We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fishing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Leonero Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rancho Leonero Resort to your Saves list
Rancho Leonero Resort
Baja California Sur, Mexico | Baja Sur, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 113 Hotels in Los Cabos
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Fishing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

This was my second time to the Ranch. Great place. The staff is friendly and will go out of there way to help you. The food is always fantastic and the setting looking out of the Sea of Cortez can't be beat. The only complaint is that the wall air conditioners in the rooms are too small and don't really cool the room. Fishing is great and they have a big freezer to keep your fish. If you want a great fishing trip, this is the place for you. The staff will take your fish and cook it up for you, make cevichi and even sashimi. They had soy sauce and wasabi. Yum. Talk about fresh.

Room Tip: The smaller standard rooms do a little bit better, because the air conditioner will not have as much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    35
    4
    7
    3
See reviews for
41
33
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Myers, FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

I just spent 5 days down at Rancho Leonero and had a fantastic time. The resort is located on a remote dirt road about an hour from the Cabo airport. It is a rustic location with great views of the Sea of Cortez and a relaxed feel. The staff was friendly and they cooked us several different types of fish that our group had caught each day which really made the overall experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

First time at the Ranch with my, 17 year old, son. Rooms are clean, but the A/C unit was too small and poorly positioned. We had a hard time cooling down the entire room. During the summer months this can be a big factor. The meals were all very good as were all the staff. If you're looking at a place for fishing you've picked a good spot as you are right on the fishing grounds. The pangas are all capable, but most lack fish holds which could be an issue when there's limited space to walk around to begin with. Wouldn't come here if you're expecting Cabo! The pace is slow and the ammenities are much more limited, but still nice.

Room Tip: Always ask to see if you can get a free room upgrade. Often times there are better rooms available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

After my 13th trip to Rancho Leonero I feel compelled to write a review on tripadvisor.
I, my wife,daughters and many friends travel many places in both Mexico and elsewhere, and can only say this is always our favorite. The world class fishing and top notch service can't be beat. If you want crazy nightlife and lots of hussle and bussle, don't go here. If you want SAFE, clean, relaxing and beautiful go here. Great food and beautiful snorkeling have to get a mention as well. Families with kids, just friends fishing, or a romantic getaway all works. Already planning trip 14! ( The only problem is everyone who comes with us wants to go back as well!)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

This place is truly away from it all. Located about 1 hour north of San Jose, Rancho Leonero is an oasis after an 8 km bumpy ride down a dirt path.

You are not greeted with a moist towel and a bell hop at this place. Drag your suitcase to your ocean view casita and go back and ask for towels if there aren't any in your room. And then begin to relax. This place is completely away from it all.

We were greeted by a herd of cows and a few horses each night around sunset, and started the day hearing the giant green tractor putting the fishing boats into the water. The swimmable beach is perfect for snorkeling, the pool is empty during the day when the other guests are out on their fishing tours, the margaritas are the strongest in Baja. The food is.. well. ok...who cares? It is cooked and brought to you , the basics are all there and everything is taken care of. I loved the fact that there was no "menu" for lunch or dinner. What you got was what you got. I found it to be tasty, albeit not the healthiest.

There is nothing to do here but relax and enjoy life. And swim, fish, and snorkel. The beauty of the place is stunning.

I hope to go back again and again and again.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

I am a resort owner and gamefishing charterboat skipper out in the Fiji Islands and the Rancho was recommended to me by friends in the gamefishing community. Oddly enough, despite the exceptional fishing available there, I wanted a break from fishing and the chance to R&R in the beautiful East Cape of Baja. The Rancho was perfect. Remote peaceful setting with magnificent views overlooking the Sea of Cortez, miles of pristene beaches, very comfortable accommodation, excellent food (I am a bit picky but scoffed everything), wonderful aspects from the dining terraces and pool and a polite friendly helpful staff.
I stayed 9 nights and didn't want to leave. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend the place to fishermen or any couples wanting to enjoy the beauty of the Baja East Cape.

Room Tip: Oceanview bungalows have fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Let me just say that we have been back for 2 weeks and The Ranch is still all I can think about! My husband and I traveled with another couple for a mid March, getaway, a slower time for the East Cape. It was very warm in the day but cool at night.
The first thing you need to know is how wonderfully remote this place is, there is nothing around you but sea, sky and mountains. The hotel itself is beautifully quaint with lots of stonework and thatched roofs. The rooms were large and immaculate. We stayed in the ocean front bungalows- definately worth the upgrade- you see only the beach and ocean out your window! ( It is true that you will hear the Big Green tractor pulling the fishing pangas on the beach very early in the morning but I am a morning person so I was up anyway) Of note- the beds were the most comfortable I have come across in Mexico and maybe anywhere else.

The pool is refreshing and the beach is to die for- we would walk for hours and not see a soul. The dining room is large with outdoor terraces and the food was amazing! The best part was when anyone caught fish, it was usually prepared at dinner along with the regular menu and the proud fishermen/women went around and shared with everyone!

We combined our fun days into relaxing,snorkeling,fishing and exploring. I don't fish so when my group went out I literally had the place to myself. It was heaven!! I felt like I was at a private villa :) Although it was said the fishing was slow that week, everyone seemed to catch something- my group brought back a Yellow Tail and Spanish Mackerel one day.
We rented ATV's one day and explored Los Barriles but the hallmark trip for me was the snorkeling trip with Vista Seasport. Don't miss that experience- we snorkeled with sea lions, saw so many whales and eagle rays leaping and at one point our small boat came upon hundreds of white sided dolphins! Amazing!
The front desk at Rancho Leonero made all the arrangements for these excursions with just a day's notice. The staff is very efficient but very friendly and yes the margaritas are very good and very strong!
It is easy to get to know other guests but there is room to have your space also. We would go back in a heartbeat- I miss it already-Thanks again to Paco, Renata and Joel, Christian and all the staff that made our stay so relaxing!!

Room Tip: Definately Ocean Front Bungalows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Cabos
0.0 mi away
Positano Hotel
Positano Hotel
#58 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Palmas de Cortez
Hotel Palmas de Cortez
#1 of 1 in Los Barriles
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
12.2 mi away
Punta Pescadero Paradise Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Playa del Sol
Playa del Sol
#3 of 4 in Los Barriles
4.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cabanas Vista la Ribera
Cabanas Vista la Ribera
#1 of 1 in La Ribera
5.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Pescadores
Hotel Los Pescadores
#1 of 4 in Los Barriles
5.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Leonero Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Leonero Resort

Address: Baja California Sur, Mexico | Baja Sur, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Los Cabos
#16 Spa Hotel in Los Cabos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Rancho Leonero Hotel Los Cabos
Rancho Leonero Los Cabos
Rancho Leonero Resort Mexico/Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Leonero Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.