We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation in elegant seclusion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto to your Saves list
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Transpeninsular km 84 | Ensenada Blanca, Loreto 23880 , Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Escape! Plus Air
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
Portland Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Relaxation in elegant seclusion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

If you are looking for a first-rate resort to relax in an isolated location, the Villa del Palmer at Loreto may be your ticket. This new resort is located on the Sea of Cortez about half-way up the Baja Peninsula. Horizon airline (part of Alaska airlines) flies a prop jet into Loreto from Los Angeles. It is then about a 40 min shuttle (prearrange with the resort, about $25 per person each way) from the airport to the resort. The resort runs a free shuttle into the town of Loreto three times a day (45 min each way).
My wife and I had a one bedroom unit that was huge – about 950 square feet. The balcony, with a nice view of the sea and the swimming pools, could have accommodated a party for 20 people. We mostly eat in our unit, and the kitchen was well stocked including Bosch appliances (full refrigerator, cooktop, microwave, dishwasher and washer/dryer). The main bedroom had a king size bed and huge Jacuzzi tub in addition to the shower. There was a second bathroom with shower off the living room for anyone using the hide-a-bed. Daily maid service was provided. There is a main pool with several smaller ones including a child’s area with geysers and a large jetted hot tub that could accommodate 20-30 adults. Being a new resort, occupancy was low, so there was no problem in getting pool lounges. There were even a couple of hammocks and two fire pits near the beach. Although there were lounges with umbrellas on the beach, these were rarely used. The beach is OK at high tide but somewhat muddy at low tide. I went snorkeling by the peninsula rocks to the right and saw quite a few fish. There is an activity desk that can arrange a rental car or a number of activities (kayaking, fishing, snorkeling, etc.). The spa was wonderful with free use of many facilities (e.g., sauna, steam room) and the gym is sufficiently equipped.
We only ate a few times in the restaurant – only one restaurant, with a reasonable menu, is currently open plus a snack shop with burgers, pizza, tacos, etc. Prices for main courses ranged around $10-$20. There was an all-inclusive option for about $89 per person per day. The mini market had soft drinks/beer/wine, chips, snacks, and eggs (bought individually – great for omelets). We took the shuttle into town to get our main groceries. The shuttle drops you off at the Santa Fe hotel, and it is a 10-15 min walk to the El Pescador market. Although the largest market in Loreto, it was limited in selection (e.g. no fish), but we found enough to get by for the week. Contrary to an earlier report, they now accept credit cards. There is a fish market close to the police station. We didn’t really explore Loreto, so I can’t comment about it. Some guests took the evening shuttle (left resort at 6 pm, returned from the Sante Fe at 9 pm) into Loreto for dinner.
This is NOT the place to come to party, but the staff are truly exceptional in making your stay enjoyable. They even put on a show/skit most evenings at the restaurant that is fun. The Villas group has big plans for this new resort – expansion of accommodations including condos, an 18 hole golf course and several more restaurants. Given its secluded location, I wouldn’t hold my breath. However, at present it is a GREAT place to bring a couple good books and relax!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    94
    30
    7
    1
See reviews for
124
202
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

A very quiet resort in a remote location. That being said, The resort in beautiful and clean. It is well run, the resort is spotless, rooms amazing. We were a bit disappointed that the steak house was not open yet, but it sounds like it will be in a week or two. the resort is located about an hour away from Loreto which they offered a free shuttle, but, if you wanted to just chill at this lovely location it was a bit of a problem as the Palmita Market was not very well stocked at all, wine selection was very pricey so you pretty much had to go into town. I have to say the staff is great! A special mention to Cruze (bellman) he was so helpful and friendly, a great addition to your staff. Ler also deserves a great thankyou. He is very sincere and easy to talk too and made sure we were well taken care of...Thanks so much!! it was very much appreciated! The spa is great great great..go check it out, the six of us went everyday to enjoy the wet areas as well as treatments. all were very good. Claudine is the Manager and she is so helpful and goes the extra mile to make sure we were all very well looked after..Again another Thank you to her!! We will be back, perhaps in a year or so when things are perhaps a bit more developed. Overall a great Vacation and one more thing, the Manager of the resort Sixto was a hands on guy that walked around and spoke with the guests..he seemed to be a very approchable guy that cares a great deal about this resort. Thanks everyone!!! Kim and Brian

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

An absolute must for those seeking relaxation and tranquility! Executive Chef, Roberto, offers an outstanding romantic dinner for two that can't be missed. Also, he's one of the coolest chefs you will ever meet. Ask him about diving for chocolate claims in the Sea of Cortez. The Sabila Spa is a worldly escape. Claudine and staff attend to your every need. Do not miss breakfast. Luciano will ensure a meal to remember. If you have issues with anything, Ler is the person to see. He ensured we would have a vacation to remember. We can't wait to visit again and spend more time with the wonderful staff!


Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon, United States
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We just returned from 10 wonderful days at VDP Loreto. It was by far the most relaxing vacation we've had. As other guests have commented, the resort is remote. The free resort shuttle ride was about an hour from the quaint town of Loreto. We took the San Javiar Mission Tour offered by Wild Loreto. It was awesome and our guide Said was quite knowledgable and a lot of fun. He also was our Island Excursion guide. Said actually dove in the water (machete in hand) and rescued a baby dolphin that was stuck in fishing line!

We enjoyed the shows put on nightly by staff. Food was very nice, pool service excellent. The entire staff treated us like royalty. Alexandro arranged for an upgrade so we could have a hot tub on the balcony, Jorje was great by the pool, Yazmin, Angela and Rafi were lots of fun at water aerobics. So very friendly. We also enjoyed Mario's tour of the water plant that processes salt water to fresh.

Cudos and thank you to all the staff!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a wonderful place to relax if you don't plan on doing anything but enjoy the poolside and the beautiful views. If you want to do site seeing I highly recommend renting a car so you are not tied to a shuttle schedule which is very seldom throughout the day. Also, the long drive into town, 50 minutes which includes the very long 2 mile drive from the resort to the main highway because it's a dirt road and then the highway that has been severely damaged from the recent rain storm with a lot of washed out sections on the highway. The resort has wonderful poolside and absolutely beautiful views of the ocean. Make sure to go to Coronado Island as it is a fantastic white beach and beautiful blue waters! The food on the resort is not the best but the poolside snacks are decent. Also, there is no internet in the rooms so you have to specifically ask for a remote modem to be placed in your room. We had to ask twice before they would finally offer a remote modem. We will consider coming back in another 10 years when just maybe the roads will be finished and repaired.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for "A" or "B" rooms as these are the rooms with views of the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Villa del Palmar, Loreto, is still fairly new. I think it first opened in Nov 2011. The resort is about 30 min from the airport, located on it's own pristine bay. There is nothing else nearby. Having said this, if you decided to rent a car, it may be a good idea to travel into Loreto first (the opposite direction from the airport) before heading to the resort so that you can go into a market to stock your kitchen. I'm not sure of the construction timeline, but the access road to the hotel is a paved dirt road, once you leave the highway.

I was there the first week in September and the resort was only 35% occupied. From a vacationer standpoint, this was great! I'm sure that as time moves on, the occupancy rate will continue to climb steadily.

The resort is beautiful and well-tended to. The rooms were spacious and well equipped. We had a corner room on the 4th floor with a wrap-around balcony that was spacious and overlooked the bay. The view alone was mesmerizing.

The spa and fitness center are fabulous. Several whirlpools (of various temperatures), wet and dry saunas, and various showers to indulge in. It was all so serene since one whole wall was floor-to-ceiling windows that overlooked the desert hills and countryside.

The staff were attentive and personable. Most initiated contact to bid us good-day and to ask if there was anything we would need.

The hotel also provided various entertainment options (activities for kids and adults). Example: Movie Night, Broadway Night, Karioke Night.

Prior to the trip, I searched for scuba shops. I thought I would arrange something in town (Loreto) with an experienced dive shop. The travel to town was 45 min away and seemed like a lot of work to try arrange for some diving. Wild Loreto, with an office in the Hotel Lobby, was definitely more convenient AND as it turned out very capable. It was also convenient in that you could pay for the excursions through your hotel bill.

I definitely would go back again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We are gold owners at the property in Cabo and decided to spend our 30th wedding anniversary at the Loreto property. The property is beautiful however, they are definitely not ready for prime time. The shower in our spare bathroom was never fixed, the water pressure in the kitchen and spare bath was horrible. The maid service was fabulous. The view is great. The restaurant and pool service was slow and unattentive. They push all inclusive but there is still only one formal restaurant and an outside bar/grill. It's 25+ miles from town not 12 as they advertise. There is a shuttle 3 times/day. We were over run by mosquitos and grasshoppers...so don't forget the bug spray. If you want an isolated vacation then this is what you are looking for. If you want alitlle variety and night life then Cabo is still it.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor so maybe rooms on a lower level would have more water pressure but views be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular km 84 | Ensenada Blanca, Loreto 23880 , Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Loreto
#1 Spa Hotel in Loreto
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Loreto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Loreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're seeking a place that defines luxury, look no further than the Villa Group Resort's newest shining-star resort in this amazing Baja village. The hotel epitomizes luxury within a small town while also offering complete privacy and every modern touch. The perfect place for everyone from honeymooners to large families.The resort features 4,447 acres of unspoiled beauty. Boasting three restaurants and 20,000 square feet of turtle-shaped pools, Villa Del Palmar is minutes away from Downtown Islands of Loreto, extraordinary beaches, and world class golf courses.Our restaurants are not limited to just extraordinary Mexican food; featuring restaurants that serve delicious steaks to fine Italian food that tempts every palate. You can even cook up dinner your own room in the private "gourmet chef's kitchen". Naturally, all the amenities that guests of the Villa Group Resorts have come to expect are here too. Send your wife to the spa to enjoy a signature Islands of Loreto-massage, or join your children on an outdoor sports-fishing adventure. Whatever you're in the mood for, it is here waiting for you. See, although Islands of Loreto was actually the first Spanish settlement on the Baja California Peninsula, it will be the last place you'll ever want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa At The Islands Of Loreto Hotel Loreto
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa At The Islands Of Loreto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.