We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go there now while the getting is excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto

Save Saved
You added Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Transpeninsular km 84 | Ensenada Blanca, Loreto 23880 , Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 hotels in Loreto
Ketchikan, Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Go there now while the getting is excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Brand new, this place is a step back in time for service and surroundings. It is a 30 minute van ride from Loreto. If you are looking it up on Google Earth it is opposite Danzante Island south of Loreto. Brand new, the spa is large with massage, hot tubs, plunge pool, steam rooms, saunas. In the works are two courts on the roof of the spa. The activity staff puts on shows at night and runs activities during the day-hiking, water aerobics, stand up paddle boarding, snorkeling, kayaking, spanish lessons, tequilla tasting, etc. If you are not into any of that you can lounge poolside and be waited on, have your umbrella adjusted. There are five different pools and one large hot tub. If you don't care for the poolside scene, there are hammocks and fire pits with built in couches. A big beach that encompasses the entire cove. Beach Club "El Sanctuario" is an outdoor bar where the kayaks are located. Gardens. Hiking trails. There is an American Plan for meals and all drinks. The suites all have large porches with comfortable chairs and glass tables. Of course there are TVs in each room. Deep large tubs, too. The staff is truly interested in your happiness. What a throwback in time. Go now before it gets "discovered" !

Room Tip: Cornor rooms in front on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    272
    83
    28
    6
    1
See reviews for
100
181
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NEKOOSA
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Knowing the resort was not completely finished, we wanted to find out just how things were "in the beginning". Even being met at the airport, when we didn't know for sure if that was going to happen, made us feel that the staff knew we were coming and from that time on were there only to make it a great vacation for us, and be available at all times.
Exceptional is the best way we will describe the staff, the accomodations,the food, the spa,(just opened) the beauty of nature all around.
New Years Eve was a fun time with a great dinner and a show by staff members we had already come to know by name after two days at the resort.
At present this is a resort to relax and be pampered. Occupancy is still low, so each person is made to feel special. Pools were not crowded, hot tubs not over loaded, restaurants not rushing you out. Stay for the firey production of Mexican coffee.
A trip to downtown is good just to see the area. There too, there is no pressure, not a lot of noise and places to sit on the Malecon just to watch the ocean.
We liked the areas specified to keep natural and protect the natural habitation.
The firepits on the beach are a great touch.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

My Wife & I were welcomed into the resort by Miguel, one of the daytime Managers. Miguel introduced us to a local custom involving warm water on your hands followed by a warm towel to relieve the stress of travel and welcome you into a peaceful place. We were asked to fill out a questionnaire detailing any special needs and desired activities during our stay. From the moment we we arrived we were cared for and attended to in a way that made us feel special. The staff would go out of their way to ask us how we were doing and if anything needed attention in any way. As a matter of fact, we mentioned that my Wife's pillow was too big and that she could use a thinner pillow and that it would be nice to have a small side table on our balcony to Bryan from activities while out hiking. When we returned to our room an hour later the room had 2 down pillows which were perfect and a small side table on the balcony...

My Wife and I are Gluten intolerant and my Wife additionally has sensitivities to cheese and molds. The kitchen modified meals to accommodate our food sensitivities! The waiters worked with the kitchen to offer options to what we could not have and substitute it with what we could have. We preferred the Casa Mia restaurant over The Market for both the casual atmosphere and the menu pricing. That said, the chicken mole, poblano pepper soup and panna catta chocolate mousse at The Market was exceptional as was the authentic traditional dancing and costumes at the dinner show. A bonus was that we ate at The Market on our 4th night and knew 4 out of 5 of the entertainers by name already from doing prior activities like hiking and karaoke.

There are currently two hiking trails defined. One with interpretive signs and displays which took us an hour taking our time and having Bryan explain about the local flora and fauna. The other hike is defined, but does not yet have interpretive displays and took us two hours, mostly due to picture taking and looking for whales, etc. Great job Bryan! There is a daily paper delivered that has current world news, US and global, sports, a Sudoku, crossword and daily activity update including dinner show, karaoke, cooking lessons and more...

We got invited to go with the staff to the adjacent town of Ligui on Jan 6 to give the local children toys and candy for The 3 Kings celebration. The hotel entertainment staff dressed up as the 3 Kings and they really made a lot of local children happy. At one point during the piñata portion the kids were getting close to the active piñata hitting child and the General Manager, Sixto stepped in to make sure no kids got hurt... from introducing himself to us at the pool to asking if there was anything we needed to inviting us to the 3 Kings event, Sixto the General Manager of the resort made us feel like special family.

We celebrated my 50th birthday while at the resort. It was on the questionnaire that we had filled out on arrival. When we came back to our room on my birthday the bed had Happy 50th birthday written in blue aquarium pebbles on the bedspread with two clamshells with white and dark chocolate truffles and several balloons around the pillows. Really nice surprise!

I really can't say what could have been better on this trip. A wonderful experience. No stress. No vendors. We did do a timeshare presentation, but it was super low key and we were done in 90 minutes. I am looking at my list of special people to thank and I have 17 people! So, the extra exceptional standouts are Bryan in activities, Alejandro, David and Augustino at the Casa Mia bar, Jorge and Cesar waiters, Lucia and Doobies at karaoke. Managers Daniel from Casa Mia, Ler and Miguel from the lobby. Special thanks to Sixto for making this resort feel like home to regular people like us, muchos gracias!

This is a relaxing, stress free time. Very romantic, yet family oriented.

We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask if an upgrade is available. We were able to upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol,CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I agree with the rest of the reviews that it was a little eerie being in a resort with less than 50 guests. Not sure if it is a soft opening still or just too under construction for most folks. However we have never been to a resort with such a stellar staff and luxury. The rooms were so well appointed, from the high end appliances, washer and dryer, and plush linens, to the ocean and mountain views, we were impressed. My daughter, being the only child there, was treated like a princess. She turned 6 there and not only did they help her make a lady bug pinata, they filled it with candy and had a party for her, also filled our room with balloons. Wow! Victoria is the best, my daughter actually sobbed as we left her. Bryan, Carlos in activities were so great as well. We spent a lot of time at Wild Loreto down the beach, clamming, and just hanging. The downside of the resort was: lack of guests (a little too mellow) and the weather. (no fault of theirs) It was cold. Cannot wait to go back in the fall or spring. Also I recommend renting a car, their shuttle runs only 4 times a day and comes back early from Loreto (when bar scene just starts happening)Also this way you can take advantage of area hiking trails and fishing on your own. Bring your own coffee as the espresso machine was never running and the drip was pretty mediocre (the coffee snob in me) Thank you Villa Palmar I hope you give lots of love to your staff, they are gems!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West coast, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Liked: beautiful views of islands and mountains, quiet surroundings, lovely room accommodations, very attentive/caring staff, great beach for sunbathing and walking to nearby caves and small fishing community nearby.
Downside: Food was good, but very overpriced. It is worth the trip into Loreto town for great food at very reasonable prices.
Overall, this is one of Villa's best. The fact it is unfinished and not yet surrounded by all the glitter of its other resorts is a plus for me. The location is remote but well worth it for the quiet, natural surroundings.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Well we just got back from spending Thanksgiving week there. If you want a SLOW laid back trip than you will enjoy this place. It is about 45 minutes from town, and currently they only go 3 times per day. The beach was fun to walk on.

All of the staff starting with Sixto, the GM, Issac, Daniel, Omar, Ernesto, Roberto, and Bryan were great. They would always go out of their way to greet you, talk with you and ensure that your stay was good. They would go above and beyond to get whatever we needed.

The room was absolutely stunning, with a great patio, jacuzzi tub, and a very comfortable bed. My wife has a hard time sleeping in hotel beds, but she was actually able to sleep in on this trip, and really relax. You can order food/drinks by the pool. There is a small gym with new equipment to do pretty much anything you need.

I would reccomend taking a panga trip to coronado island, and the mission trip was very interesting. You can arrange all of this from Carlos inside the hotlel lobby.

My only complaint is that it's toooo slow. I don't want the party life, but there were only like 40 people total in the entire place...there were times that we had the entire pool to our selves. It will be more fun when there is more interaction going on there. But that isn't their fault...just my personal preference...I would go back in 5-10 years after it has grown...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Just spent Thanksgiving at the Villa (11/22 thru 11/29). Wife, son, nephew & his wife. What an enjoyable time. From the minute we got there we were treated like celebrities. The general manager (Sixto) took care of us and got us a upgrade to a three bedroom unit the following day that was spectacular. He did a great of making us feel welcome and checked with us a lot during our stay to make sure everthing was going well (which is always was)

Mark in sales explained our options without any of the usual pressure and got us to transfer our ownership to the points system. We have owned at the Villa since 1995 and have heard all the upgrade approaches over the years so this was unexpected, but I'm glad we did.

The food was fantastic at both restaurants, very nice presentation. The wait staff at both were very helpful and very accomodating with our special libation requests. They brought our dinner to the room a couple of nights so we could eat out on our spacious deck. We had Thanksgiving dinner by the pool and each table got their own Turkey with all the fixings. We even got the leftovers so we could enjoy turkey sandwiches for the next couple of days.

We took a panga out to Coronado Island and had a great time watching the dolphins and sea lions before several hours snorkling at a beatiful white sandy beach. All was arranged perfectly by Carlos and Allen did a great job as our guide on the trip and the skipper Salvadorie was wonderful to talk to. We went up to the Mission as well and had a good time and a nice authentic Mexican lunch with a couple of beers. Allen explained a lot of the history behind the area and the mission.

I want to give a special shout out to Daniel, Ernesto, Omar, Roberto, Alberto and Bryan for making our vacation a very special one.

All in all we had a fantastic time, it was so different from Cabo, no vendors!!!!
The resort is in a beautiful desert setting with it's own aqua blue bay that's good for swiming, snorkling and just strolling on the sandy beach. They have kyacks and padleboards as well.
We are already planning our next trip, probably in April. This place is very laid back, peacefull, and relaxing. Hopefully it will be this way for some time to come.
If it seems like we ENJOYED this place, then you get the point!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular km 84 | Ensenada Blanca, Loreto 23880 , Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Loreto
#1 Family Hotel in Loreto
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Loreto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Loreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're seeking a place that defines luxury, look no further than the Villa Group Resort's newest shining-star resort in this amazing Baja village. The hotel epitomizes luxury within a small town while also offering complete privacy and every modern touch. The perfect place for everyone from honeymooners to large families.The resort features 4,447 acres of unspoiled beauty. Boasting three restaurants and 20,000 square feet of turtle-shaped pools, Villa Del Palmar is minutes away from Downtown Islands of Loreto, extraordinary beaches, and world class golf courses.Our restaurants are not limited to just extraordinary Mexican food; featuring restaurants that serve delicious steaks to fine Italian food that tempts every palate. You can even cook up dinner your own room in the private "gourmet chef's kitchen". Naturally, all the amenities that guests of the Villa Group Resorts have come to expect are here too. Send your wife to the spa to enjoy a signature Islands of Loreto-massage, or join your children on an outdoor sports-fishing adventure. Whatever you're in the mood for, it is here waiting for you. See, although Islands of Loreto was actually the first Spanish settlement on the Baja California Peninsula, it will be the last place you'll ever want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa At The Islands Of Loreto
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa At The Islands Of Loreto Hotel Loreto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.