We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Garden Setting in Baja” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Damiana Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Damiana Inn to your Saves list
La Damiana Inn
Madero y Hidalgo, Loreto, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #3 of 9 Loreto B&B and Inns
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Garden Setting in Baja”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We LOVED our stay at La Damiana Inn. Proprietors Deborah and Gerardo were wonderful hosts, with a wealth of information about things to do in and around Loreto. This lovely old house has been restored in an artistic Mexican style, with a beautiful lush garden, including hammock and other comfortable seats for relaxing. He also appreciated how La Damiana Inn is so centrally located and within easy walking distance to everything in Loreto.

We felt especially fortunate to have been there over the Thanksgiving holiday with our extended family. We were all invited to join the other hotel guests to share in a fabulous pot-luck Thanksgiving dinner. Thank you Deborah and Gerardo, for making our Loreto vacation truly exceptional! We will be back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    14
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
41
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smithers
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We've stayed at La Damiana three times now and can't say enough great things about it. Great location. Great hosts. Great accommodation. Great service. Great atmosphere. Our favourite place to stay in Baja Sur.

Room Tip: Each room has its own character. The self-contained Casita is perfect for small families or longer s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was a stop on our road trip to Cabo .We had trouble finding the place but the local police gave us an escort to the front door. Looks more like B&B and there were a number of colorful characters staying there. We were with friends so we got two rooms one upstairs and one in a cottage. The rooms were more like apartments with kitchen facilities. There is very pleasant courtyard with great greenery and flowers excellent place for a glass of wine. Deborah the host was most gracious and could not have been more helpful. The rooms were c look ran and it was a great atmosphere. Highly recommended and pleasant change from the normal hotel. I could see an extended stay would be very pleasant.

Room Tip: All rooms have lots of character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The pictures don't convey the lovely, artistic feel of this inn. It is beautifully decorated with interesting art & painted in lovely plaster colors & tile work. While we stayed there a local artist was painting the stairway with a cherry blossom mural. Each room is special. The garden area is an oasis for birds & people with fruit trees growing & wonderful diversity. Sit in the outside kitchen
with your morning coffee.
We found it nice & quiet also in October. It probably is the best place to stay in Loreto.
Reasonably priced & right next door to our scuba diving host. Safe parking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The last 2 nights of our 1-1/2 week trip to Loreto had us staying at La Damiana Inn. This unique lodging option with 7 distinctly different sleeping room options (each with air conditioning) plus common kitchen, living room, and outdoor seating areas is worth a visit. The main reason for staying at La Damiana Inn however is not the home away from home feeling you get in your room but rather the genuine warmth and caring provided by the owners, Debora and Gerardo. This couple, an expatriate from America and a Tijuana transplant, want to help you feel completely at home and will provide you with as much information as you want about the town, things to do, where to eat, and so on. Gerardo even took my wife and I out on a tour of different neighborhoods, the new government funded under construction sea-front boardwalk, and 4-wheeling thru one of the arroyos flowing more than 2 feet deep after 10 inches of rain a few days earlier. A home cooked lunch made with fresh ingredients was an unexpected but truly appreciated treat.

The outdoors area has plenty of natural shade from a variety of trees, including Mango, Fig, Lime, and Pomegranate among others, plus a great assortment of flowers and cactus. During our stay we even enjoyed frequent visits from a pair of swallowtail butterflies. The open air covered kitchen has a full size refrigerator, blender, coffee maker, dishes, utensils, pots, pans, a stove, and a dining table available for guest use. The location of the Inn is within easy walking distance to many of the popular places to visit, including the town church, Our Lady of Loreto Mission, built back when the town was founded in 1697 – yes, sixteen ninety seven! The northern section of the sea-front boardwalk is only 2 blocks away, and the marina just a few more blocks up the boardwalk.

Right next door is Sea & Land Eco Tours, my personal recommendation for Scuba Diving, boat tours out to the Marine Park islands, whale watching, and a variety of other activities. There are many shops nearby, each with its own collection of truly unique typically hand-crafter art pieces and souvenirs. There are plenty of small, mostly open-air restaurants close by as well. We really enjoyed our stay at La Damiana and the time we spent visiting with Debora and Gerardo. We are looking forward to another visit before too much time passes by.

Room Tip: Have a discussion with the owners to determine which room is best suited to your needs as they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Gerardo and Debora have created a unique experience for travelers in Baja Sur. Staying at La Damiana is so much more than the rooms and location. Magic happens when you check in and allow yourself to fall under the spell of your wonderful hosts. They have such a profound knowledge of the area and its' history. They provide wonderful tips about eating, shopping, and getting to know the town and surrounding area. This is truly an oasis of serenity in Baja. Other guests have shared the same feelings with me. I never pass through Loreto without stopping to visit.

Room Tip: Every room is so unique.... try them all!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

What I liked most:
- Nice, big house in the center of Loreto. Rooms with personality
- Nice garden with kitchen. Very relaxing and quiet
- Deborah and Gerardo: sweet, helpful and nice; great hosts
- Good wi-fi connection

What I didn't like
- unfortunately there is no breakfast (even though you can use the kitchen)
- Air cond in the room wasn't very efficient

Room Tip: La casita (private detached house) is the best (up to 4 people at least)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Damiana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Damiana Inn

Address: Madero y Hidalgo, Loreto, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Loreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming, comfortable 5 room posada is located near Loreto's downtown plaza and a short walk to the waterfront. The original casa was built around 1918 and restored in 2005 with a flavor of "old mexico" while adding modern amenities. The sala, patio, porch and garden area welcome visitors. There is WiFi, a library of books and DVD's, secure parking and a loving dog to pet. Many traveler's find themselves returning to this friendly inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Damiana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Damiana Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.