We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Tiburon Casitas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Loreto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Tiburon Casitas
65 Calle Davis Norte | Corner of Agua Dulce steps from the water, Loreto 23880, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 hotels in Loreto
Carmichael, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My wife found this little hotel, but I was quite skeptical until we arrived at the place. I didn't expect much of a little place in the middle of the desertlands of Baja California. Were we (I) surprised when we arrived at the gate of this little gem in the middle of this quiet little lane in this sleepy little town.

This brand-new looking place is owned and designed by Liz, a tall, animated, gregarious American veterinarian. Each casita (little house) on the property is a self-contained efficiency apartment. There are 1 to 3 bed units. Each has a fully equipped kitchen with refrigerator, large bathroom, dinette table, a TV, and wifi access. The beds are very comfortable (important for wife). The small pool is adorned with a genuine whale vertebra next to it. The assistant manager, Ivan, can prepare a gourmet seafood dinner for you at your request. He actually charges less than comparable restaurants (in a high rise hotel nearby).

Tiburon Casitas is within a few minutes walk of the town square, 2 banks, tourist information office, several good restaurants, several local eateries (superburritos, roast chicken, roast pork), a supermarket (expensive), the local farmer's market, and the local marina for fishing trips. The entire town felt quite safe. We walked all over the place by ourselves. Loreto is also a good launching point for trips to further locations for whale watching and whale encounters(at San Ignacio), sportfishing, missions, hiking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz B, Owner at El Tiburon Casitas, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to writhe such a thorough description and positive review.. You captured exactly what I was going for when I designed and built the 4 Casitas. I am so pleased you noticed all the details! With a recent fresh coat of paint, the Casitas, originally built in 2008-9, do look new! We certainly hope to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
49
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were looking for a place on the malecon but got directed off the main drag due to a parade in town and noticed El Tiburon Casitas on a quiet sidestreet. It`s run by Liz,an American veterinarian and is VERY dog friendly which is important to us. The casitas are large, totally self contained, clean and quiet. There was parking inside the gate for our large truck and trailer. Everything is to American standards. If you travel in Baja regularly you know what I mean. If you`re new to Baja, take my word for it, it means a lot.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed 4 nights there. The casita is basically a large studio, fully furnished, with full kitchen, very nice bathroom and WiFi available. They are very tastefully decorated with beautiful mexican tiles.If you like to eat there, Ivan the assistant manager can make a delicious meal for you. It is very quiet and private (there are only 4 casitas), only a block from the waterfront (malecon); lots of restaurants around. The owner Liz is very nice and helpful; she even took me to the Sunday farmer market!.
I will definitively go back there on my next stay in Loreto!

Room Tip: We stayed in casita#3 that has a king size bed. Casita#2 has 2 queen size beds. Mattresses are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland OR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was our first time in Loreto, and Trip Advisor reviews pointed us to El Tiburon. We were thrilled with our experience there! Our casita (#4) was spacious, very clean and organized, with a well-stocked kitchen. The large bathroom has nice tile work and good water pressure. The bed was very comfortable. We felt totally safe there, and it's pretty quiet at night too. The entire property is charming, with lots of nice touches. Everything in town is within easy walking distance from the casitas - including the marina, the mission & town square, many restaurants, the supermarket and the Sunday farmer's market. All of that would warrant a great review, but in addition, Liz & Ivan really went the extra mile to make sure we had a memorable vacation. They offered great advice & Ivan arranged transportation & guide services on our day trips to San Javier, whale watching on the Pacific side, and snorkeling trips on the Sea of Cortez. He is also a chef extraordinaire, and he prepared dinner for us one night, which was a special treat. All in all, El Tiburon is an exceptional value. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We just returned from a week stay at El Tiburon Casitas. We can’t imagine a better place to stay in Loreto. The Casitas are quiet, clean, comfortable, and just a short walk from the Malecon, square and local attractions. Liz has obviously put a lot of effort into making the Casitas special, from the beautiful murals on the walls to the decorations in the rooms to the bikes available for guest to use. She and Ivan were a great help providing information about local tours, restaurants, and activities. We went on two very enjoyable tours with Ivan, one of which he arranged for us at the last minute when our plans changed unexpectedly. Thank you Liz and Ivan for making our stay in Loreto so friendly and enjoyable!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Loved staying here. Each of the four casitas has a different layout and design; Liz has put a tremendous amount of thought into making them comfortable. Lots of towels and places to hang them. Lots of space for clothes. Big kitchen with everything you need if you want to cook fresh fish from the local market. Very comfortable beds. Everything immaculate. Although each casita is spacious, private, and self contained, they are all set around a central patio. BBQ, pool area where you can hang out with Liz and the other guests if you want. There a many adventures to be had in Loreto -- fishing, kayaking, snorkeling with sea lions, a mule trip to the ranches hidden in the mountains -- and this is a great place to find out about or book all of them. Liz also has a great perspective on Baja and I loved talking to her about all kinds of things. Oh yes, the location is also perfect. Quiet and central. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just returned from first ever trip to Loreto. Very glad to have stayed at Liz's casitas.
Ivan fixed us a lovely meal , featuring a fish caught on a boating excursion, on our last night.
I wish we'd allowed more time here. The property is comfortable, well appointed, safe, clean, and so conveniently located. Thankyou Liz, for creating such a nice place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz B, Owner at El Tiburon Casitas, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank You for your wonderful comments. We are so fortunate to have this great location and I am so pleased you liked the decor and personal touches in the Casitas. I do hope your next trip will be for a longer period so you can have more seafood meals by Ivan and enjoy more of our lovely, safe town of Loreto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Tiburon Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tiburon Casitas

Address: 65 Calle Davis Norte | Corner of Agua Dulce steps from the water, Loreto 23880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 hotels in Loreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, ultra clean, centrally located, with 5 charming and fully furnished Casitas around a Palapa and BBQ area and located between the Marina and the Mission and town Center. Sparkling heated swimming pool, Cold AC units and ceiling fans, full kitchens with coffee maker, water cooler, toaster, etc., queen or king beds, Full baths with HOT showers and American toilets, secure parking behind gates, 24 hr arrival and check in, daily maid service, Free unlimited WiFi. Located just up from the beach and Malecon --- so much quieter than Hotels sitting right at the street. Walking distance to all shopping, restaurants, beach, Marina, Bank, Fruit store, Bakery, liquor store, Dive Center,Museum. Complimentary Bicycles available on site. 6 years old and American owned and operated. Pool towels and all linens included. VHS and/or DVD player in room, Free Video and Book Library. This is a SAFE and secure hotel behind huge gates and with Lucy and Sirena the guard dogs on duty. Laundry Facility for a fee. Quiet pets Considered ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tiburon Casitas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added El Tiburon Casitas to your Saves list