We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Sale Bare Bones” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Inn at Loreto

Save Saved
You added Desert Inn at Loreto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Desert Inn at Loreto
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Francisco I. Madero, Loreto 23880, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 21 hotels in Loreto
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“For Sale Bare Bones”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I have stayed at the Desert Inns formerly La Pinta Hotels for over 8 years. The used to sell the Baja Travel Pass that was a great deal for frequent Baja travelers. They have sold off several of the hotels in Catavina, San Quintin, and Guierro Negro. My stay last week was one of my worst hotel experiences. They have pulled out the Satellite TV, no Internet, and no menus for dinner. They had two choses beef or chicken. I choose the beef and it was rancid. For breakfast they had a menu. I ordered the Denver omelet, OJ and coffee with milk. The waitress came back out in 10 minutes. No ham for the omelet, no OJ, no milk for the coffee. Don't waste your money. Even the waitress said the place was messed up. They Fonatur should just board it up.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    22
    8
    11
    16
See reviews for
12
17
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The most important thing to know about the Desert Inn is that it is there and worth finding. While it does not engage the town or the travel routes, it is right on a very pleasant and expansive swimming beach with great bay vistas. Whether you choose to swim in the ocean or the pool, the same views make a very relaxing oceanfront experience. The open portico check-in leads to a large patio overlooking the pool and the bay, and the huge vaulted ceiling dining room is to the side. It was very easy to find a place to read, relax, have a beer, or a morning coffee, with-in this public area. The rooms are clean, commodious, and the room blocks laid out so that circulation faces town, and parking, and private patios/balconies face the water. One can leave open the balcony doors on the second level without loss of privacy and listen to the waves.
The pools are very attractive to families with children, and parents have the option of watching from either the cabana or a patio table.
Service was always there if you needed it, (you might have to look in the kitchen) and staff was very pleasant.
In reading the other reviews, I am reminded that the fans did not work in the billiards room, and the parking lot pavement is a bit sketchy, but I would not have thought to comment on either otherwise.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have Mini-split AC units, superior to the first floor systems. They also have cat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banning, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My fishing Buddy and I just spent five nights here, and had a great time. On the downside, the shower had no hot water, there was no clock, no phone (Of course), no hand towels or wash-cloths, and pillows that should have been thrown away a long, long time ago. The cable was being 'repaired' the entire time we were there. Don't bet on WiFi. Probably not in the lobby, and definitely not in your room. There are also no fans in the room (How can a hotel in Baja not have FANS??). The pools are great, but warm! If you really want to cool off, walk 100 feet into the ocean!
On the plus side, our room was big, clean, and right on the beach! (I was disappointed when we drove in; the door opened onto the parking lot. Go inside, however, and you can walk through your room, through a sliding door, and onto a small patio on the beach. How cool is that?). The ac worked well, and the staff was exceptional. They will stand on their heads to take care of you.
The truth is, all of Baja is suffering from this lousy economy. The guests are now few and far between. Many of the business's in town are closed, and the ones that are still open are struggling to get by as well as they can. The Desert Inn has problems, but they work very hard at keeping the place clean and pleasant.
I would offer a few tips to make your stay here a little more enjoyable:
1. Buy a TelMex telephone card in town before checking in (Just leave your cell phone at home. It's useless in Mexico).
2. Bring your own hand-towels and wash-clothes.
3. Bring your own pillows (If possible).
4. Take a shower when it is still warm. If you wait until morning, when the ac has the room nice and cool, that cold water can be a bit... 'bracing'.
5. Don't expect ANYTHING in a hurry in Baja. Really. Just chill out, and be patient.
(Oh, and if you are driving, bring your own tp!! This is an important one!)

Room Tip: Always have yo
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

On a recent Road Scholar trip to Baja we stayed in several government run Desert Inns and most were very nice. This one, however, has seen better days. While it is located directly on the beach, and has a lovely pool area, the rooms are located in Soviet style blocks, some quite far from the main lobby. The restaurant had little to offer on a Sunday night. Free internet was available only in the lobby area. It is a 15 minute walk to town.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in a building close to the main lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

Desert Inn (AKA La Pinta) in Loreto is a great value. Four of us stayed there for a week - had 2 rooms - both were clean and well maintained. The only problem was a leaking A/C which was fixed promptly. The pool was very nice - it's kept clean and part of it is shaded - a real plus in Baja. Service was friendly and the drinks were great. Restaurant was good (though there are better ones in town). I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We liked being upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

The Desert Inn Hotel in Loreto offers "comfortable" accomodations for someone planning to fish the Sea of Cortez. The hotel is situated on the beach about 100 yards walk from the water's edge where you can greet your "panga' at the crack of dawn for an awesome day's fishing.

The rooms are modest, air conditioned and clean. The pool area was inviting with a beautiful view of the bay. We had 13 guys in our group ages 18-56. After fishing in the morning, we congregated by the pool with fully stocked coolers to share our fish stories and enjoy some mexican appetizers served by the hotel.

The hotel is at the north end of town (ten minute walk to the centro). From the airport, it's a 10-15 minute cab ride.

For a group of guys looking for a great base camp for fishing Dorado, Yellowtail and other sportfishing species, you can go wrong with the Desert Inn.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

It's always best to know before you go....and we did do our homework before booking at the Desert Inn. Having traveled at various price points we were on the cheap this trip and knew that the Desert Inn was aging and seemed to be the cheapest deal in town. Having said that, the grounds are meticulously maintained and the view is out to the Sea Of Cortez where the sun rises; which were beautiful and we appreciated that in the afternoon we could sit on our terrace without battling the sun. Upon our arrival we were given an upgrade, which had us wondering what we were supposed to get, ( must have been the Hacienda's which are cheaper and must be smaller). The room was good size, clean and air conditioned. It had NO SAFE and the office did not have one either but they would hold something for you. There was no clock, and although no mini frig, or other amenties, we weren't expecting any. We read on TA that not all rooms had hair driers but ours did. The pool was by far the best we saw in all of Loreto; great for spending the afternoon poolside and soaking up the sun. The problem was that there were so few guests it seemed like a ghost town. The few guests that we met during our five night stay also felt that the lack of guests was ackward. Although staff met our routine requests and we don't have a single complaint, there wasn't anything special about the service either. They keep the large restaurant open where you can get a drink, but we limited our dining to a couple of breakfasts and lunches; again fine but nothing to write home about; it felt odd eating in a place where there are no customers. We really preferred to eat in town which was an easy walk either down the malecon or more directly to the town square; take Davis Street to the left once you walk out of the entrance. It's several blocks but it gives a snap shot of those who live in Loreto. This does put you at the town square; in the right kiddie corner is the bank and ATM.
Once you hit the square you can go to your right where you will find an arch of greenery past the church and find things for sale. But if you take the path past the hotel headed straight toward the street you will find our favorite restaurant; La Pangalapa. It's open air and it has the BEST tacos ever... the fish tacos were good but my favorite were the shrimp. One of our dining companians had the octupus tacos and they were excellent and the clam tacos were very popluar. The staff were friendly and accomadating; between their broken English and our broken Spanish, we had a wondeful experience. We spent a day with Raphel from Dolphin Dive and he did not disappoint. First was the gazillion dolphins we found our boat surround by and the he went out of his way to track down some Fin whales which was a true memory maker. So, the Desert Inn is a good value and our visit to Loreto was more than enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms are set up a four plexes..we like the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Desert Inn at Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Inn at Loreto

Address: Calle Francisco I. Madero, Loreto 23880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 hotels in Loreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Desert Inn at Loreto 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desert Inn (Hotel La Pinta Loreto) has 49 rooms, 29 are haciendas which is the regular standard room, two doubles beds, ocean front, cable tv, air conditioning, the Villas are upgraded rooms, with a fire place and more services, in our facilities we count with a salon spa, restaurant bar, swimming pool and what is more important great service to make your stay a lifetime memory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Desert Inn at Loreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Inn At Loreto Hotel Loreto
Desert Hotel Loreto
Loreto Desert Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Inn at Loreto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.