We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and friendly in Loreto” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Cabanas Loreto

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Loreto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coco Cabanas Loreto
Save
You added Coco Cabanas Loreto to your Saves list
Calle Davis, Loreto, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Small and friendly in Loreto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband and I booked for two days but stayed for a week, and rebooked for our last two nights after a driving trip to the west coast to whale watch. We had a cabin, one of 9 around a small heated pool, overhung with palm trees, where we could watch humming birds and woodpeckers feeding. The cabin had a clean very well equipped kitchen with proper cooker and oven, microwave, fridge, coffee maker, blender and kettle, and usual utensils. Coffee, milk powder and sugar were provided. The bed was very comfortable and we had an en suite shower off the kitchen as well. The terrace outside had a small table and two chairs so we could eat outside if we liked. The cabins provided shelter from the wind on days when it was a bit windy for the beach. I like to feel in a garden setting, and the proximity of the other cabins meant it was easy to strike up conversations with neighbouring guests if you wanted to.

There are videos to watch on the flat screen TV and books to borrow and leave. Sheets and towels were regularly changed, even when not necessary.

Stephen was very helpful, answering questions about where to go, and happily booked a taxi for us to reach the airport on our last day after a car accident. Take care if you rent a car. Even the main roads can be dangerous with huge lorries thundering towards you, and places with no hard shoulders or crash barriers where you might expect them. We got pushed off the road by a wide trailer coming towards us with the trailer over the central yellow line. There was a 40 cm drop straight off the edge. We damaged a wheel and punctured a tyre. The many side roads are often not surfaced, and pot holes and unexpected bumps and dips abound. We would not recommend driving anywhere unfamiliar in the dark.


We found Loreto the most pleasant of the east coast towns we visited, with an attractive sea front. The grey pebble and sand beach is disappointing, but there are gems in the marine park. Much wood and tree debris was being cleaned from the beach following exceptionally heavy rain and floods last autumn. This had had an adverse effect on towns in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    16
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
140
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed for two nights. Unit was huge with a great balcony and view of the ocean. Only one block to the water. Friendly, at-home feeling. Heated pools. And Loreto is beautiful with some awesome restaurants!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Per a friend's suggestion, we stayed at Coco Cabanas in Loreto on January 11, 2014 after a very long drive down Baja. We immediately were greeted by Steve, the American Expat owner. He was terrific and provided us great conversation and restaurant tips. The room was excellent, with full size fridge, stove, blender and everything else needed for self-sufficiency. The rooms have a VHS and there's a huge library of movies to choose from. Being winter, the pool was heated and very warm. Everything was immaculate and well-cared for. We'll be back, in part because Steve was so wonderful. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The hotel has two parts, each with its own pool. One side is more luxurious than the other. We opt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Top Contributor
422 reviews 422 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

we found this place on trip advisor which surely helps us make plans to someplace we've never been. the owner was very friendly, he had been wondering when we would arrive. we drove from san jose and it took us almost 8 hours, not the 6 1/2 hrs. mapquest advised. having a rental car and no shoulders on the highway, we drove at a more leisurely pace than usual. we had a choice of at least 3 different rooms. our room was small, however it had all we needed. it was clean. we sat outside and read on our small patio. looks like a number of people stay there for long periods. a bit difficult to find, however we came across some signs that we followed. a bit iffy looking going down the alley to the motel, however on our walks back and forth to town it was all fine. a 5 minute walk to the malecon, and yes, as others have said, a work in progress. 10 minute walk to "orlandos", where we had dinner and breakfast. 20 minute walk to the town square. all in all, I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My wife and I spent three great nights at Coco Cabanas in December. The rooms and grounds are super-clean and inviting. It's great to have a well-stocked kitchenette to cook the odd meal. Stephen was extremely helpful and accommodating. We'll definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Banda, Baja MX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We've stayed at Coco Cabanas every year, over the past 4 years, on our annual drive down Baja to San Jose del Cabo. We just stayed in the one bedroom casita & it was delightful. The kitchen is fully stocked, there's a flat screen TV & all the furnishing are like new. We hated to leave! Steve spent time with us and made sure that we knew where to go for good food & local sites. Coco Cabanas is at the top of our list as THE place to stay in Loreto!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West coast, USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We just returned from our fourth stay and continue to highly recommend it. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Loreto. We chose to stay in a casita because it has a bigger kitchen and a comfortable sofa, but would not discourage someone from staying in the smaller, very cozy cabanas. Stephen is the best host ever; always full of good advice about local shopping, fishing, touring, restaurants, etc. Location is great, within walking distance of town, seaside, and all services. Local vendors visit the hotel, selling fresh fish, tamales and freshly squeezed orange juice. The whole complex is very well maintained, inside and out. Great service!

Room Tip: Cabanas are great, but casitas offer a more functional kitchen and comfortable furniture. Depends o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coco Cabanas Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Cabanas Loreto

Address: Calle Davis, Loreto, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Loreto
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Loreto
#3 Romantic Hotel in Loreto
#5 Family Hotel in Loreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quiet and secure location is around the block from the marina and public beach. Located only three blocks to the town square, shopping and dining is just minutes walking distance away. We have eight individual cabanas surrounding a patio with pool and barbecue. Each cabana has air-conditioning, full kitchens, stove, microwave, fans, hot water, VCR's with complementary videos and covered patios. With daily and weekly rates, Coco Cabanas will accommodate any vacation budget. This description is based on information provided by the hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coco Cabanas Loreto Hotel Loreto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Cabanas Loreto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.