We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, relax and enjoy their heated pool!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Cabanas Loreto

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Loreto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coco Cabanas Loreto
Calle Davis, Loreto, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 hotels in Loreto
Monmouth, OR
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, relax and enjoy their heated pool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We checked out a few places in Loreto before stopping in here. We were searching for a budget place to save a few peso's on our drive down Baja but this place was just so awesome and the owner Steve was so friendly and welcoming we decided to stay even if it was a little more than we had planned to spend.

We stayed for 2 days in one of the Cabana's and the bed was comfortable, the grounds were well kept and although we did not make it into the pool it was heated and clean! It was pretty windy while we were there or we would have been in the pool for sure! Steve gives you a map of places to go in town that are his favorites and they are spot on great! Just remember the map is not quite to scale ;) They also have hotel like rooms as well, for less money but none were available for our stay.

They do have wi-fi but it does not seem to work well in the rooms as it does outside and as long as the weather is fine that works out great. There is no cable TV but they have a huge selection of movies of all types. The only real complaint we had was there was not a lot of places to put things in the room, such as your suitcases or clothes. My wife did show what she meant to Steve so it got him thinking about future improvements in this area.

All in all a great place to stay, Steve was so helpful and welcoming and was always free to chat about his place, Loreto, Mexico or anything else for that matter. Truly a great person whose pride of ownership not only shows but shines proudly.

Room Tip: There is one king bed and it is in Cabana 3, the one we were in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
124
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had been traveling in Mexico for 3 weeks and when we landed at Coco Cabanas it was like a breath of fresh air. Steve and his dog Boss where there to greet us and both were extremely accommodating. We choose a room within one of the townhouses. You can rent just a room en suite or for a bit more, also get the upstairs with a living room, kitchen and TV with dvds. We chose just the room and Steve brought down the coffee pot with his fresh ground coffee which was wonderful. The swimming pool was refreshing and relaxing and WARM. It was also quite and a short walk to the beach and downtown. We liked it so much, we even stayed here again on our way back down to Cabo. The beds were very comfortable too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broughton gifford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We arrived in Loreto after driving from San Diego down through Baja over the space of a few days.
It was an enjoyable trip in itself, upon arriving in Loreto we asked a couple of businesses for accommodation , finally deciding on CocoCabanas.It was the right decision.

The owner Steve could not have been friendlier or more helpful, arranging fishing trips, diving advice and our laundry, all at very reasonable prices. The accommodation itself is quite basic but clean, tidy and all you will need. A small furnished kitchenette was A nice surprise also the communal areas were better than would be expected, with two pool areas a jacuzzi and outdoor cooking/BBQ areas, the cabanas are within easy walking distance of the town, about a slow 10 min walk.

Loreto is avery laid back Mexican tourist resort, and it deserves to be busier than when we arrived, it is very friendly and safe, don't be put off by any horror stories you here. BAJA CALIFORNIA IS ONE OF THE SAFEST, FRIENDLIEST PLACES I HAVE BEEN. ( sorry about the capitals I just wanted to be clear)

This is a great place to stay in a very nice part of the world, if you are hesitating, don't, you could do a lot worse.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the malacon have sun for more of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aztec, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Wonderful, quiet, clean with a heated pool and a host that can direct you to a bakery within walking distance. We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay on driving route from Aztec NM to Cabo San Lucas. We would definitely stay here again.
Fay and Dave

Room Tip: pick the room nearest the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We were graciously escorted by phone in the dark to these wonderful cabanas by the owner Steven! Fully equipped with a kitchenette, amazing beds and heated pool! Great value, quiet, safe and highly recommended!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernie, BC, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Steve greeted us and we were able to check in early. Steve provided a great map which helped with exploring the town. The rooms were very clean and functional. Two great pools to chose from. Steve also arranged a local driver to take us to the mission. Unfortunately for us the weather was extremely cold so it really did limit the experience. We had to buy extra clothes at the Sunday market to keep warm. Steve, Josey and Boss treated us well. And one last thing. This is a very,very quiet location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is the perfect place to stay if your looking for a quiet, beautiful, modern, clean and most of all comfortable casita/cabanas kind of place. The pools are a hidden treasure. They are located about 5 minutes by foot from the historic donwtown core and about 5 minutes from an endless beach with great swimming/snorkling. Stephen/Jossie are the perfect hosts/guides. They will help arrange your trips, car rentals, boat trips and just about anything your hear desires. They are both great people that really love Loreto and it shows in their smiles and positive attidudes. We spent a week here and will definitely return again, love at first sight!

Room Tip: We stayed in on of the casitas and loved it for the size and ammenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coco Cabanas Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Cabanas Loreto

Address: Calle Davis, Loreto, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Loreto
#6 Family Hotel in Loreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quiet and secure location is around the block from the marina and public beach. Located only three blocks to the town square, shopping and dining is just minutes walking distance away. We have eight individual cabanas surrounding a patio with pool and barbecue. Each cabana has air-conditioning, full kitchens, stove, microwave, fans, hot water, VCR's with complementary videos and covered patios. With daily and weekly rates, Coco Cabanas will accommodate any vacation budget. This description is based on information provided by the hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coco Cabanas Loreto Hotel Loreto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Cabanas Loreto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Coco Cabanas Loreto to your Saves list