We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“classic mexican hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oasis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Oasis to your Saves list
Hotel Oasis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd Lopez Mateos, Loreto 23880, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“classic mexican hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the past 5 years. It has a great location - facing the Sea of Cortez and Isla Carmen. Rooms are basic but clean. Restaurant serves typical Mexican fare. 5 minute walk to the center of Loreto. One of the best things --- it is located away from downtown and therefore away from the noises of Friday and Saturday night festivities !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Tuolumne, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We spent one night in Hotel Oasis. We loved being right on the beach with terrific views of Carmen Island. There was no street noise. I saw more song birds in the lovely gardens than anywhere else in the area. The room was clean and there was plenty of HOT water for showers. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I particularly liked being able to buy an ice cold Negro Modelo at the bar and walk 50 feet to a lounge chair in the sand under a little palapa with an unobstructed view of surf and sky. Absolutely the best location in town.

Room Tip: The rooms furthest from the bar (to the south) are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Although the room was a bit out dated, it was clean and the bed was comfortable. Our room had an excellent view from the second floor deck. The grounds were amazing with a bar and separate indoor/outdoor restaurant that we ate at several times. The food was always fabulous and all of the staff were so kind to us. We were pleasantly surprised that four of the most beautiful, polite, friendly dogs lived on the premises. They kept us company through out our stay and helped us from getting too homesick for our critters at home. We walked everywhere from the motel yet it was a bit secluded from rest of the town. From the motel we could either walk on the beach or on the maleconn. The town of Loreto is charming and had so many good restaurants we didn't have time to try them all. No phone in the room (our cell phones didn't work here either), but the staff was kind enough to provide a "wake-up knock" on the door one morning when we had an early adventure to get up for. Thank you to the staff at Hotel Oasis for your hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PacifcNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel is it sits right on the beach. Enjoy beautiful sunrises and sunsets just steps away from you room.Our room was quite large with two beds, a big dressing area, and a coffee maker. Outside seating area with bench. It also just a 5-7 minute walk to downtown. On the downside, while very clean, the room itself did not have much charm. They were repainting some of the rooms which looked to be a bit more 'colorful'. We did not eat at the resturant, but it looks very nice. At $109 this was the most expensive hotel on our trip. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here many times, often with large (10-15) groups. The site on the water is hard to beat, nice clean rooms, good restaurant and bar.
OVER THE TOP SERVICE:
We needed to leave before the restaurant usually opened. All we had to was ask and they not only opened early, they prepped our food ahead of time for a quick turnaround. They also put together sack lunches so we could have lunch on the road. Good prices and customized meals are all part of the service at the Hotel Oasis.
DID I MENTION THAT WE HAD TO LEAVE EARLY?
We left so early that we left some of our luggage sitting outside of one of the rooms. Several hundred miles and 10 hours later we discovered our mistake. I called the hotel and told hotel manager Patricia about our problem. She verified that they had our missing luggage and she worked with me to get the missing pieces transported to us early the next morning. All arrived on time and undisturbed, delivered for a reasonable price. More kudos for the people at Hotel Oasis! We will always stay at the Oasis when in Loreto.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This hotel is great for the traveling fishermen and sports folk that travel the Baja. It is cute and real Baja not a chain resort. Rooms are not luxury but very clean an adequite. Cost is reasonable. Resturant is excellent and will cook your catch for you. Good wfi . Service is good and most of the staff have worked there a long time. Good swimming pool with lush garden gret place to enjoy the afternoon.

Room Tip: Pick any room away from the bar or Malacone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed here in May of 2011 (not 12 as indicated below) We were here for the 1 night stop over of the General Tire/NORRA Mexican 1000 race.

Our room was in a block of upstairs rooms on the beach, not the ground floor accommodations which look a little nicer. It wasn't as nice as some of the pictures show. Overall nothing to really write home about. Clean enough, not overly clean though.

We went to their restaurant a little late that night and they kept the kitchen open to serve us which was great because we were exhausted after a long day of driving and racing. Food seemed like it was pretty good, but then again, we were tired.

I'd stay here again, though maybe not my first choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Loreto hotels
0.6 mi away
La Mision Loreto
La Mision Loreto
#4 of 20 in Loreto
4.5 of 5 stars 475 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#7 of 20 in Loreto
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
20.9 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Las Cabanas de Loreto
Las Cabanas de Loreto
#1 of 20 in Loreto
5.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel 1697 Loreto
Hotel 1697 Loreto
#6 of 20 in Loreto
5.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
5.9 mi away
Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oasis

Address: Blvd Lopez Mateos, Loreto 23880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Loreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oasis 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the beach at the South end of the main boardwalk, Hotel Oasis offers easy access to local shops, restaurants and historic sites, with 40 very spacious, air-conditioned rooms and suites on the beach overlooking the Sea of Cortez, the Rooms have a bathroom, coffee maker, two double beds, and closet space, T.V. and telephone. Hotel Oasis has been the sport fisherman's and nature enthusiast's favorite since being stablished in 1962. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing