zero atmosphere. Prices are in US dollars and high for Mexico. I would not go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

54% Recommend
    3
    3
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
1 review
“I've found "Kobe Beef" in Baja!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

About a week ago i visited AKAI SAKANA BRASSERIE in Rosarito Mexico on my way to Ensenada Mexico, i found ¨Kobe Beef¨ in this restaurant. The price was only $50.00, it comes with japanese rice and vegetables. Kobe beef is a well known world famous stake, not many restaurants serve¨Kobe Beef¨even in the United States. it was wonderfully delicious and different texture with other steak meat.
If you are a meat lover you will love¨Kobe Beef".

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good food, ordinary wine, great hosts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

After the bad sushis we got in Tijuana and Rosarito, we were happy to eat those ones. Very good sushis with fresh ingredients but maybe a little expensive. The wine could be better though. The waiter was funny. I also agree they should put prices in pesos.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosarito
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Even Hollywood loves it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

When Robert Redford was in town to film a movie at the Baja Studios, he was a regular here for the seafood entres. Moderate priced luncheons and daily specials. Right on the boulevard across the street from Rosarito Beach Hotel, so was an easy walk... friendly service.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicali, Mexico
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great sushi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have been visiting this restaurant for a while now. We kind of discover it when looking for a better alternative of Susana's (use to be in the same plaza). Now it is on the main boulevard, the place is ok. Nothing fancy, but the owner is so nice and attentive and she knows about sushi definitely! I also recommend the seaweed salad, it is soooo delicious. Good service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akai Sakana Sushi also viewed

Rosarito, Baja California Norte
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
 
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
Rosarito, Baja California Norte
 

Been to Akai Sakana Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akai Sakana Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.