We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place with a few minor downers. Noisey if you room faces the street.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel Junipero

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Loreto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Motel Junipero
La Mision, Loreto,, Loreto, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 21 hotels in Loreto
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
131 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“A nice place with a few minor downers. Noisey if you room faces the street.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Upon arrival at this hotel I was shown 2 rooms in the newly added wing across the street. They were very nice and looked brand new but I was then told the wi fi signal wouldn't reach but maybe we could pick up the signal of the shop below. We took another room (number 4) in the main building. There was a massive king size bed, a/c, cable tv and seperate (from each other) toilet and shower. On closer inspection one of the shower doors was missing but this didn't matter too much.

There was a verandah running in front of the room where you could sit and people watch. There was also one at the back with views of the old mision. These rooms at the back would undoubtly be more peaceful. there was a lot of street noise day and night. On closer inspection the wall facing the street was made of flimsy ply board type material and there were gaps between this board and the window frames. Also the door with glass panels did not have a curtain which let in a lot of light in the mornings.

Overall I think it was fairly good value for the price (400 pesos for two people) but definitely get a room at the back with the mision view or across the street if the potential lack of wi fi doesn't bother you.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
151 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

Stayed in a double room for one night after moving from a hotel near the bus station. Paid only 400p and was very impressed. Room quite large and faced the mission at the back. Bed very comfty and bathroom had a HUGE shower. Staff were very friendly and polite and spoke only a little english. Location great in the centre of town. Def recommend.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

Stayed at Motel Junipero in March 2009. We previously stayed there in March 2008. Motel Junipero's prices have gone up a little, but it is worth the price. Motel Junipero is also undergoing construction (the owners have purched property across the street from the original building. Those rooms have been completed...they are currently refurbishing the old rooms), but it was not an interferance with our stay.

Motel Junipero is centrally located and a bargain for Loreto. Lots of newer hotels going in, but their prices are not within my price-range. No swimming pool, or dining fascilities, but located just down the road from the malecon and lots of dining establishments.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2007

Firstly, we arrived after a terrible experience with another hotel, and I was able to strike 50 pesos off the price due to the low season. The room was large, comfortable, and in the best location in town, for a considerably better price than the other hotels in the area. The only downside was the temperature of the shower, which began nice and warm but cooled down considerably after a minute. There is a colour tv with cable, and 2 tables. The door to the bathroom was too big for the doorway so it didn´t close, but we didn´t care too much. And how can you say no to a king sized bed?!

In the middle of the night I heard the most disturbing noise that sounded like a cross between a howl and a cry pass by our doors, after watching a Twilight episode on the TV I couldn´t sleep for hours!

Highly recommeded, in any case.

  • Liked — location location location
  • Disliked — The shower water temperature
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2006

We stayed at the Motel Junipero ,very good deal ,if you are on a budget. I have stayed there before it is not fancy, but it is a good price and a good location.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2003

The good old Junipero. Been there several times and have yet to be disappointed. It is not the Waldorf Astoria but definitely worth a try.
It is basically very clean for the Mexico dust. They clean daily and do a good job of it. The help is always eager to help. Knowing some Spanish helps here. The location is close enough to everything in town.
Why waste your money on a place that gives you the same or less but makes you think they are the greatest just because they advertise or make package deals. You can make your own fishing deal and stay at the Junipero plus be very happy. Most any outfitter in Loreto will set up the Junipero for you ahead of time if you ask. A very happy Loreto fisherman. Not the same for Aero California though.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2003

Inexpensive but for similar price you can get off the noisy dusty mainstreet and get on the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel Junipero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Junipero

Also Known As:
Junipero Hotel Loreto
Address: La Mision, Loreto,, Loreto, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 hotels in Loreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel Junipero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Motel Junipero to your Saves list