We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loreto Bay National Marine Park

Loreto Bay National Marine Park
Loreto, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Loreto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This park works to preserve Loreto's desert ecosystem.
Bothell
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Amazing beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

7 days of diving 2 tank dives around Coronado and Carmen Island were insufficient! So much beauty surrounds you in this marine park, it is impossible to appreciate it all. We enjoyed seeing some unique species of animals only found here like some beautiful nudibranchs from 1 cm to 10 cm in length, octopi, eels (moray and spotted), fish of all colors and sizes, dolphins, sea lions, and bird life too. Water visibility was 30-60 feet during this late July trip, which I understand improves in late August/ September to close to 100-120 feet. Surface temps were 80-88 F with temps at 40 ft in the neighborhood of 72-80 F. Coming from Seattle with water temps of 40-45F and visibility of 10-20 feet this was like heaven. I wore a shorty wetsuit mostly to thwart the stings of noseeums and the tiny invisible jellyfish or plankton. The kids wore full 3/2 wetsuits to help with core body temps during our 45-60 minute dives.

The most pristine and beautiful beaches of Loreto are found on the islands. Consider a beach hopper trip or go to the Marina in the morning to catch a ride with a local fisherman to some of the best beaches. The more popular ones have shade, white sand, a little outhouse, and are easy to access by panga with a 30-60 minute trip each way.

On our bucket list: return to swim with dolphins, see the whales, see a whale shark, and see a seahorse (elusive masters of disguise!).

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    28
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous water and sea life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The sea life and water in this area are pristine. I am so glad they have decided to protect it. It is like swimming in an aquarium.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The sea life here was incredible. We saw so many beautiful fish. You do need to buy a bracelet for every day you are in the park.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Come See this Sea!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The Sea of Cortez (which incorporates Loreto Bay National Marine Park) is awesome! We are so impressed with what the community of Loreto is doing to preserve this beautiful area. We did 3 activities around the Islands of Loreto with the company "Wild Loreto" and had a wonderful time with each one. If you are a 1st time snorkeler, Said is the guide for you.! We saw what a wonderful job he did with 2 ladies who had never snorkeled before, making the experience memorable and non-threatening. We went scuba diving with Divemaster David who was SO kind and patient - he also took some great pictures with our underwater camera. Lastly, we greatly enjoyed our kayak and snorkel trip with Shary and Argento - great guides, skilled at their jobs, lots of fun. Thanks for the photos, Shary. If you go to Loreto and want to enjoy the watery wonders of the National Marine Park, check out these people at "Wild Loreto".

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
572 reviews 572 reviews
202 attraction reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
263 helpful votes 263 helpful votes
“Snorkeling is Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We went to the Marine Park on a snorkeling trip and it was amazing. We booked this thru the Villa de Palmar and it was very reasonable. The water is crystal clear and a bit cool. Wet suits were provided and much appreciated. A guide showed as all around the snorkeling area and point out many of the beautiful fish. In addition we saw lots of starfish. Did not realize that there we so many kinds of starfish. Go and be prepared to swima bit of a distance, but the sealife is so worth the effort.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loreto Bay National Marine Park also viewed

Loreto, Baja California Sur
Loreto, Baja California Sur
 
Loreto, Baja California Sur
 

Been to Loreto Bay National Marine Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loreto Bay National Marine Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.