We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Cabanas Loreto

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Loreto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coco Cabanas Loreto
Save Saved
You added Coco Cabanas Loreto to your Saves list
Calle Davis, Loreto, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Loreto
San Diego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I found this little boutique type hotel in April of 2012 while visiting Loreto. We came back to stay for 3 weeks in January 2013. It was such a great experience. Stephen, who manages/owns the hotel, and his wife, are delightful people. Stephen has many hotel options, which is nice. You can rent a room, or a small casita with a kitchen. There are 2 lovely pools on the property, and a heated soaking pool (like a jacuzzi but w/out jets - I think). Check with Stephen on this. There are barbeques for your use. The location is close to the zocalo, or city center, and only a couple blocks from the malecon and Sea of Cortez. There are some great places to walk and enjoy the area. We also found a great happy hour at Auggie's on the malecon. There were free appetizers daily during 5-7pm, and the drink prices were great! Loreto is a great place to visit!

Stephen also has a wealth of knowledge about the area, and is happy to share his recommendations: of the local restaurants, grocery stores, gourmet stores, fishing, snorkeling, hiking, etc. You will have a great time if you stay at the Coco Cabanas!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
128
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Angel, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I am 81; my wife is in her 70's so we are not into kayaking or scuba diving. But we had a great time at the CoCo Cabanas. Great place. Steve, his wife, and Boss, the black lab, treated us as friends and helped us have a great time.This place offers a clean place to stay at a reasonable price. With the weekly rate the price is a steal. First time in Loreto. The town and the people are very friendly. We felt completely safe.

Room Tip: We were in room 7 which was great. There are 8 cabanas. I don't think you can wrong choosing an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great place: Nice rooms, great location and an excellent host! If you visit Loreto, this is your home!

When you get the handmade map of Loreto which Stephen has made, you know you're in the right place!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I have traveled up and down the Baja hwy. countless times in the last 30+ years. We have stayed in several hotel's as you can imagine but only a few draw us back again and again. One establishment high on our list is Coco Cabañas. We found this little place in 2004 and have returned maybe 23 to 25 times over the year's and have not been disappointed once. We have stayed for a week and we have stayed as long as a month regardless of the length of our stay it is always difficult to leave. Stephen and his wife Josie make us feel right at home with their outgoing friendliness. Stephen will provide you with a list and map of places of interest and restaurants. The place is clean and well maintained but if I tell you it is perfect in every way I wouldn't telling the truth. I see so many review's about hotels in Baja where people claim there is dust in the corner or there is a hair on the bathroom floor well guess what folks, "stuff happen's". Relax and enjoy and stop looking for imperfections to complain about.
Coco's is within walking distance of a lot of things you may need, cold drink's, ice or groceries or whatever. If you choose to drive Stephen can arrange a rental car for you or get a taxi for you with a driver who is fluent in English. We really love Coco Cabañas and we think you will too.

H & K Upland, Ca.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Basic room; convenient to Malecon and main square; fair value. The new upper pool beside the hotel units is quite nice to hang out around. The hotel room was not as clean as it could have been, ie hair left around bathroom sink and on floor from previous guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Owner Steven was fantastic. He made sure we were well cared for and gave us a great room called the shack in the Back. Beds were super comfortable and the mini apartment was spotless. Stocked with bottle water, coffee,sugar, & creamer. This is a must stay place. With a friendly dog Boss made my stay even better. Stevens wife is specialized in massage at a reasonable price. Make sure you ask when you arrive. Very friendly staff. Close to the beach. Pool and hot tub were sparkling clean. Grounds well cared for with beautiful vegetable and flower gardens. BBQ area to cookyour catch if you fished that day. SSurprisingly they even had a smoker to make smoked fish. Stag here you will not be sorry. Very safe and secure place local in town.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Given an option, its nice to have the best of both worlds and Cocos Cabanas allows visitors to experience a bit of both i.e, the tourist town w/ a small taste of real Mexico. Located 5 minutes from the heart of Loreto and the mission, this hotel interfaces with a rural townfolk component, where the cackle of chickens can be heard, if not seen.

Steve and his wife run this great little gem of a hotel, perhaps the only hotel in townwith a heated pool in the winter/spring months. A beautiful flower filled courtyard is a nice place to waste a day or two away, as my wife and I did, relaxing poolside talking with other newfound northwest guests. The hotel provides a great launching point to the malecon, restaurants, watering holes, and other points of interest.

Make sure to stop by Augies at happy hour to enjoy the eclectic mix of expats. You may even see a couple of classic mullets in the bunch, a throwback to an era where trends can stand in eternity. Afterwards, make sure to swing by Vic's, where you can write songs on a cocktail napkin for the bartender to key into YouTube flatscreen, aka a modern day juke box (Loreto style). We even watched Sleepy Lagoon, my 14 year old boy's band, while arguing with locals/expats about the best bands of the sixties.

Cocos Cabanas has any type of room that will fit your budget. Whether you want a full cabana with kitchen, veranda, and living room, or just a simple room with a full bath, they have what you are looking for. Make sure to pick up a customized map from Steve, with recommendations of all his favorite rest stops in Loreto. You can't go wrong relying on decades of experience. Steve is ready to help.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coco Cabanas Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Cabanas Loreto

Address: Calle Davis, Loreto, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Loreto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Loreto
#6 Family Hotel in Loreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quiet and secure location is around the block from the marina and public beach. Located only three blocks to the town square, shopping and dining is just minutes walking distance away. We have eight individual cabanas surrounding a patio with pool and barbecue. Each cabana has air-conditioning, full kitchens, stove, microwave, fans, hot water, VCR's with complementary videos and covered patios. With daily and weekly rates, Coco Cabanas will accommodate any vacation budget. This description is based on information provided by the hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coco Cabanas Loreto Hotel Loreto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Cabanas Loreto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.