We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go back soon enough!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto to your Saves list
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Transpeninsular km 84 | Ensenada Blanca, Loreto 23880 , Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Escape! Plus Air
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
Sonoma Ca.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Can't go back soon enough!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

It' very simple! Great Resort! Great Service! Located on a very beautiful untouched bay! We just loved the staff! From the entertainment to the food and beverage to the front desk etc,They are always making sure you are having a great experience! The town of Loreto is a 30-40 minute drive away by a free great shuttle service leaving every 2 hours or so in both directions. The drivers will even stop off at a corner store on the way for your convenience! Just tip the drivers, they do a wonderful job for you. The town of Loreto is a beautiful, friendly town located on the Sea of Cortez! A hidden jewel! It is so nice to go to a town of 12,000 or so and not see one Franchise business! No Starbucks, no McDonalds or Taco Bells etc. Just the hometown family run businesses! The town has a lot of history and ambiance and great restaurants!For the week we were there we met so many wonderful people! I sure hope the town doesn't change much and I hope the resorts don't take over the area! My guess it wil take years! So enjoy it now while you can! Next year already booked and we can't wait!

Room Tip: We had a corner unit facing the pool and it had an unbelievable balcony! I'm guessing 800-1000 s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    94
    30
    7
    1
See reviews for
123
202
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Been going to Cabo sine 1996. Don't know if it's gotten louder and more obnoxious, or if I've gotten older and more mellow, but Loreto was EXACTLY the vacation my wife and I have been yearning for. No beach peddlers, no loud bingo at the pool, no drunks screaming "wooooo!" Just a peaceful, quiet week in paradise. The ocean is calm and shallow. Great for kids - my two year old LOVED it. The resort is unfinished, so it obviously needs some work. The staff is green but VERY helpful and seem genuinely happy that you are there. That goes a long way in my book.

If you are looking for a crazy party, please, for the love of God, keep going to Cabo. I'll be hoping that Loreto stays nice a quiet for years to come.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

as of October 2011 it is still under construction but what is there is beautiful. It is a place to totally relax. If you are into the Cabo scene you will find this place too quiet and too far away from town to walk, but if you are tired of the wild nights, constant harassment of timeshare and beach peddlers attacking you, you will love this place. The staff are wonderful and many live nearby and will welcome you to their home for fresh clams or tortillas! The people in the town of Loreto are welcoming and friendly.

I think it is sad that they have so much development planned for this area, being that it is a nature reserve, but that will take years to realize so enjoy the peace and quite while you can. I cannot wait to go back and use the spa facilities...

Room Tip: Almost all the rooms have a great view of the pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofallon mo
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We celebrated our 25th anniversay at the Villa Del Palmar Loreto, Mexico October 21 to October 28, 2011.via direct non stop service from L.A. friday to friday.
Marielia was instrumental assigning a ground floor room for us close to the restauants and beach as well as Ler Medina. Both were exceptionally professional.
We are time share owners and were pleased with their soft opening continuation.
The one bedroom suites are of course luxurious. I also appreciated managements decision to limit the number of guests during the soft start opening while the the details are refined.
Our room was needing some completion with the spa tub, which was attended to promptly.
This is a smaller luxury hotel, secluded along one of the protected Loreto Marine bays.
which to us VDP time share owners represents a guarantee that the beach bay will not be comprimised, protecting the small stingrays, sea turtles and other marine life. I will say that this is not a Cabo San Lucas envirionment.
The spa is under construction, but one could request a message and other services.
Bicycles are available, several trails leading to view the sea of cortez offer additional recreation as well as kayaks, snorkeling gear for rent. There are several snorkeling trips, etc that are conveniently docked in the bay, so one does not have to travel to Loreto (45 minutes) away. Also in the bay, Chocolate Clams are plentiful, some of our new friends collected bags and prepared in their suites. The staff offered to prepare also. Each afternoon the tide recessed so one could walk over to other beaches to see the bright pink, red and gray hermit crabs. Pelicans offer amusement "fishing" Another treat was viewing a palomino with four white stockings appear above one of the beaches grazing. One day on the beach three wild horses decided to say hello, but were promptly ran off by the security guards. We were not quick enough to enjoy observing a sea turtle that had layed its eggs on the beach, but most of the guests were able to view.,
We opted for the all inclusive meal plan which is $84.00 U.s. per person daily. We are from St Louis and found all of the meals and beverages comparable in price at VDP Loreto.
With the exchange rate of $13 pesos to $1.00 U.S., one might be better off not using the all inclusive plan...but if you enjoy wine with dinner and a few adult beverages in the afternoon, the all inclusive plan pays for itself, we opted adding an additional 15% gratiuty.
There are only two restaurants open currently. The market which serves breakfast until noon and reopens at 6:00 for fine dining.
Breakfast was a buffet two mornings offering omelettes, the remaining mornings ala carte. All of our breakfasts were cooked and served very well.
The Casa Mia is an open air beach front restaurant serving wood fired pizza's, fabulous shrimp coctails, real tacos, great hamburgers and Lobster nachos, etc. Chef Julio came to all of the tables and personally expressed his gratitude for us enjoying lunch.
The Market reopens at 6:00 pm serving fresh fish, lobster, which we had three times, fabulous lasagna and desserts...we had ice cream every night with a prailine tuille cup drizzled with caramel and raspberry sauces. We are foodies and more than recommend eating at the restrauants. Some of the guests opted to eat in Loreto, but most of the people we met returned to the VDP for meals.
The staff provides entertainment some nights, dancing, improvising, etc., but the most important comment on the shows are that each person truly enjoys interacting with the guests.
this is not broadway, but enjoyable.
Now for the staff which VDP management obvisously excels hiriing.
Ernesto, maite d'i or el capitan professional, always smiling greated us each morning, afternoon, evening.
Juan Gabriel, Omar, Jorge and the exceptional young man who served us our last night, were all over the top professional, always happy and made us feel geuinely appreciated as guests.
The Service from the time we arrived to leaving, we were treated like royalty.
Now, several of us jokingly said that we would write unflattering reviews because we do not want this spoiled...do not want this area to become a Cabo San Lucas, not that this is bad, but this area is truly a very laid back, Spa like retreat especially good for small children and families. the spa will be finished. if you go, be ready to RELAX...this is what we loved about it.
And also if you go and see the palimino raise a toast Viva El Loreto Bay Cabello..we will definely return.

Room Tip: The east side rooms near the restaurants and pool area are very nice...stay away from the west side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011 via mobile

This resort is not quite ready for prime time usage. It is a beautiful resort in a georgous setting, but for now that's about where it ends. It's very isolated even for non-parting types like myself. Right now the restaurant options are very limited. They say they have 3 on the website, they have 2 and actually it's really like one because they aren't open at the same times. Most menu items were not that great. The only dinner options are rather expensive.
I don't think the management has quite figured out that maybe they should be doing some things to compensate the guests for unfinished conditions they are experiencing at full price....
However some of the staff are trying very hard to make the place
go...Bryan the activities director is great. The wait staff tries but need some coaching.
Overall I would not recommend going to this resort for at least a year or so.....

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

This resort has many kinks to work out, but they did a great job hiring staff. Bryan, Victoria, Cesar, Roberto and Augustin are all fantastic (plus many others).Thanks to all of you for making our vacation fun and memorable!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

I was with Krapegirl who wrote a not so nice review about VDP Loreto. This resort is 45 minutes from the small town of Loreto, and if you don't rent a car, you are dependent on the three times per day shuttle that VDP offers free of charge (be sure to sign up - a taxi is $25 per person). We did have a really nice view from our room and the employees were, although many not trained, very nice. They are under construction, the spa is not finished, there were not many people there and they want to charge you for everything. When we asked about where the hike was, everyone said they did not know and pointed to the activities desk. Basically, everyone knew where the trail was but they wanted to charge you for a guide - on a two mile hike. Really. (We found the trail ourselves) The timeshare staff were really nice until you made it clear you would not go to the '90 minute member update session' which we have been to numerous times and don't want to go on again. We don't care what they offer us.
The resort does have potential, the pool area is beautiful with much attention to detail, fire pits and great star gazing. The nightly entertainment was not in harmony with the natural environment, and frankly strange. On the other hand, Wild Loreto, the adventure service that works with VDP was fantastic! Alan and David were our guides and both are great guys.
We have been to Villa Del Arco in Cabo many times and were looking forward to the same top notch service that we experience when we go there. This resort, being so far out and proclaiming to be a five star resort, has a long ways to go before we would consider coming back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular km 84 | Ensenada Blanca, Loreto 23880 , Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Loreto
#1 Spa Hotel in Loreto
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Loreto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Loreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're seeking a place that defines luxury, look no further than the Villa Group Resort's newest shining-star resort in this amazing Baja village. The hotel epitomizes luxury within a small town while also offering complete privacy and every modern touch. The perfect place for everyone from honeymooners to large families.The resort features 4,447 acres of unspoiled beauty. Boasting three restaurants and 20,000 square feet of turtle-shaped pools, Villa Del Palmar is minutes away from Downtown Islands of Loreto, extraordinary beaches, and world class golf courses.Our restaurants are not limited to just extraordinary Mexican food; featuring restaurants that serve delicious steaks to fine Italian food that tempts every palate. You can even cook up dinner your own room in the private "gourmet chef's kitchen". Naturally, all the amenities that guests of the Villa Group Resorts have come to expect are here too. Send your wife to the spa to enjoy a signature Islands of Loreto-massage, or join your children on an outdoor sports-fishing adventure. Whatever you're in the mood for, it is here waiting for you. See, although Islands of Loreto was actually the first Spanish settlement on the Baja California Peninsula, it will be the last place you'll ever want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa At The Islands Of Loreto Hotel Loreto
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa At The Islands Of Loreto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.