We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Cabanas de Loreto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Las Cabanas de Loreto to your Saves list
Las Cabanas de Loreto
Jose M. Moreles St, Loreto, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Loreto
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A slice of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

If you want to get away from big resorts and loud hotels but still be centrally located, Las Cabanas is the place to stay. The whole area feels like home, its tough to get that feeling away from home. Except my home doesn't have a hot tub and is not adjacent to a beautiful harbor with gorgeous sunrises and sunsets. My stay at Las Cabanas was memorable and will always be memorable as I got married during my stay. Jill and her mom Linda played important roles in helping plan my special day. Linda made a wonderful location suggestion for the reception and ceremony. If I could go back and do it all over again I wouldn't change a thing except maybe extend my stay. Loreto is a great town, but the genuine people of Loreto make the place a true gem. Thank you Linda, Jill & Richard for being genuine, attentive and detail oriented hosts.

P.S. Richard is a great photographer, samples of his beautiful nature photos are beautifully displayed in every guest room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
96
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Cabanas is a delightful place to stay. The rooms are very charming and comfortable with great regional decor and photographs. The grounds are exquisite with a great hot tub and pool surrounded by palms. The whale skulls are the finishing touch!
The hosts go out of there way to provide you everything needed for your adventures out to the Sea of Cortez and beyond. The place is fully stocked with day excursion gear for boat and beach going. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I like to skip around a bit when traveling around the towns of Mexico and after staying at four hotels in Loreto; I can confidently say that ‘Las Cabanas’ is the best place I stayed in my two week jaunt-about. The cabanas exhibit extraordinary detail and the proprietors leave no stone unturned to ensure a first class stay. The rooms are adorned with beautiful wildlife photography, artfully displayed by one of the resident hotel proprietors. With the beautiful courtyard gardens, an abbreviated poolside visit may turn in to lengthy sun brewed stay, as it did for me.

Don’t spend too long at the quaint cabanas when there is a town to explore. The hotel provides bicycles at no cost and with a couple of hours to burn, the town’s outskirts have much to offer. Travel south through the dry creek-beds, peddling past the adobe homes near the edge of town as you make your way towards the perimeter beaches, where wildlife yearn for attention . Watch the buzzards swoop down to feast on road-kill while pelicans dive for their daily catch. Watch the fishermen pull dockside while unloading their bounty. Waste away the day before heading back to the cabanas, where cold cerveza awaits—a gift from the hotel proprietors. And when you awake the next day, dish up a bowl of granola, fruit, and yogurt. The granola is made by the on premise family and is so addictive, you’ll swear it’s infused with crack….

Room Tip: all the rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

A gem of a find in what is truly a sleepy fishing village. Jill Jackson has created an oasis of calm and comfort just off the Malecon in downtown Loreto. As an experienced traveller herself, she knows what most of us want and she delivers just that and more. Whether its inviting her guests to join her hiking group in the amazing mountains that stand guard just behind the pleasing little town, creating an impromptu margarita night for everyone to get acquainted, or organizing a killer day on the sea and treasured islands that lay off the coast, Jill is the hostess with the mostest. We couldn't imagine staying anywhere else. Thanks to Jill, Rick and the entire staff at Las Cabanas!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Alaska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I just spent 11 incredible days at Las Cabanas de Loreto on our first trip to Mexico. We chose Las Cabanas de Loreto based solely on the reviews from fellow TA's. I cannot thank you all enough.

This place is amazing! Rick, Jill, and her parents welcome you warmly to the most perfect and comfortable retreat in the middle of paradise. Our cabana had all the comforts of home, with yummy, homemade granola, coffee and fresh fruit waiting for us. The cabanas are casual and intimate, nestled in a gorgeous garden oasis. The setting is ideal for relaxing and laying around the pool reading. The outdoor kitchen is fully equipped for preparing your own meals or there are many wonderful restaurants within walking distance. Exploring the town is easy from their location, either by foot or with bicycles available to use.

Jill is the ultimate hostess and made so many wonderful memories possible for us on this trip. It seemed that we would mention wanting to do something and Jill would present us with the opportunity. One of the unexpected surprises of our trip was sharing the expense of a couple of boat tours with other guests. It enabled us to see and do more than we had dreamed of. We also shared a short hiking trip and a dirt road quest to a fabulous 5 star restaurant.

We came home completely relaxed and renewed, hearts foverflowing with gratitude and happy memories from the trip of a lifetime. We are already planning and looking forward to our next Loreto adventure at Las Cabanas de Loreto.
Mucho Gracias, Tom & Jacqueline

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Las Cabanas de Loreto is a peaceful place to stay whilst in Loreto. We stayed for one week and were made very welcome by Jill, Rick and their parents. The Cabanas were clean and well kitted out for us with a substantial welcome pack of essentials. The gardens, pool and hot tub were in pristine condition. We accompanied Rick - a wild life photographer on two amazing whale watching trips around the nearby islands and drove across to Puerto Mateos on the Pacific side to see the grey whales with their young. Plenty of great places to eat nearby. At the moment there is quite a bit of regeneration going on but it did not spoil our enjoyment of this delightful, authentic Mexican town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at Las Cabanas for four nights recently and were treated to an absolutely amazing experience. From the moment we checked in, Jill & Rick went out of their way to ensure we felt welcome. The grounds and pool area are very inviting and immaculate, and our room was so well equipped we felt like moving in! Not only was there welcome beer in the fridge, but some yummy home made granola, some fresh fruit, milk, and even microwave popcorn! A fully stocked library of books and dvd's were also available, along with snorkel gear, wetsuits, and even coolers and ice for picnics! Jill happily arranged a boat and driver for a tour of Coronado island - where we saw dolphins, sea lions, and tons of bird life. Jill saved us $$ by connecting us with another couple of guests that also wanted to go boating, so we were impressed! Another day, Jill accompanied us and other guests to a fantastic beach restaurant and a little tour through the "outback"! Happy hour mingling with other guests, a chance to sample sublime seafood caught that day, super comfortable beds, great hosts, stunning setting - we'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Cabanas de Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Cabanas de Loreto

Address: Jose M. Moreles St, Loreto, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Loreto
#4 Family Hotel in Loreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Cabanas de Loreto is a quiet and intimate property located just off the malecon, within walking distance to the marina, beach, restaurants and shops. Each of our four cabana studios have kitchenettes, A/C, ceiling fans and two beds and large tiled baths. Amenities include pool, hot tub, wifi, outdoor kitchen with BBQ, bikes, guest laundry, video library, secure off street parking and assistance with planning activities. Each cabana is beautifully furnished with typical Mexican decor and the highest quality towels and linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Las Cabanas de Loreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Cabanas De Loreto Hotel Loreto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Cabanas de Loreto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;