We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in Loreto” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loreto Playa Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Loreto Playa Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Loreto Playa Boutique Hotel
Calle Edwardo Estrada | 109 Oriente, Loreto 23880, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Loreto B&B and Inns
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great place in Loreto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed at the Loreto Playa's Beach house next door to their B & B. This turned out to be a great place to stay for our family of 6 including 7 and 9 year old grandkids. The family stayed in the large downstairs which included a open kitchen, living room and dining area, large bedroom and separate bathroom. We, the grandparents, had a bedroom and bathroom upstairs with a balcony looking out over the Sea of Cortez. The kids loved being able to just go out the door, down a path to the beach. It was a easy short walk to town and yet far enough away to be a quiet place to stay. We arranged to have breakfast everyday next door at the B and B and are glad we did. Probably the best B & B breakfast food we have had during all our travels in Mexico. Pauline and Robert actually have a menu for each day and each person checks off exactly what they want. We never got to the omelets on the menu.....and the daily choices where the best. Robert helped us with anything we needed. He made calls for us and recommended places to go. Pauline owns the Pie Shop in town and we arranged to have a pie delivered on 2 days. The kids loved it. Would definitely recommend to families or for people who like to be away from the noise in town. On a side note...if you like birds...check out Tom Haglund of BCS Birds in Loreto.....we went out to a lagoon in town and within 2 hours had identified 56 birds in the Las Garzas area..Tom evens makes a list on his web site later in the day so we knew what we saw.....a overall suggestion.....if you can't stand very late night bar noise be really careful where you stay in Loreto....for us the Loreto Playa B and B was quiet and worked great for the family.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
45
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis OR
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This was our fifth trip to Loreto and our fourth stay at Loreto Playa. We always stay in the upper suite, with two terraces; it is like we are in our own home, except someone else does all of the work. Roberto and Paulette are great hosts, always available if you need assistance, while at the same time, respectful of your privacy. The breakfasts on our private terrace are consistantly wonderful, the rooms are very clean, even the terrace is swept daily.
After breakfast we enjoy Paulette's garden: reading, watching the birds (especially the hummingbirds), and watching the Pangas on the Sea of Cortez. We did not even rent a car this year, just walked (about 15 minutes) to town for dinner or shopping. There are other places to stay, and we have looked at most of them, but the ambiance and attention to detail at Loreto Playa can not be beat. I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone I know. In fact, we are already planning our next trip to Loreto Playa.

Room Tip: The guest house is good for families or two couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mancos, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed for 7 nights at the Beach House. It was an ideal location for us. Roberto and Paulette are perfect hosts, arranging trips that were wonderful and unique. We visited the San Javier Mission (beautiful) and then to our taxi driver's in-laws' farm for a look at 'real life' and to enjoy a wonderful Mexican lunch. Delicious. A truly special trip. We also took a panga to Isla Coronadas - where our captain left us and then went to catch our lunch! He brought back sea bass, seasoned and cooked it on a grill and served it with tortillas for the best fish tacos EVER! We were the only ones on the island having fresh catch for lunch. And NEWS FLASH: Paulette has opened up a local Pie Shop "Ette's Pie Shop" - don't miss it!! She makes many different pies (i.e. dutch apple, cherry, key lime...) plus cinnamon rolls and muffins. The cinnamon rolls melt in your mouth. Yummy!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

I would like to give this place 4 stars, but I think I have to go with 3 just because other people have gone a bit overboard on it.

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon, and let me make clear that we had really nice stay here, but there are some things that you should know before booking here. First, is that Loreto is the amazing tourist town that the economic crisis forgot. Which is great for two reasons (1) it is quiet and peaceful, and (2) unless you are there during the absolute peak season, you should be able to get great deals for hotels.

This means that you can stay in a 5 star resort for significantly less than you pay here and get the pools and the amenities that go along with that. Basically, what that comes down to is that this place is nice and charming, but overpriced. We were the ONLY guests here for our entire stay of 9 nights, so don't think they are going to fill the room if you don't get it right away. Look around (unless it is prime, prime season). If you are looking for a charming B&B and not a hotel, this should be on your list, but it shouldn't be the only place (unfortunately it is one of the few on trip advisor).

Positives:
-Paulette and Roberto are really great to their guests and have excellent recommendations on what to do. They refer you to people in the area for great activities. Definitely go to the Island, it is wonderful.
- Paulette and Roberto speak fluent English (and interestingly less spanish than I do even though they have been here 15 years) =).
- The rooms are really nice, and the upper room has two rooftop terraces on two different levels. It is actually too much space.
- Breakfasts are very good and so is the maid service.
- The place is well decorated and the bathroom is really nice.
- You can use their kayaks for free, which we did 3 times. (Though, once we got to Loreto, we realized that they aren't the only place in town that offers similar no-cost equipment rentals).

Negatives: (and here is why it is overpriced).
- The property doesn't have a real pool, which wouldn't be bad if the beach was amazing.
- The beach isn't amazing. Indeed, the walk there takes you through a lot of horse poop and the water is full of seaweed right outside their place. So you have to travel elsewhere for a beach. And--
- It is far from town and other beaches. Basically, you need a car if you are going to stay here, or borrow the bikes a lot.
- The tub in the upper bathroom is kind of strangely designed and makes it very difficult to bathe in it.

And finally, we had a billing dispute at the end of our stay. They ultimately resolved it in our favor because most (though I admit not all) of the evidence was in our favor, but they were ready to charge us for a night that we hadn't planned to stay even though they knew days in advance that it wasn't in our plans. That just hasn't been my experience with hotels and B&Bs, where even if you did book (which most of the evidence said I didn't), you usually can cancel as long as you give them enough notice.

Again, none of this marred our honeymoon, and we had a really nice stay. And I think it is a good option. But try to get some information and look at other places too. This isn't the only nice B&B in town, and certainly not the cheapest. You just have to search in some alternative means to find them.

Room Tip: Both rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Loreto Playa is 5 Stars in comfort with ocean breezes and in total privacy on the decks. We highly recommend the upper suite with two private decks, gorgeous views, hamack in the shade of the palapa. Superb breakfasts served right on your private deck with a smile. Cheers to the friendly and accommodating hosts Paulette and Roberto for providing such a memorable experience. We would definitely return.
Sulo and Louise
Gold Coast Retreat
Tofino, B.C.

Room Tip: The upper suite is the most private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Paulette and Roberto are fantastic. A perfect balance of helpfulness and non-intrusiveness. The fantastic breakfasts on the upper Terrace were a delight. Although a bit further out of town than other places, it's a lovely walk into town, since you can go directly to the beach and the Malecon. Or you can borrow a bike for a straight shot to the town square.

Keep in mind this is a Baja B&B - so it is very small - basically just a house and you are not very insulated from the other activities in the house (the door to the upper room is thin and you can hear everything going on in the kitchen below by ~7:30-8am). There may be other activities and folks coming in and out who are not specifically B&B guests - but I think this is the nature of B&Bs (at least in Baja).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

The upstairs suite is fabulous, the hosts divine and the local staff are incredible in this little bit of paradise on the Bahia de Loreto. We used this spot as an ideal focal p[oint for explorations of the surrounding area. Paulette and Roberto are experienced and knowledgeable and make the stay easefull and pleasant. Oh did I say that the food is out of this world!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loreto Playa Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loreto Playa Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle Edwardo Estrada | 109 Oriente, Loreto 23880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Loreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
free use of kayaks and mountain bikesbreakfast includedmorning cofffee served outside suite doorbeach out frontwading pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and Tingo so you can book your Loreto Playa Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loreto Playa Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.