We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Leonero Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Los Cabos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rancho Leonero Resort
Save
You added Rancho Leonero Resort to your Saves list
Baja California Sur, Mexico | Baja Sur, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 106 Hotels in Los Cabos
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Would not recommend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We spent a week at Rancho Leonero in early March - the first week after the windy season which they close for 3 months. The cost is average and the beach was great - lots of walking opportunities. The cost to fish (boats were expensive and nothing was biting from shore), add the cost of cleaning the fish and cooking the fish and it made it an expensive past time. However, there was literally nothing else to do - bungalows were quaint and the decks nice. Ours however came with a number of mice which we couldn't get rid of. Our friends in the next two bungalows had large geckos. An added bonus was the wake up call each morning as the old Caterpillar they used to push the boats out to the water at 6:30 a.m. started up right next to our bungalows. On a positive note the bar prices were reasonable. The staff were attentive, but management were not especially helpful.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    29
    3
    7
    3
See reviews for
31
30
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cedarburg, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My first trip was with my wife and we enjoyed food, casita, super-friendly staff. Next two years on my own, just for the fishing. Either way, Rancho Leonero is a special hideaway in remote Baja. We relied on staff for airport transportation and a trip into town for delicious lunch and fun shopping.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

This resort is great. I have been here over 10 times in the past 5 years at different months. April Stripped Marlin July Sailfish October Blue and Black Marlin May Tuna and Dorado and have had great success every time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We had one of the best trips ever here! The place is off the beaten path which is hard to find close to San Jose Del Cabo and Cabo San Lucas. The people are the best who work there. The food is excellent and all inclusive. We went fishing with Jorge and Ramon on the MOHO. The charter is one of the boats the resort recommends. We put the steel to those fish off La Ribera bank by the lighthouse. Marlin, Sailfish and Dorado all before noon, and we were headed back. We had some of the fish smoked by a smokehouse in Los Barilles, and we are still eating it. WE are going back for sure. We love Rancho Leonero!

Room Tip: Select Ocean Front on the north side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Sight unseen, I bought a week at Rancho Leonero at a Navy SEALS fundraiser, wanting to go to a Cabo resort for our 25th anniversary. Never did that before, and when I jumped on the website that night and saw it's remote location, it was instant buyer's remorse. How I was going to explain this to my wife, who was already nervous about the safety in MX?!

ALL CONCERNS ARE GONE - WHAT A WONDERFUL GETAWAY! Just got back from the most peaceful, safe, clean, fun, beautiful week, and we don't even fish! We worked out, kayaked, and snorkeled in the mornings, read and relaxed in the afternoons, and enjoyed the company of the nicest fellow guests during all the meals, which always hit the spot. Our Casita #14 patio on the beach was the best spot in the ranch for privacy while lounging to the changing scenes of the ocean.

We had a car and ventured to nearby towns, but nothing compared to the simple beauty and hospitable staff that made the Ranch feel like our home away from home.

Yes, it's old Mexico and not our usual traveling style, but so glad we did it. What a perfect week to celebrate our 25th. Thank you Rancho Leonero staff... you all care about your guests, and it made all the difference.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Last week was my first trip to the ranch and it was FANTASTIC!! This is the real deal, old school, chill Baja where you eat, sleep, relax, FISH, drink and make friends. If you live in flip flops, love the real Mexico and can hang this is the place for you! The hospitality is amazing and it is a perfect place for anyone who wants to completely escape to an awesome and remote place in Baja and just be. The compound is great with a gorgeous pool, amazing beaches and killer views. It's all inclusive by nature because nothing is at all close by and the food and bar are great. Get the chips and guacamole after a day of activity and catch some fish that the kitchen will turn into delicious ceviche. Rooms are large, clean, comfy and have great views, but are not fancy. They have fishing charters right there for you, kayaks, horseback riding, snorkeling, miles of beach to walk, spa treatments, etc. or take a day to chill in a hammock by the pool. Many thanks to Gary, Fernando, Joel, Nico, Eddie, Maria and the rest of the wonderful Ranch team who bent over backwards making us all feel completely at home. You guys are awesome and I will be back again and again. Thanks for giving me a new happy place!!!

NOTE - if you are a "I have to blow out my hair", seek out the local Ruth Chris on every vacation and always bring 2 suitcases of crap for a 4 day trip then this is NOT the place for you. See above about old school Mexico...

Room Tip: Room 2 had great views and so do the ocean front bungalows - rooms 20-26.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This was my first visit to Rancho Leonero aka The Ranch and I will be back. Beach, pool or boat is the most important decision you will make each day. What a great way to spend a weekend with the girls!

My trip was a 4 day weekend gal-pal vacation and we are already planning on returning. Rancho Leonero is a completely carefree vacation. Don’t worry, they do have wifi, but you can unplug, and I recommend that you do.

Rancho Leonero is often thought of as a male dominated fishing mecca. (Not a bad situation for a couple of gal-pals to be in). But we found the lodge to be a great blend of family groups, friends away for a weekend and serious fishing men and women.

Early mornings were breakfast and then sport fishermen heading out to boats for the day. Though many like us were equally happy to head to the beach, the pool, or a hammock and enjoy a restful afternoon with a good book or simply enjoying the breeze and the sun. Afternoons were lunch and more of the same – maybe bocci ball with a margarita on the lawn. Or simply enjoying a conversation about the fishing or not much at all in a rocking chair watching and listening to the waves.

Evenings were our choice, dinner then some rambunctious banter by the bar, or more subdued conversation…

Rancho Leonero is a bit of a distance from most everything else, but the staff is happy to take you to wherever you want to go. We chose to go to Los Barriles to Smokey’s for lunch one day and dinner the next.

There is really no reason to leave Leonero for dinner though, especially on rib night or when some fortunate fisherman had caught enough dorado to make plenty of ceviche to share with the other guests.

Frankly, Rancho Leonero is “Old Mexico” and I saw no reason to leave the The Ranch at all. I was happy to fish in kayaks, walk on the beach, relax by the pool, enjoy a Mexican beer at the outside bar or spend time with my watercolors trying to capture the serenity on paper. Next time I will challenge someone to a bocci ball game. Oh, and I almost forgot… The Ring Game, in the bar. Now that was the source of some bar banter, friendly competition and good fun by many on a warm Mexican night at The Ranch.

Another guest remarked as we were departing, that the best way to ease the sadness of leaving is to book another trip. So we did. We will be there again in March. Hope to see you there too.

Room Tip: We enjoyed Room 2 which is right next to the dining room, pool and bar. The room has a small patio w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rancho Leonero Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Leonero Resort

Address: Baja California Sur, Mexico | Baja Sur, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Los Cabos
#11 Spa Hotel in Los Cabos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Rancho Leonero Hotel Los Cabos
Rancho Leonero Los Cabos
Rancho Leonero Resort Mexico/Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Leonero Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.