We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting away from cloudy north into the constantly sunny south!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja to your Saves list
Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de la Mision de Loreto s/n | Fraccionamiento Nopoló, Loreto 23880, Mexico (Formerly Inn at Loreto Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Loreto
Athol, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Getting away from cloudy north into the constantly sunny south!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Much more beautiful than we had expected! The villa compound was one photo opportunity after another-- a truly lovely area to stroll morning and evening with ample vistas to the Sea of Cortez. Although there are several really nice little cafes (The Wine Cellar, El Corazon, and El Cardon and the hotel's restaurant) there really are not enough places on the compound to eat if you plan to stay more than a week, so an $18( U.S) taxi ride into Loreto is necessary. We loved having Vive Loreto Tours so close and accomodating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    53
    18
    21
    17
See reviews for
39
55
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valdez, Alaska
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Such a good time!! This was the best beach in the area!! The resort had the best water toys and was the perfect snorkeling spot!! The employees were superb, friendly, helpful and top notch!! We loved the food, service, and all of the people!! The resort is very well laid out, close to the beach, and very clean. We can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatLoreto B, Public Relations Manager at Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hi Joister,
Thank you for your comments, we focused last year on adquiring equiptment for the delight and fun of our guests, we are glad you enyojed all of them at our beautiful beach.

We hope to see you soon in our beautiful resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We are a family of 5 adults 25-60 came down for a 10day family holiday.... About 3hours into the stay here we had already done everything there was to offer....
The whole place is empty maybe 30 people here with an average age of 60+.... We are woken up everyday at 730am with the hundreds of construction workers which seem to be only working in front of our place everyday... So we try to head to the pool but oh no they decided to renovate the gym which is right next the the pool and only restaurant.... There is absolutely no way to escape the noise.... Why start renovations on a complex that is only a few years old right at the start of the busy season.. The place seems to be a money laundering venture...
Everything is extremely expensive... The charge more than Canada for everything with really bad food and terrible service... But there must me 10 to 1 staff to guests... I'm in development myself and nothing about this place is good... When you ask the staff what to do that say nothing as in the first day everything and I mean everything has been done...

By 830 at night the place was dead.... With no Internet or tv or music in the condo what do 3 young adults do..
It was so bad I'm considering taking legal action.... It's makes things even worse as we basically got the place for free... As a friend of a friend owns a condo in the complex and he charged us $10 Canadian per person per night... And we are still considering taking legal action over opportunity cost we have all lost...

Never never again......

The town of loretto was pretty much the same every road was being dug up.... The whole water front was completely torn up all the whole place closes at 9 pm

Absolute worst holiday ever...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Alberta
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We spent 3 nights, 4 days at this resort! What a GEM!! Yes it is relatively small, but very nice. The rooms are clean, the vieuw is breathtaking! We had a 4day/3 night package for $249 US. A mini bar in the room, with is restocked daily and the rooms are cleaned in the mornings.
Free wifi in the room and at the pool, with a great reception. There are 3 different restaurants on the premisses, but we only tried the one by the pool for breakfast. It was excellent!
The pool was nice and warm. The waiters come around at the pool and and the beach, that service was good too!
All in all, if you are looking at a quiet get away... this is the place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatLoreto B, Public Relations Manager at Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Dutchi87,
Thank you, thank you, thank you. We love to see reviews like this, in fact our hotel is perfect for a getaway and we are always taking care of details such minibar refill, cleaning, wifi, warm pool, food, etc.

We appreciate your time to write this review and really hope to see you again at our resort.
Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here in October for 4 nights. It's a relatively small resort on a pretty beach south of Loreto. The rooms are simple, modern and nice. Staff is nice, and bikes, kayaks and other beach gear are free for hotel guests. The mini bar is stacked daily and the items were included in our deal. It was really slow at the hotel so they only served dinner in one of their restaurants at a time, which was a bit hit and miss. One night we took the bikes to the surrounding development (which is quite nice for vacation developments) and found a cute local cafe for dinner.

Our biggest issue with the room was the noise. The walls are paper thin, especially the ceilings, you will hear any movement from above. Our door was also missing the rubber gasket so we heard any movement outside the door. Since everything is tiled or concrete (no carpet) these sounds are all extra loud. If you want a quiet stay or even just to sleep in, make sure you get a room on the second or third floor and as close to the beach as possible.

Knowing this, i would come back and enjoy my stay more.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet stay or even just to sleep in, make sure you get a room on the second or third f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatLoreto B, Public Relations Manager at Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Since we are located in Nopoló, our beach and surroundings are almost virgins, perfect for the delight of our guests.
We are glad to read you enjoyed our beach gears and the minibar provisions.

Regarding the noise, we appreciate your suggestions, and we can assure you if you come back, a beautiful room next to the beach will be perfect for your rest.

Hoping to see you soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

I spent 4 days in August where everything was perfect, they really went out of their way to make my stay more pleasant. Rooms were nice and clean and the best thing was the view from my balcony. There is a variety of food so if preferred there is no need to leave the hotel. Perfect place to relax

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatLoreto B, Public Relations Manager at Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Brenda,
We truly appreciate your comments, we are glad to read you enjoyed your stay.
Hoping to welcome you again at our resort,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at Loreto Baja Resort for three days mid-September and it was hot, hot, hot!!! Due to the weather, the pool (and the sea) was like bath water, so we really couldnt get out of the heat unless we stayed in our room. The room we had was fairly basic with the usual hard mattresses that seem to exist everywhere in Mexico - I did ask for a mattress topper which they supplied and it did make a difference. I always wonder why they just dont purchase better mattresses or automatically put the toppers on the beds???

The resort itself is fairly nice and the location is beautiful, right on the Sea of Cortez. Since the sand is volcanic, the water is very dark and that coupled with the signs warning of sting rays kept me out of the water. Otherwise, I would have liked to swim in the sea to try to cool off. We did do a day trip to Isla Coronado which is just beautiful with white sand beach and crystal clear, cool water.

As mentioned in some of the previous reviews, there was a large rain storm that dropped alot of water on Loreto in the previous month. This resulted in the hills being covered with green plants and lots of bright yellow butterflies. There were also alot of flies and mosquitos which I was told were not the norm.

They have two outdoor restaurants and one which is air conditioned by those wall type air conditioners - it never really gets cool, just less hot than outside. As others have noted, the food was very good at all of the restaurants. The waiters and all of the staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make sure that you have everything that you need. All were as helpful as possible especially Noe, the consierge. We got to know him very well as the resort doesnt have a "services directory" in the rooms to give you information about the resort. So, we had to call up to the front desk to to ask simple questions. It would have been helpful to know the times the restaurants were open, how to access wifi, if they had room service, spa prices, etc... We didnt even know that the "air conditioned" restaurant existed until day two!

Since the resort is so far out of town and we were there in the off season, there were really no other restaurants or shops that were open close to the resort. The golf course has golf carts for rent, but only for use on the course. When we were in Belize we were able to rent golf carts to tool around town and we would have liked to have been able to do the same here, but that was not an option. We tried using the free bikes but riding in the heat was tough and then when the chain broke, we gave up.

All in all, the resort is trying hard to serve its guests and Im also sure that at a different time of year it would be much more pleasant. I have been spoiled with staying at resorts in the Riviera Maya with the beautiful caribbean water and more amenities, so I think Im a little biased. As it was, after 3 days I was ready to head to the town of Loreto to try the other hotel I had booked.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatLoreto B, Public Relations Manager at Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear JacarandaSpirit,

We are glad you enjoyed the resort and its beautiful location. As you said thanks to the rain the hills surrounding the place are all green and bright.

We had never received the suggestion to rent the golf carts to tour around the town, we will keep it in mind.

Hoping to receive you again very soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja

Address: Paseo de la Mision de Loreto s/n | Fraccionamiento Nopoló, Loreto 23880, Mexico (Formerly Inn at Loreto Bay)
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Loreto
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Loreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a privileged scenario in the foothills of the majestic Sierra La Giganta and with an exclusive beach at Mar de Cortez, mirror of the always blue sky, you will find our Resort, unique in its type, waiting for you to enjoy one of the 155 ample suites, beautifully decorated in contemporary Mexican style, all with a spectacular view of the sea, mountains and our 18 hole Golf Course, between lakes, mangroves and sea inlets, which is a complete challenge. The Tennis Club harmoniously integrated in the natural landscape and ready for you to enjoy intensely. If your passion is nautical adventure, fishing, diving, kayak, this is the paradise you long to discover. Our expert Concierge will recommend for each day a memorable experience, like our famous Pic-Nic to the Loreto Islands of indescribable beauty, and to relax, our SPA that will take away the stress with the tide and you will be ready to taste a culinary diversity in one of our three restaurants with exquisite cuisine.This paradise to be discovered is LORETO BAJA GOLF RESORT & SPA, and we are waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Loreto Bay Hotel Loreto
Bay Hotel Loreto
Hotel Loreto Bay
Inn Loreto Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.