We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff and gorgeous views!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Rocas Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Las Rocas Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Las Rocas Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera Libre Tijuana-Ensenada #3850 | El Morro, Rosarito 22710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$69 (USD)
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Rosarito
1 review
“Amazing staff and gorgeous views!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We came here last minute for a family reunion and found the price to be very resonable. Rosarito is a beautiful town and this location is perfect for a mini getaway if you live in SoCal. Our room had an incredible view of the ocean and it was nice and clean. Free wifi! The staff was super friendly. We will defintely be back again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    93
    40
    40
    52
See reviews for
42
111
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed in the 2 bedroom penthouse and as soon as we check in the room we saw a bag full of trash inside the cabinet! I left it outside and informed front desk that there was a trash in the room when we arrived.. No one took it there to throw it away, also observed bottles and plates from other rooms left outside their room was still there the next day! Poorly managed and maintained. Never had wifi when we call they say after 2 hours however until the following day they never had false promises. The pool had a nice view and the tub in the penthouse/ 2 br suite had a nice view however at night we felt it is haunted. Weird feeling all of us felt the same. Woke up frequently in the middle of the night and had a scary feeling!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Las Rocas Resort and Spa

This place has a great beach front location with commanding views and the most incredible sunsets. The food was basic but good, none of us got ill. The staff was friendly and helpful, the free WiFi worked. A big dinner and event which we attended was well organized by the on site planners.

The moment you pull into the gate you see a dilapidated place in various states of decay which seems to be run with total indifference and no attention to detail.
The bandaged cactus at the reception desk is the metaphor for it all.
The place is held together by spit and peeling paint.

Once in the resort there are no bikes, mopeds, surf board, lilos or any items to provide any entertainment, but a karaoke bar and alcohol.
Drinks and food were priced reasonably.
There is a local bus service for $1.00 or a taxi for $25.00 to Rosa Rita.

The pools ... there are two and a hot tub have no shaded areas whatever, the bar on the beach front offers the only protection. Two pool umbrellas were available, both were partially broken.
There is no air conditioning anywhere.
The rooms were rustic, open beams and rice crispy plaster walls full of dust, the furniture must be 40 years old. All is badly aged, carpeted and very worn. The sofa sagged totally through, the mattress was stained from top to bottom and ripped. There was a protective rubbery layer between the clean top sheet and the mattress which held an impressive collection of hair of various length and color including an abundance of intimate hair.
Our shower head was broken and sprayed half the water sideways.
Our fellow travelers sink fell out of the wall, broke on the floor and injured her and other friends needed screw drivers to open the water taps.
Plenty of little ants were circling the scene.

A little excursion down to the beach gave a clear indication why the smell of sewers was wafting through the air, depending of the direction of the wind. There were various waist water pipes sticking out between the rocks emptying straight into the sea. We only saw clear and soapy run off and no floating tissue, but the water showed brown areas indicating run off. The smell was at times breathtaking.

Considering the price, there is no question one can do better

Room Tip: Any room that is not right in front of the bar... the further up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

very romantic great price for the facilities!!! fabulous pool great food would go again have been there 6 times over the years it is my place in Baja -near puerto neuvo- la fonda etc -Rosarita ensenada

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosarito
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I live immediately next door to the hotel and watched it being built. I partake of its services, but don't stay there. The prices are reasonable and the service has been generally good. I have seen a lot of reviews here where people are disappointed with the state of the hotel. During the super-hype of the media about how dangerous it was down here, the hotel had almost no guests, despite the fact that there was never a danger to tourists or American residents. Almost everyone on the U.S. side of the border believed the hype and didn’t come down. On a beautiful weekend, one would only see 3 or 4 cars in the hotel parking lot. It is a wonder that the hotel didn’t close its doors. The management kept the regular staff on until they could no longer afford to do so. No guests = no funds to keep the place up.

The hotel is not a high luxury hotel, but it is a good hotel that is struggling to come back from the depression caused by the media that has to overly sensationalize everything to keep your attention, otherwise you wouldn’t watch or listen to their programs. I would suggest that your regular patronage is the solution to bringing the hotel back to life. We are now entering the best time to come to Rosarito. The mobs of tourists are gone. The weather is great and everything returns to its peaceful slow tempo of life
.
If you like the hotel, like I do, patronize it; and in a short while it will regain the former character that people lament that it lost.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

we had a great time at this hotel but it needs some renovations, update maintenance on the outside of the hotel, the tile by the pool needs replacement.All in all it was a great place to stay we will definitely come back for another mini vacation:)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I were married here in 2007. This is the first time we returned since our wedding and we were both looking forward to this trip. Unfortunately we were hugely disappointed in the lack of care for this facility. I don't remember Las Rocas being in such a run down state. We stayed two nights (Sunday-Tuesday) in a standard room (184.00 first night and 69.00 the second night) on the first floor north side of the resort nearest the smaller pool. The bathroom was in poor condition and continued to leak water from the over flowing floor drain. The towels were old and frayed. The furniture in the room was chipped and stained. I accidentally shifted the bed sheet, which is not fitted but just a flat sheet thrown over the bed, and the numerous mattress stains were appalling. The carpet was filthy, I needed to wear flip flops in the room. The pool lounge chairs are made of cheap plastic and so uncomfortable, some of them were cracked. The pool deck tile in front of where we sat was damaged and loose. A random piece of tile covered a big hole that a person could easily step into. All around the facility you could see the results of poor upkeep of the building and furniture. The food was mediocre at best. The worst was the smell of sewage that permeated through the resort. On Sunday night I could smell the sewage as we ate dinner at the palapa. Yes it was disgusting. I needed to light incense just to sleep our last night due to the stench. I can't wait to return home. The ocean views are amazing. The staff truly do work hard to provide service. However that is just not enough for us to return. Shame, shame, shame on the owner(s) of Las Rocas for allowing this resort to deteriorate to this degree. What a waste! What you see from their website is not what you will get.

Room Tip: If you do chose to stay here, tho I do not recommend it, choose the south side of the resort in fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Rocas Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Rocas Resort and Spa

Address: Carretera Libre Tijuana-Ensenada #3850 | El Morro, Rosarito 22710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Rosarito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rosarito
#2 Spa Hotel in Rosarito
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rosarito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Rocas Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning a romantic getaway, spa retreat, the perfect oceanfront wedding or simply want to treat yourself or that special someone with a relaxing oceanfront experience, then you have found the right place. From eclectic Spa treatments to the wedding of your dreams at Las Rocas Resort, the pressures of the outside world will simply float away. Give yourself and your significant other the opportunity to be pampered at our Rosarito Mexico Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Las Rocas Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Rocas Hotel Rosarito
Las Rocas Resort
Los Rocas
Rocas Rosarito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Rocas Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.