We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable service!!! A hidden gem!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto to your Saves list
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Transpeninsular km 84 | Ensenada Blanca, Loreto 23880 , Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Escape! Plus Air
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Unbelievable service!!! A hidden gem!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

This place is amazing!! We truly believe everyone should come & experience true Mexico & unbelievable service!!! We have travelled the world & nothing compares to VDP Loreto!!! Salvatore, Julio, Carlos, Miguel & Denisse have made this trip amazing,,,, you must come here to experience authentic Mexico with 5 star service!,

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    94
    30
    7
    1
See reviews for
124
202
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Villa del Palmar is a wonderful resort in Loreto. The view from our 4th floor window was amazing. The one bedroom suite was so comfortable and cozy. All the staff were super nice and friendly. The food was amazing. Loreto is a hidden gem in Baja. It has lots of activities and history to enjoy especially if you like outdoor activities. This was a great vacation. I can't wait to go back. Did I mention the view? Because it was amazing!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Was there was a couple of days, but had both good and bad experiences :
Bad
1. Lots of bees
2. Visited the information meeting about buy(similar to time share ) let me say... bad experience ! I was being forced to buy in and wanted me make a decision right on the spot. Wouldn't allow you to think throughly and get back to them. That ruined half of my morning :-(. This was my first and last time going to these meetings.
3. Location is isolated from town, it's a 40min drive into town however shuttle is free.
4. Would recommend all inclusive , because food is expensive

Good
1. weather was just right
2. Good shrimp tacos in Casa Mia
3. Workers are very friendly
4. Nice & clean room and grounds well kept, although they had elevator problems

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We tried out this new location through our time share and were pleasantly surprised. This Mexico location is so much more quiet, serene and friendly that we'll definitely come back over Cabo, Puerto Vallarta. People have said that there's not much to do. Not so, if you don't need the nightlife! Beautiful beach, kayaking, hiking, bird watching, whale watching, historic town and scenery, reading books (what a concept!), taking naps and gazing at the scenery and the stars at night. The hotel was beautiful with clear and clean pools. Hardly anyone was there with a few families enjoying the pools each day. The maid service was excellent. Edgar, our appointed busboy was very friendly, always ready to help us. The spa was gorgeous. A full day of 'wet' spa use was only $8. The on-site tour company, Wild Loreto was great and I hope they stay around for awhile. The highlight was the trip through them to see the whales on the Pacific side. Fausto was our driver and tour guide and he was great! He taught us how to pet the whales and within a few minutes of getting into the ponga boat the mama and baby whales swam up to our boat and loved being petted and scratched! Also the Wild Loreto "Taco Shack" down the beach from the hotel had the best marguaritas (the hotel's were weak and no flavor) and their fresh fish made fantastic tacos (also try the chocolate clams... they're succulent and fresh). Brian, Juan I and II, Rammses and the crew at the taco shack were friendly and invited us in like we were long-time friends! Jorge made us some great marguaritas at the beach bar in front of the resort. The evenings are very quiet and we loved seeing the bright stars as the lighting was low around the walkways. The local golf course we played at was good, a little ragged, and had some challenging holes.

Some down sides: Slow service at the restaurants at the resort hotel, even though we were about the only ones in the restaurant one night and the menu didn't seem very authentic or unique.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Loreto is exceptionally beautiful, and like most such places difficult to get to. The resort is far from town and the airport. Above all, nothing is free or easy with the Villa Group, owners of the resort. The staff is great, but the Company needs help. I'm only happy we didn't go there 3 years ago when they encouraged us to, since I think I would have been cooking our own meals. When you return home make sure you don't have correspondence about a travel insurance policy that was never discussed there; it can't be handled with the Villa Group; you have to call the insurance company to cancel it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylord, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

So about Loreto - we completely enjoyed our week there. Yes, the hotel is a long way from town - about 40 minutes via shuttle (goes three times a day) and pretty isolated but we did not find that a negative. The property itself is beautiful and the rooms gorgeous. Since there is presently only about 30% occupancy they gladly give one the best rooms in the house. Our room was a corner upper floor with wrap around porch.

There are beautiful pools a mammoth hot tub, a good walking beach and although much of the nearby beach is rough stone and shells they have cleared a portion of the bottom for access. I would still recommend good beach shoes. The immediate surrounding area has good walking trails to the ocean (the resort itself is on a bay) and there is an excellent company on site (Wild Loreto) for all sorts of trips - we visited a mission, went on an island hopping excursion, and crossed to the Pacific for whale watching (seasonal). There are 3 restaurants open at various times. The pricing went from reasonable at the bar/grill to very expensive fancy restaurant, at least in our minds. However, we found the majority of food very tasty. The on site store was minimal but adequate.

Although I am not a Spa person the facilities looked marvelous. The golf course is not started and will not be for a while. One caution is to realize the weather can greatly affect your enjoyment of the area. We had two very cool and extremely windy days. The temp is 10 to 15 degrees cooler than Cabo much of the year although not so in the summer. Most of the staff favored May/ June and early July. The water is also warmer and more clear at that time. August and Sept. are extremely hot.

Now - the best part after the beauty of the area assuming you like desert and water and history. The entire staff of both the resort and excursion desk (Wild Loreto) could not have been more personable or helpful. That goes for the resort engineer (if you go don't miss his desalination and kitchen tour at the resort), to the manager, to the trip guides (Said, Jen at the desk and all others), as well as all the beach and pool personnel. We found everyone very knowledgeable and seemingly delighted to have you visit. Perhaps the pace is a bit relaxed for some, but was it just right for us. There was absolutely no pressure to tour at least for us.

Hopefully this will encourage you to travel there. Loreto is a very different animal than Cabo but greatly appealed to us. We felt very safe both in town (minimal shopping and restaurants but fine for a visit or two) and at the resort. We will definitely make a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Absolutely fantastic resort in some of the most beautiful country you'll ever see. We've been all over the world and seen some fantastic landscapes, but few compare to the rugged coastline fronting this beautiful resort. Located about 40 minutes from Loreto, the isolation only makes this place that much better. Rooms are more like small condos, with fully equipped kitchens and huge balconies(book the one bedroom on a high floor). Four days just wasn't enough!

Restaurants are all very good(but expensive), and they are your only choices that don't require a long drive to Loreto, Breakfast was the best meal of the day. There is an All Inclusive option, but it is only of value to those who drink like fish. We did not bother. Service is very personal and as good as all the other reviews before mine have mentioned, with very little pressure from the timeshare salespeople. We booked the Whale Encounter through Wild Loreto and enjoyed ourselves immensely... especially the interaction with the playful whales.

I strongly suggest you visit as soon as possible, as Danzante has very ambitious plans for the area, with golf courses and condos planned... if that's your thing, wait. If not, and you appreciate peace, quiet and relaxation(like we do), get down there now. We are already planning to go back next year. Tip: call the resort directly, ask for special packages and check the resorts' Facebook page for specials... we called three times and were quoted three different prices, finally booking a great deal(from the Facebook page) that included free air from L.A. Best deals seem to be in February and March, and while the weather can be iffy(a little windy) at this time of year, it is also the best time to visit the whales.

Don't leave without hiking the fantastic trails that emanate from the back of the resort into the at times surreal desert landscape. They are easy enough to do even at night, and the view of the stars over the islands from the viewpoints is amazing... just watch for rattlesnakes!

Another tip: use the free shuttle to go into Loreto... we rented a car, made the mistake of driving at night and had a very unfortunate interaction with the local livestock... the signs warning of cows on the road must be taken VERY seriously!

Room Tip: Book at least a one bedroom unit in the main building on the highest floor possible, and try room se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular km 84 | Ensenada Blanca, Loreto 23880 , Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Loreto
#1 Family Hotel in Loreto
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Loreto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Loreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're seeking a place that defines luxury, look no further than the Villa Group Resort's newest shining-star resort in this amazing Baja village. The hotel epitomizes luxury within a small town while also offering complete privacy and every modern touch. The perfect place for everyone from honeymooners to large families.The resort features 4,447 acres of unspoiled beauty. Boasting three restaurants and 20,000 square feet of turtle-shaped pools, Villa Del Palmar is minutes away from Downtown Islands of Loreto, extraordinary beaches, and world class golf courses.Our restaurants are not limited to just extraordinary Mexican food; featuring restaurants that serve delicious steaks to fine Italian food that tempts every palate. You can even cook up dinner your own room in the private "gourmet chef's kitchen". Naturally, all the amenities that guests of the Villa Group Resorts have come to expect are here too. Send your wife to the spa to enjoy a signature Islands of Loreto-massage, or join your children on an outdoor sports-fishing adventure. Whatever you're in the mood for, it is here waiting for you. See, although Islands of Loreto was actually the first Spanish settlement on the Baja California Peninsula, it will be the last place you'll ever want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa At The Islands Of Loreto Hotel Loreto
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa At The Islands Of Loreto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.