We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada de las Flores Loreto

Save Saved
You added Posada de las Flores Loreto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Posada de las Flores Loreto
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Salvatierra y Fco y Madero s/n | Col. Centro, Loreto 23880, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 21 hotels in Loreto
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

As soon as we walked into this small hotel, I knew it was going to be special. The entrance and ground floor spaces are cool and welcoming. How amazing to look up and see the glass floor of the rooftop pool! The bed was so comfortable and the 'art work' in the bathroom was amazing - never seen a swan made from a towel before.........The staff are friendly and helpful and were always available when we had any queries. Breakfast on the roof was wonderful and the 'breakfast' lady behind the scenes always waved and made us feel so welcome. Great 'people watching' opportunity from up on high as well. Yes - Loreto is small but there are lots of hidden gems. We had great, cheap tacos at a small local restaurant and an amazing evening at Fandangos coffee bar. Would always choose to stay here rather than the larger more impersonal hotels on the Malecon (boardwalk).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    23
    14
    3
    10
See reviews for
4
45
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heemstede, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Beautiful mexican style-hotel situated in centre of town, helpful and kind staff en good choice of breakfast, swimming pool at the roof. We've enjoyed our stay here. Although hotel is beautiful, town was very quiet. Not much activity going on.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Five of us went to the bar and we had 8 shots of tequila and 4 beers. The bartender charged us US $180 for this, a total ripoff. When we asked him if that was the correct amount he looked at his buddy at the bar and they both smiled. Do yourselves a big favor and avoid this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Omg! This was our third trip to this spa and the massages are both reasonable and excellent! On this trip they had a special, full body massage for $39.99 USD. Wow! Agnes & Sergio, the proprietors are both complete professionals and personable. Agnes, Sergio & Suje are all a 10 on a 10 scale for massage expertise. They are skilled in various modalities of massage as you would expect from any 5 star plus facility, I'm not sure what the actual hotel is rated, but this is the real deal when it comes to massage satisfaction and professionalism. My wife got a mani/pedi as well and was very satisfied. The shop also has items for sale inside. Don't miss this diamond in the rough.

Room Tip: Unsure of hotel quality as we did not stay here. The spa is wonderful and well with the visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avalon, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Loved the location. Staff was helpful and service was perfect for my needs. It appears Loreto was slow mid November and the hotel was very quite. I couldn't have picked a better place to stay for this trip. I enjoyed the breakfast on the roof deck in the mornings. I enjoyed some time in the on-site spa and had a good treatment. It is close to several restaurants, bars and shops all within walking distance and is a short jaunt to the Malacon. If I find myself back in Loreto, I would stay here again. I also enjoyed the cafe/bar next door, the El Bohemio.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

This is a gorgeous hotel with a beautiful interior and a truly wonderful rooftop pool area. The rooms ($175 USD incl tax) are nicely decorated and perfectly clean, but small and no more comfortable than another much less expensive hotel we also stayed in. The location is excellent--right on the main square.
We had an extremely uncomfortable experience, however, that marred our time there: as we went to check out, the staff accused us of having drunk one of the bottles of water from the mini-fridge. I say "accused" because that is really how it felt; they refused to believe that the water had never been stocked there in the first place, and the situation ended with two housekeepers and the maitre'd staring us down in our former room while we tried to explain that, after spending $175, we were not likely to lie over 50 pesos. It was offensive and bewildering. So if you do go there, I suggest you do a little "walk-through" like you would if you rented an apartment!
If that had not occurred, I would have said this was a great hotel but perhaps not worth the high price; for instance, they did not offer coffee or water as did some much cheaper hotels! And, since I did have this unpleasant experience, I am left with a bad taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

We stayed at Posada in December and January of this year which was part of a scuba package arranged by Dolphin Dive Center in Loreto. Having stayed at La Mision quite a few times we felt we needed a change and decided to try Posada.

Its a very charming hotel,,,it has the looks of an old Mexican Hacienda with authentic looking decor and rooms that reflect the same scene. Our room was a suite on the top floor which overlooked the main square which was nice as we got to see them setting up for Christmas Posado...

Beware there are 4 floors and NO elevator,,you will have to buck your luggage in our case dive gear up those winding stairs and back upon checkout. whewwwwwwww!

The room was very clean and the bed was a king, albeit a bit hard, but still comfortable. There is a mini bar fridge,,which comes in handy to store your own drinks and food in.

The washroom was very clean and did the job,,,the windows in the room were covered partly by curtains the rest over the doors were not and it was awful to try and sleep with this giant LIGHT shining in at night from City Hall. The extra blankets solved this problem, we hung them up and blacked it out completely. have to get ingenious!

The TV was well,,,if you watch TV on vacation typical Mexican and almost all in Spanish which will help you with your own Spanish LOL!

Room decor was great,,,,very authentic,,,room was very spacious too.

The breakfast which was included ( continental) is on the roof,,,from there you have an awesome view of Loreto...the food was so so....try " the Capital" down the alley,,,for breakfast and its open at 7 AM and its cheap and so good. The swimming Pool is on the roof and it looked as if it hadn't been cleaned for a few months,,it was too cold to go swimming anyway but maybe in the Summer they take care of it.

The only drawback about Posada is the NOISE....you get the square noise all night,,,oh there is a new bar opened right beside the hotel on the ground and tables are outside,,,so a lot of noise from drunk or happy customers.

THE BIGGEST NOISE is a place called Dave's nightclub ,,,around the corner,,,man they play LOUD music from about 9 PM till 1 AM or longer....you will not get to sleep unless you have thick ear plugs or 1 bottle of tequila before you go to bed.

Its REALLY loud and even the Hotel management acknowledge its a pain for all the business's in the area. So until something is done about it,,,,you will not get a good nights sleep, EXCEPT for Sunday when its closed.

All in all we enjoyed our stay,,,the staff we got to know were very friendly and helpful,,,,I think as far trying it again....I doubt we will,,,,as scuba divers we need a good nights sleep and here at Posada you won't get that until Dave's is out of business!

Its very central and within walking distance to everything, if you can stand the Nightly noise maybe this hotel is for you!

Good Luck Posada and Thank you Mr. Jose Arreguin!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada de las Flores Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de las Flores Loreto

Address: Avenida Salvatierra y Fco y Madero s/n | Col. Centro, Loreto 23880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 hotels in Loreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Posada de las Flores Loreto 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place reserved for those people who are always looking for the best. An exclusive ambiance which blends the comfort of this era with the luxury and tradition of an antique Mexican house. Every detail has been carefully chosen with the basic elements of the Colonial -Mexican decoration: talavera, wood, iron etc. Each piece of furniture has been designed according to the colonial style of the 18th century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Posada de las Flores Loreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De Las Flores Loreto Hotel Loreto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada de las Flores Loreto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.