We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 weeks at CoCo Cabanas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Cabanas Loreto

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Loreto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coco Cabanas Loreto
Save
You added Coco Cabanas Loreto to your Saves list
Calle Davis, Loreto, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
Mount Angel, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“2 weeks at CoCo Cabanas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I am 81; my wife is in her 70's so we are not into kayaking or scuba diving. But we had a great time at the CoCo Cabanas. Great place. Steve, his wife, and Boss, the black lab, treated us as friends and helped us have a great time.This place offers a clean place to stay at a reasonable price. With the weekly rate the price is a steal. First time in Loreto. The town and the people are very friendly. We felt completely safe.

Room Tip: We were in room 7 which was great. There are 8 cabanas. I don't think you can wrong choosing an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
130
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great place: Nice rooms, great location and an excellent host! If you visit Loreto, this is your home!

When you get the handmade map of Loreto which Stephen has made, you know you're in the right place!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I have traveled up and down the Baja hwy. countless times in the last 30+ years. We have stayed in several hotel's as you can imagine but only a few draw us back again and again. One establishment high on our list is Coco Cabañas. We found this little place in 2004 and have returned maybe 23 to 25 times over the year's and have not been disappointed once. We have stayed for a week and we have stayed as long as a month regardless of the length of our stay it is always difficult to leave. Stephen and his wife Josie make us feel right at home with their outgoing friendliness. Stephen will provide you with a list and map of places of interest and restaurants. The place is clean and well maintained but if I tell you it is perfect in every way I wouldn't telling the truth. I see so many review's about hotels in Baja where people claim there is dust in the corner or there is a hair on the bathroom floor well guess what folks, "stuff happen's". Relax and enjoy and stop looking for imperfections to complain about.
Coco's is within walking distance of a lot of things you may need, cold drink's, ice or groceries or whatever. If you choose to drive Stephen can arrange a rental car for you or get a taxi for you with a driver who is fluent in English. We really love Coco Cabañas and we think you will too.

H & K Upland, Ca.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Basic room; convenient to Malecon and main square; fair value. The new upper pool beside the hotel units is quite nice to hang out around. The hotel room was not as clean as it could have been, ie hair left around bathroom sink and on floor from previous guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Owner Steven was fantastic. He made sure we were well cared for and gave us a great room called the shack in the Back. Beds were super comfortable and the mini apartment was spotless. Stocked with bottle water, coffee,sugar, & creamer. This is a must stay place. With a friendly dog Boss made my stay even better. Stevens wife is specialized in massage at a reasonable price. Make sure you ask when you arrive. Very friendly staff. Close to the beach. Pool and hot tub were sparkling clean. Grounds well cared for with beautiful vegetable and flower gardens. BBQ area to cookyour catch if you fished that day. SSurprisingly they even had a smoker to make smoked fish. Stag here you will not be sorry. Very safe and secure place local in town.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Given an option, its nice to have the best of both worlds and Cocos Cabanas allows visitors to experience a bit of both i.e, the tourist town w/ a small taste of real Mexico. Located 5 minutes from the heart of Loreto and the mission, this hotel interfaces with a rural townfolk component, where the cackle of chickens can be heard, if not seen.

Steve and his wife run this great little gem of a hotel, perhaps the only hotel in townwith a heated pool in the winter/spring months. A beautiful flower filled courtyard is a nice place to waste a day or two away, as my wife and I did, relaxing poolside talking with other newfound northwest guests. The hotel provides a great launching point to the malecon, restaurants, watering holes, and other points of interest.

Make sure to stop by Augies at happy hour to enjoy the eclectic mix of expats. You may even see a couple of classic mullets in the bunch, a throwback to an era where trends can stand in eternity. Afterwards, make sure to swing by Vic's, where you can write songs on a cocktail napkin for the bartender to key into YouTube flatscreen, aka a modern day juke box (Loreto style). We even watched Sleepy Lagoon, my 14 year old boy's band, while arguing with locals/expats about the best bands of the sixties.

Cocos Cabanas has any type of room that will fit your budget. Whether you want a full cabana with kitchen, veranda, and living room, or just a simple room with a full bath, they have what you are looking for. Make sure to pick up a customized map from Steve, with recommendations of all his favorite rest stops in Loreto. You can't go wrong relying on decades of experience. Steve is ready to help.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Loreto is not the most fascinating town, but if you're going there this is the place to stay. It's friendly, charming, tidy, pretty, and quiet. For $80-90/night you get your own little free-standing apartment (the "cabana") with full kitchen looking out on a pretty little pool area with plants. Headman Stephen couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. You're a five-minute walk from downtown and another five-minute walk to the beachfront. I suppose you might prefer a more authentic Mexican experience, but we didn't. We stayed here, left for three days, and came back, and found ourselves really looking forward to returning. It's that pleasant. Upkeep and cleanliness are faultless. Free library of VHS's (really) to use in the in-room VHS players. Spotty but existent Internet connection. The "heated" pool is heated to above-cold, and it was cool and windy when we were there, so it was tolerable, but a hot tub it is not. Don't panic when you see the location--it's down a dirt alley, but that doesn't mean anything in Mexico. The place is so friendly you'll get to know your fellow guests.

Room Tip: The cabanas circle the pool, so they're all about the same. There are also larger apartments in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coco Cabanas Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Cabanas Loreto

Address: Calle Davis, Loreto, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Loreto
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Loreto
#6 Family Hotel in Loreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quiet and secure location is around the block from the marina and public beach. Located only three blocks to the town square, shopping and dining is just minutes walking distance away. We have eight individual cabanas surrounding a patio with pool and barbecue. Each cabana has air-conditioning, full kitchens, stove, microwave, fans, hot water, VCR's with complementary videos and covered patios. With daily and weekly rates, Coco Cabanas will accommodate any vacation budget. This description is based on information provided by the hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coco Cabanas Loreto Hotel Loreto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Cabanas Loreto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.