We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good with minor cons” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Palapa

La Palapa
Hidalgo at Malecon, Loreto, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 57 Restaurants in Loreto
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Adequate seafood, poor tres leches, hard sell on time share unexpected and unpleasant
Carlsbad, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good with minor cons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

La palapa has okay food and good service. It is a beautiful restaurant and is a great mexican experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    69
    18
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Seafood under the Palapa”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Enjoyed the scallops in butter and garlic sauce and the well-oiled margaritas. Not a place for locals, mostly touristic types present.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quality Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We ate here 2 times... both very very good!! The chips are homemade with 3 different delicious salas & pickled veggies. I loved the posole on Saturday & cheese enchiladas with mole. My hubby had fresh fish tacos & chicken flautas. We shared a wonderful flan. Cold beer & good margaritas. Relaxing, friendly & clean... we'll be back!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good drinks, average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The price is right, but the food quality just doesn't compare to most of the other options in town. The drinks here were good though, and the atmosphere and service good.

If on a tight budget, this spot may appeal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, and great ambiance.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stopped for Flan and it was creamy and delicious, so the next day we went in for lunch. A must is to try the Chocolata Clams, raw. They will even prove to you they are alive and then quickly prepare one for you to taste. A little lime, salt and chili sauce and it was delicious. The calm is local to the area so don't miss out. Their pozole was fantastic as was the Mole. The cooks take their time to set the food out in an appetizing presentation.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Palapa also viewed

Loreto, Baja California Sur
Loreto, Baja California Sur
 
Loreto, Baja California Sur
 

Been to La Palapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Palapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.