We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view of the Sea of Cortez” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loreto Playa Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Loreto Playa Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Loreto Playa Boutique Hotel
Calle Edwardo Estrada | 109 Oriente, Loreto 23880, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Loreto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful view of the Sea of Cortez”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Roberto and Paulette were perfect hosts. They did everything they could to make our 4 day stay enjoyable. Our downstairs rooms were beautifully decorated overlooking a private patio where we enjoyed a delicious breakfast each morning at our designated time. Roberto brought out the kayaks for a sunrise paddle. We also enjoyed riding the bikes into town. Otherwise, it was a 10 minute walk to the heart of Loreto. Roberto and Paulette were always available to answer any questions or help out. We will return!
Tim and Georgia

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Manager at Loreto Playa Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Tim and Georgia, thank you for the excellent review. We enjoyed having you as our guests and keeping you busy with our kayaks and mountain bikes. Please keep us in mind for your next visit to Loreto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
45
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We LOVED this charming and artistic Boutique Hotel. Our hosts Roberto and Paulette were incredible. The water view from the room and upper deck were great, and sunrises unsurpassed. The breakfast prepared each morning by Zeta were the best. They are lucky to have such a fabulous cook working for them. Roberto set up a boat trip to Coronado Island, which ended up being the highlight of our two week trip to Baja. Their friend Jorge was a wonderful tour guide. We saw so much wildlife, including a close up experience with dolphins, eagles, pelicans. Jorge prepared the best fresh fish tacos on the beach roasted over charcoal fire with fresh salsa made by Zeta. Thanks to our B&B hosts we had this memorable experience. Don't miss the homemade pies. Paulette has the most charming little pie shop in town. We lucked out to find strawberry rhubarb coming out of the oven. . . we purchased the whole pie, and indulged on our deck each evening with fresh pie and locally made ice cream. We are so glad we made the drive to Loreto. The people there are warm, helpful and welcoming. We will return.

Room Tip: We didn't see the other rooms, but we loved the one we stayed in upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Manager at Loreto Playa Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you Cathrine and Phil for your review and visit. It was a pleasure having you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The only thing I can say negative about our stay at the Loreto Beach Boutique Hotel is the name. It is not a hotel but a GREAT B&B, in fact when I looked for B&B's in Loreto the LBBH was listed there.

The B&B is located on the beach just north of the malecon in Loreto. When you first enter the premises you are wowed but the classic Mexican decor. Our stay was in the ground floor suite with a private patio overlooking the Sea of Cortez. I looked at the upstairs suite and if you don't mind going up steps you will be rewarded with a very nice suite with not one but a two level patio. Both have lots of shade and sun with hammocks. They also have a seperate home that families or friends can share. The kicker is the great breakfast that is served on your patio, every evening you select your choice for breakfast. Make sure you pick the fresh squeezed OJ as a juice selection.

Lots to do in Loreto from golf, shopping, trips to the bird sanctuary island of Coronado, kayaking and lots more. Our hosts, Paulette and Roberto are helpful and will help you plan your activities.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Manager at Loreto Playa Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thanks Rick and Ellen for the great review. It was a pleasure meeting you and sharing our piece of paradise with you. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We spent 5 nights/4 days at Loreto Playa in mid-February. We were warmly welcomed by Roberto and Paulette after a 6 1/2 drive from San Jose del Cabo, the second stop on our two-week escape from our Canadian winter. The Upper Suite is really beautiful - a huge comfortable bed, draped in gauze (presumably if there are mosquitos, but there were none, or maybe just for decoration), love seat to sit and watch the sunrise or shift direction to watch one of the movies on-hand, big colourful bathroom, amazing deck - actually two of them, and wonderful breakfasts. Unfortunately we had the ill effects of either something we ate, or flu (we now think it was the salad at our first lunch in San Jose two days before - it was so beautifully presented we forgot the admonitions to non-Mexicans arriving from elsewhere.) Having said that, it wasn't so bad to be 'under the weather' in these gorgeous surroundings, looking out at the palm trees and blue Sea of Cortez... and we were ok the days we planned to drive over the mountains to the Pacific Coast to see the grey whales (awesome) and the day Jorge took us out to chase the blue whales in the Sea of Cortez. We didn't do the excellent breakfasts justice, prepared and served by the gracious Maria, unfortunately, but did recover in time to stroll the beach and the town, visit the Mission and pop into Ette's Pie Shoppe to sample one of Paulette's masterpieces (they all looked amazing so it was a tough choice - I settled on coconut and it was excellent; my hubby had pecan pie and he remembers 'it was to die for'). All in all, Loreto Playa is a great place to stay, and we were very happy with our time there.

Room Tip: The Upper Suite is lovely, spacious and has a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Manager at Loreto Playa Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you Marcia for the excellent review. It was a pleasure having you and Rick here for your Mexican vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We are a Los Angeles family with one 9-yr old son. We love Mexican culture, beach, snorkeling, scuba and fishing, but hate the over-developed areas of Mexico like Cancun and Cabo. Wanting to find a vacation destination close to home that offered us all the amenities we enjoy without paying an arm and a leg for it... Loreto was our answer. Got a great Alaska airlines end of the summer deal ($260/round trip) and booked Loreto Playa based on TripAdvisor's reviews ($99/night). We could not have been happier with our choice! Spacious upper-level sea view room (comfy king bed, a fold-up bed for our son, daily maid service) with balcony and 3rd level viewing tower with hammock, lower level home with cable TV (Netflix, Wii, tons of dvds), full kitchen, quirky small above the ground pool perfect for dipping and cooling off --a beautifully furnished home all to ourselves. And free FULL daily breakfast included --not your typical hotel crappy bread and cereals --I'm talking about fresh juices, coffee, egg dishes, fruit, yogurt, speciality Mexican breakfasts (see pictures! :) that usually filled us enough through lunch! Big savings and value! We felt like royalty when served our delicious, freshly prepared meals. For dinner, we taxi'ed into town (a few minutes, $4) and usually walked home. The owners Paulette and Roberto know what customer service means. Called cabs, suggested restaurants, dive operators (Dolphin) fisherman/captain(Jorge), which saved us from paying "gringo" prices. Paulette even told us where to have the best ice cream in town. We are not "resort renters," but did enjoy purchasing a day pass from the Inn at Loreto Bay (which bought our lunch/drinks) and the over-blown Villas del Palamar, using their spa facilities and Kid's Club. We were always happy to return to our quiet "home." A few highlights: catching 5 dorado in one outing, snorkeling with sea lions, spotting a whale, getting chocolate clams from a clam diver straight out of his hands and an hour later bbq'ing them with the dorado we caught on deserted Coronado Island (armed with a fully prepared picnic basket / chairs from the b&b), snorkeling in warm clear waters and seeing everything imaginable (octopus, sea eels, starfish, rays, turtles). Obviously, we can't wait to return and love Loreto for its safety, undeveloped charm, and friendly people.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with older children and the lower unit is not booked during your stay, inquire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I have been visiting and staying at Loreto Playa for the past ten years I still can't wait to go back. The houses are right on the beach and watching the sunrise over the Sea of Cortez is something that has to be seen to believe. Bob and Paulette run a very clean and professional operation. Their local knowlege and connections within the community make me feel like a local, not to mention has saved time and money by directing us to the right places. The food is great, espeacially the breakfast burritos that Paulette insists we take with us for the drive home! Their houskeeper Zeta is a hard worker with a quick sense of humor and makes us feel like family. Anyone who wants to explore Baja needs to visit Loreto. Anyone visiting Loreto who wants to stay somewhere other than a tradtional hotel should consider Loreto Playa.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had a great trip to the beautiful Baja. The hotel was VERY clean, and we had excellent service. Roberto was and excellent guide, try the charter boat to the island! We enjoyed walking to the beaches and swimming, fortunate to have missed the rain.

We also enjoyed the relaxing on the deck, good value for the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loreto Playa Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loreto Playa Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle Edwardo Estrada | 109 Oriente, Loreto 23880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Loreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
free use of kayaks and mountain bikesbreakfast includedmorning cofffee served outside suite doorbeach out frontwading pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Loreto Playa Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loreto Playa Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.